We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Ansel Adams shop”

Visit Yosemite | Madera County Main Visitors Center
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our visitor center is located outside the south entrance to Yosemite in Oakhurst on Highway 41. Stop by for information on Yosemite and the southern gateway - Madera County. Our knowledgeable volunteers can help you with all your vacation questions. We also sell maps and park passes.
London
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Ansel Adams shop”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I wish Yosemite Visitor Center advised people about the bears getting hit by cars due to people speeding in the park. Only little yellow signs are posted where bears have been killed by cars.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank irishsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    32
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yosemite National Park, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stop and get your park pass here!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It is great to have an option to buy a park pass somewhere besides at the gate into the park. Staff is friendly and helpful. Now, if only the NPS would keep a lane open for those who do not have to stop and purchase a pass, congestion at the South Entrance to Yosemite would be much better :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YosemiteTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very helpful and friendly people, lots of interesting information to help get the most form the visit

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Journo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Crowded”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We found signage confusing and the building was way too small for the number of visitors. We were disappointed

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneNewDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lots of information”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stopped here to get my annual pass. The staff there is friendly and ready to help you plan your trip. Lots of information. It's a must stop to get help with your trip planning.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iamvonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Visit Yosemite | Madera County Main Visitors Center also viewed

 

Been to Visit Yosemite | Madera County Main Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing