We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's for real!”
Review of Evergreen Haus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evergreen Haus
Ranked #1 of 10 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2012

When I first found that this place was available, it seemed too good to be true at that rate (especially considering what's in town). When we got there, I was impressed by the quality of the details (for example that neat double shower), you can tell Eddie didn't cheap out on things, and has some good taste to boot, if I may say so.
Location is excellent just a few minutes from the south entrance of the park, and also ten minutes from Bass Lake if you'd like to see some water.
The cabin is really comfortable and my back appreciated a good mattress, I wish I could have stayed for longer, and had some more time to fire up the huge grill he just assembled on the deck.
As an unexpected plus, if you're visiting with children, Eddie's kids are wonderful hosts in their own right, my son was missing them for a few days after!

Room Tip: The Sequoia room is huge and has it's own private deck.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mantruc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Evergreen Haus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 222 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

What a great place. Our room the redwood was spacious. The decor fit the setting, the bed was perfect. Not to hard not to soft. Eddie was a perfect Host, friendly, informative, helpful. this place was quite out of the way but not far from the main stream. 20 minutes to the South Gate of Yosemite. By all means we would recommend this to family and friends..
Compared to staying just inside the south get this place was a steal.
Kudos to Eddie and his family

Donn

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place is unlike any other : clean, comfortable, spacious, welcoming, affordable and with all the amenities you can wish for.
Our family of 4 was looking for a place to stay very close to the South entrance of Yosemite for just one night. This place was definitely the most unusual (in the best possible way) best deal of our road trip. We arrived around 10PM and were welcomed with warm greetings and popcorn ! We had the whole place to ourselves. A BIG rustic cabin with two bedrooms, a super confortable living room and fully-equipped open kitchen, with everything you need (for a short stay or a longer one). Outside, just Nature with the much appreciated improvements of a trampoline and a set of swings. The owners live in the house next door. If we had any question, they are available. We saw them the next morning (wife, husband and children) and they gave us lots of very useful information about the Yosemite. They are all charming and give you the feeling that this is your home. Our children played with their children and we ended up having a really late start... just because it was so nice being there, We had planned out our week and it would have been difficult to stay longer but if you have some fexibility on your trip, I would definitely recommend staying longer if you can. This is the first review I have ever written in my many many years of travelling but these people and the home they rent out WELL deserve it.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms to choose from : the master bedroom with a king size bed and a fold-out sofa ; the...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

A wonderful place was very comfortable and feels like a home, the room is clean and good quality furnitures, nice living room, kitchen, and laundry, when you wake up in the morning, you can walk on the balcony, there are nice view and fresh air. It is located quite conveniently near the Mariposa Grove and the Yosemite Valley. Our family stayed there for 5 nights on our Family Around The World Journey. We do hope can come again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shih ping y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hsiuying74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir hatten den Redwood Room und waren super zufrieden!
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IoInBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank Roosmarijnpeterselie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
253 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
21.8 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Haus

Address: 43552 Whispering Pines Dr, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9441
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range: $135 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite / Sierra's Evergreen Haus. Beautiful custom built cabin with outstanding mountain views of the Sierras. Yosemite, Bass Lake, Sierra National Forest, & Oakhurst are all only minutes away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing