We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite decent and cosy!”

South Gate Brewing Company
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quite decent and cosy!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were looking for a new place in Oakhurst after we had visited the Sweetwater Steakhouse 2 times.

So we found this little gem here.

Homemade Burgers, Pizza, salad, home brewn beers and wine. Great, really friendly, fast and professional service. All together reasonable prices in a funny, clean location.

Nothing fancy but honest food and drinks.


Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deanbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    218
    51
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yoxall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A great little gem in Oakhurst”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were told about this new placeby one of our hotel staff and when we got there it wouldn't have been the type of place we old normally eat at but it was brilliant even though quite small. We went here 2 nights running. First time sat in rear room which looked into the micro brewery and second time in main room and bar. Good local atmosphere with friendly staff and excellent food. Highly recommended .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisJane25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Very nice place”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very nice place , good beers and excellent pizzas . especially the "mountaineer" . I recommend you to go for a meal .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yuval56664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food and service really great!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a really great find. They make their own beer and root-beer. They have a special pizza oven. Food and atmosphere really great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iblauralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy pizza”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lovely food and a relaxed atmosphere. The waiter even tried to explain the rules of American Football to us. We had pizzas, I had the goat's cheese and fig, which was excellent. Good wine and interesting to sit looking at the brewery.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South Gate Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing