We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time there” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pine Rose Inn
Ranked #9 of 10 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
New York
1 review
“Had a great time there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2008

My vacation experience was enhanced by this quaint and charming place. I found no musty smell, no dirt and plenty of atmosphere. The jaccuzzi was in the middle of a large bathroom and was large enough for two people. Furnishings were older but clean and the staff was responsive to my requests.

It shows to go that prior bad reviews are not always the best indication of how a place is doing now. This place seems to have cleaned up its act.

  • Liked — I liked the breakfast. Lots of good food
  • Disliked — Hilly terrain. A steep hill to get to our rooms.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelingoldster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    2
    13
    32
See reviews for
15
35
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

This place is what got me started in reading reviews and I wish I had started before going here! Stayed in the Bass Lake room which was just ok, it smelled musty and old. The shower was dingy and just opened into the room and was very cold, switched to the Sugar Pine room which was once again a letdown. The shower in that room was awful as well, its a large tub that you have to take multiple steps up into and the shower curtain does not enclose it and I froze again! We did not eat breakfast as it is served later in the morning around 9am. The decor looks like yard sale rejects, no theme just junk everywhere. Even the outdoor furniture was scary! I wanted to leave after the first night but I could not finder another place with rooms available. The other reviews about the towels are right on, if you do chance it, take your own bath towels!

  • Liked — i am thinking.....
  • Disliked — the smell of everything seemed dirty and dingy
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBCs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oakhurst hotels

Clovis, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

We had our wedding and honeymoon weekend at the Pine Rose. Anita, the owner, is a great hostess. We really enjoyed ourselves.
Our whole experience was wonderful. Jan and Tom Buckingham

  • Liked — Great rooms , wonderfully decorated. Outstanding Breakfasts.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank reddog27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2008

The other bad reviews in this site already tell most of the problems. What I can add is the following. We were not accommodated in a room like the ones in the web site but in a very small room that was part of a parking hut. They call it "granny's house". It is really a dirty and uncomfortable hole, with stains everywhere. Of course, no hot tub, just a shower with some nice and large bugs. We were charged $100 per night for this.

The breakfast, including their cinnamon rolls, was greasy and it seem that they had been reusing the oil for years.

In summary, it is a very unpleasant, rundown and dirty place. Indeed, it is a fraud. The facts that the property is not clean or that sheets and towels are not changed when new travelers arrive reveal a dishonest behavior.

From now on I will not book any hotel or B&B without checking user reviews in advance

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — all the rest
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pep08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2008

Alcatraz jail are cleaner, pleasant, and invitation from this slams!
The breakfast disgusting – no bred no coffee, no any noun food…
The Internet access not working.
The room – all the junk they can collection at the area they put in the room
Air-condition – not working!!!
All the promise at the web and all the photo are far away from the reality.
Do not stays there even one mint.

  • Liked — Anything
  • Disliked — Anything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

My husband and I together with relatives enjoyed our one night stay at The Pines Rose Inn. Anita was very warm and tried her best to make our stay an enjoyable one. The accommodation was personalized. The highlight of our stay was our delicious breakfast and the ambience at the patio where we had background music with a great view of the mountains and pine trees. Very romantic! My husband loved the outdoor jacuzzi too.

We surely recommend this beautiful place.

  • Liked — Great views and good food; Personalized accommodation
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2008

First, let me say Innkeeper Anita couldn't be more charming, but that said, our stay here was a real disappointment. The room we booked looked NOTHING like the photo on the website. I felt as if the room had been stocked with thrift store cast-offs. The kitchen set-up was useless..dirty microwave, coffee maker but no coffee,a refrigerator which was cool, but not cold..these things basically just took up space. Bathroom was pretty dirty, cobwebs around the lights, spiders in the tub, water pressure was awful, towels were frayed and stringy. The whole place just needed a thorough cleaning. The room had a patio which was nice, but whoever painted it sprayed paint on the ivy, the light fixtures, the AC unit, and even the umbrella over the table. This is a really sad little place in need of some work. The only reason I don't rate this as "terrible"is due to the Innkeeper, but this Inn needs a thorough cleaning. The location was great for both Yosemite and Bass Lake, but I sure wouldn't return to this Inn.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalBurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
2.6 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Queen's Inn by the River
Queen's Inn by the River
#5 of 10 in Oakhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
24.3 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
8.6 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Rose Inn

Property: Pine Rose Inn
Address: 41703 Road 222, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9747
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pine Rose Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Pine Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing