We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Visit Yosemite | Madera County Main Visitors Center
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our visitor center is located outside the south entrance to Yosemite on Highway 41. Stop by for information on Yosemite and the southern gateway - Madera County. Our knowledgeable volunteers can help you with all your vacation questions. We also sell maps and park passes.
Westlock Alberta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stopped at the centre and were greeted with a warm and friendly smile, the overall layout of the books maps and information was very easy to pick out and read ,the staff were always ready to help with any questions we had and they had the answers. don't hesitate to stop when goig to the park .

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    31
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Courteous staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Provided useful information that helped us plan our activities.Overall the staff was courteous and tried their best to help.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mohan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Huge help to us during shut-down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The folks at the visitors center calmly helped the throngs of travellers like us who were left wondering "what do we do now?" during the government shutdown. Every map and brochure you want on the area is there along with clean restrooms. An alternative to the sequoias in Yosemite is Nelder Grove. The drive is not for the faint of heart but well worth it. Make sure to ask for a map and directions.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank a_couple_from
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

All the people at the visitors center and the entrance and exits are wonderful and very helpful. If you have a questions they will have the answer and are always nice. Probably because of where they get to work.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank oscarusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“It´s Yosemite..... come on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

As the title says... it´s Yosemite and its amazing! Full stop.


Unfortunately trip advisor will not allow me to write short, snappy reviews of anything even if you can say it all with just three of four words... so, i feel forced to write this nonsense so the review will get published. ;)

Enjoy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr_Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Visit Yosemite | Madera County Main Visitors Center also viewed

 

Been to Visit Yosemite | Madera County Main Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing