We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lots of food and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid Mexican Cuisine

El Cid Mexican Cuisine
41939 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-8506
559-683-0282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 48 Restaurants in Oakhurst
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
new york
Level Contributor
170 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Lots of food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were ushered to our table right away even though the restaurant was packed. We thought service would be slow but it was not. We placed our order and were served our main entree within 20 minutes. They also have a unlimited salsa and tortilla chips platter on every table to munch on while your waiting for your meal to arrive. There was plenty of food, it was tasty, hot and pretty good. I gave four stars because if your not familar with Mexican dishes, the descriptions on the menu werent that good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank geminigirlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    154
    80
    35
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
147 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“For the price El Cid's is an excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

El Cid's had good basic Mexican food. The menu had a good variety of options, all reasonably priced. I only wish they had something with a mole sauce. We found the food to be tasty and were happy to find some of the dishes had a little punch. The service was outstanding. The atmosphere was welcoming and comfortable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 662marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Mexican food in Oakhust”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Been going to EL Cid since it opened. Live 2miles away. Other Mexican restaurants have come and gone in Oakhurst. Always busy with a long wait at times. Prices have gone up recently, portions are good size consider splitting if you are on a budget. My favorites, Chile Colorado, Machaca, albondigas soup (much better choice than the dinner salad, dinner salad basic and bland) grilled Chicken salad and Rico's steak taco's. Margaritas are excellent (rocks are better than blended) Atmosphere can be loud in the main dinning room go on the patio if it bothers you, chips and salsa are plentiful and good. Thanks Tony for all the good times, good food and drink

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, Netherlands
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Local restaurant, real Mexican flavor. Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

It seems like the place where locals go. It is a little bit outside of Oakhurst on your way to Yosemite. A menu with a lot of options, quick service and full plates. I loved the tomato sauce served with the doritos.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dekpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Margaritas in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have had margaritas all over the world but the best ones are at El Cid's in Oakhurst. Tony, the owner will give you his recipe but it isn't the same when you make them at home. Oh, and the food is good too. Take a seat in the patio room and watch the finchs feeding and enjoy the beautiful catus garden.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ninad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Cid Mexican Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing