We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gem in the Sierras/Yosemite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evergreen Haus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evergreen Haus
Ranked #1 of 10 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Gem in the Sierras/Yosemite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Eddie, the manager, was amazing and extraordinarily helpful ! My family and I visited the Sierra region for a wedding. Not at all a camper, but greatly enjoyed our time in our spacious and well appointed gem of a room!

The Evergreen Haus had a lot to offer for our 5 yr. old son.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bristons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    4
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
93
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

had a wonderful stay at this beautiful house! clean, comfortable, spacious, knowledgeable and friendly host. eddie helped with planning our trip into yosemite and (very) nearby bass lake. hopeful for another trip to yosemite and would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: redwood room was great for 2 friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank katie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and our three kids made our first trip to Yosemite and found Evergreen Haus on the internet. It’s located between the south entrance of Yosemite and the town of Oakhurst, and only minutes away from Bass Lake. Off the main highway, but far enough from it to be very tranquil and peaceful. Eddie, from the minute we talked on the phone, was extremely helpful. We stayed in the Sequoia Room, which was comfortable for a family of five. A major plus is that you are not constrained to one room as you would be in a hotel, you have available to you the use of a full kitchen with stove, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker, all the comforts of home! We brought ready-made food from Trader Joe’s because we prefer to cook rather than go out to eat everyday. But if you prefer, there are many restaurants nearby. There is also a spacious living room with a big screen, a dining room that sits six, and a kitchenette. Plus a washer and dryer as well (for someone who could want to wash their clothes after hiking). The furniture is inviting and the home-like atmosphere is relaxing. There is also a porch at the front of the cabin with gorgeous views of the mountains where you can watch the stars at night or have your morning coffee. The mountains are teeming with wildlife and you might see a deer, a squirrel, or maybe even a bear.

Eddie was very helpful, hospitable, and knowledgeable of the area. He gave us tips on where to go and what to see as first time visitors. He has a loving family. The owners of Evergreen are good people. We loved staying here. We will definitely recommend Evergreen Haus to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Schwab-Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

My wife and I and our two girls recently took a 4 day family trip to Yosemite and decided to stay at the Evergreen Haus for the last night of our vacation so we could relax and freshen up after camping for 3 days. What a great decision that was.

It's in a perfect location between the south entrance of Yosemite and the town of Oakhurst, nestled back from the main highway where it was surprising quite and peaceful. We were the only guests there that evening so we had the whole great room to ourselves. Yet the room was so big and comfy that having another set of guests there would not have been a problem. We actually had a hard time deciding where to relax because the huge porch/balcony that wraps around the outside of the property was so inviting. After sunset we went inside to cook some food in the full kitchen they provide and relaxed in front of the fireplace. In the morning we sat outside and had our coffee while looking through the trees at the gorgeous view.

We don't really leave reviews but we were really impressed with the hospitality the hosts showed us while we were there and so surprised by the atmosphere and comfort of the Evergreen Haus. It definitely beats staying at a hotel.

Room Tip: We were able to look at both rooms. The larger room has a couch that folds down to make a bed, perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TimAndFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

When I first found that this place was available, it seemed too good to be true at that rate (especially considering what's in town). When we got there, I was impressed by the quality of the details (for example that neat double shower), you can tell Eddie didn't cheap out on things, and has some good taste to boot, if I may say so.
Location is excellent just a few minutes from the south entrance of the park, and also ten minutes from Bass Lake if you'd like to see some water.
The cabin is really comfortable and my back appreciated a good mattress, I wish I could have stayed for longer, and had some more time to fire up the huge grill he just assembled on the deck.
As an unexpected plus, if you're visiting with children, Eddie's kids are wonderful hosts in their own right, my son was missing them for a few days after!

Room Tip: The Sequoia room is huge and has it's own private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mantruc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

What a great place. Our room the redwood was spacious. The decor fit the setting, the bed was perfect. Not to hard not to soft. Eddie was a perfect Host, friendly, informative, helpful. this place was quite out of the way but not far from the main stream. 20 minutes to the South Gate of Yosemite. By all means we would recommend this to family and friends..
Compared to staying just inside the south get this place was a steal.
Kudos to Eddie and his family

Donn

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place is unlike any other : clean, comfortable, spacious, welcoming, affordable and with all the amenities you can wish for.
Our family of 4 was looking for a place to stay very close to the South entrance of Yosemite for just one night. This place was definitely the most unusual (in the best possible way) best deal of our road trip. We arrived around 10PM and were welcomed with warm greetings and popcorn ! We had the whole place to ourselves. A BIG rustic cabin with two bedrooms, a super confortable living room and fully-equipped open kitchen, with everything you need (for a short stay or a longer one). Outside, just Nature with the much appreciated improvements of a trampoline and a set of swings. The owners live in the house next door. If we had any question, they are available. We saw them the next morning (wife, husband and children) and they gave us lots of very useful information about the Yosemite. They are all charming and give you the feeling that this is your home. Our children played with their children and we ended up having a really late start... just because it was so nice being there, We had planned out our week and it would have been difficult to stay longer but if you have some fexibility on your trip, I would definitely recommend staying longer if you can. This is the first review I have ever written in my many many years of travelling but these people and the home they rent out WELL deserve it.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms to choose from : the master bedroom with a king size bed and a fold-out sofa ; the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
4.1 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
21.7 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Haus

Property: Evergreen Haus
Address: 43552 Whispering Pines Dr, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9441
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite / Sierra's Evergreen Haus. Beautiful custom built cabin with outstanding mountain views of the Sierras. Yosemite, Bass Lake, Sierra National Forest, & Oakhurst are all only minutes away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing