We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I would go again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crab Cakes Restaurant

Crab Cakes Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 49 Restaurants in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in Oakhurst, CA just minutes from the south gate of Yosemite National Park and Bass Lake, we specialize in Steaks and Seafood, Chicken, Pasta and an award winning children's menu with full bar service from "The Attic" featuring local micro-brewed beers and wines. Enjoy dining in the nautically-themed restaurant, the cozy intimate bar or take in the beauty of the Sierra Nevada mountains from our outdoor patio. Crab Cakes Restaurant is a short drive from Fresno, Mariposa and Merced, CA.
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“I would go again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We hit at the dinner special time and found the place packed. After a short wait we got good food at a very good price. The service was fast and friendly, and we would go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MGD828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    164
    67
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakhurst, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

They do have great food but a little over priced for what it is and the portion were kind of small. however, the service were okay, I only saw my server 3 times, 1 taking our order, 2 serving us the food and 3 gaved us our check....

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“SO glad we stumbled onto this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Short review - best meal we had on a week long trip around Yosemite, King's Canyon, Sequoia and Death Valley National Parks. Read on for the details.

We stayed at the Comfort Inn on Hwy 41 on our route from Yosemite to King's Canyon, and needed someplace for dinner. We decided to just walk down the street and see what was available.

Side note: Hwy 41 does not make for the most pleasant walk, as it is 4-lane highway at this point. But there are sidewalks, so that is extremely helpful.

We saw a few places to eat within a 1/2 mile of the hotel, but this place caught our eye - set back from the road, it might be difficult for someone driving down to spot, as the sign was across the street (apparently, they had just recently moved into this location, so by now the sign may be in the correct place.) Neither my husband or I are huge fans of seafood; I eat fish and that's about it, so he went in to check out the menu and see if there was anything we'd like to eat. He came out and said they had fish and chips, and the prices were a little more than we normally like to pay, but seemed reasonable, so we decided to try it as our 'splurge' for this trip.

We walked in, and were seated immediately. I thought the place had a comfortable feel; the place was maybe 1/2 full when we arrived. Just after we ordered, a charter bus stopped in the parking lot, and let out a tour group, and I thought "Whoa, we got here at the right time!" They appeared to be taken back to their own separate dining place, and there was no noticable effect on our service, or this review might be very different.

I ordered the fish and chips ($12.75); I was a little nervous about the description saying it came with 4 pieces of fish, as I thought that seemed like a lot of food, but the pieces ended up being about 4" long, so it worked out fine. The batter was light and crispy - tasted really good. The entree came with cole slaw, french fries, and green beans. I normally don't eat cole slaw, but the fries and green beans were both delicious! My husband got the appetizer portion of clam strips and a salad and enjoyed both. The waitress was very attentive, refilling his water glass several times as needed, and checking back a few times to see if everything was OK. All the staff seemed very friendly.

As the sun started to set, it was coming in below the awning outside our window and blinding me, but one of the staff went outside and lowered blinds they have on the outside of the awning for just such a purpose. It was an effective solution.

After our meal, we decided to further splurge and get dessert; my husband chose a tiramisu and I got a piece of "toffee cake" - it turned out to be a piece of light, fluffy cake topped with a drizzle of caramel (?) sauce and sprinkled with toffee pieces. It melted in your mouth, but unfortunately, either the sauce or the toffee bits left a strange, almost bitter, aftertaste, so that was diasappointing. The cake part was so good, though, that I still ate the entire piece. :)

Left the restaurant happy and would absolutely return if we're ever in the area again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smm628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland
Level Contributor
219 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“First Class Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is truly a first-class restaurant with reasonable prices. We went here today based upon mostly favorable ratings on TripAdvisor.
We were met at the front entryway by the apparent manager who promptly seated us. As we walked to our booth, I couldn’t help but marvel at the ambience. This place is striking in its sparkling appearance, expertly displayed were nice art pieces which included sculptures and paintings and the place had a look of real class. I couldn’t help but notice some incredible wedding cakes displayed in a showcase in the front entryway area. We noted that a young couple was seated across the table from a lady who was working with them for a wedding cake for an upcoming wedding.
Once seated, we were greeted by a very friendly and efficient young lady named Elisa. Elisa was our server and we found her to be most attentive and seemed to really be tuned into everything that was going on in the restaurant. I also noticed that other waiters and waitresses also seemed to be really friendly and focused on making the customer happy.
My wife has special dietary needs and she later commented that this place offered more things that she could choose from than most. She chose grilled scallops from the starter menu and a cup of the New England chowder. She said that both choices were delicious and she wants to return again while we are vacationing here.
I had fish and chips that were accompanied with some cold slaw all of which was really well done. We had a delightful experience and intend to come back often while we are in this area for our vacation.
I highly recommend this restaurant to everyone; they have an extensive menu that should meet everyone’s needs and desires. They have a sign in the window indicating they have an onsite liquor license application pending.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 81DaleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“OK- just”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

no alcohol licence yet, food was good but the restaurant felt cold, unfriendly and unwelcoming. Would not say "Dont Go", but we wouldn't go back

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank strawberryeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Cakes Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Crab Cakes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing