We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Experience!”
other travelers have booked this property
Entrance to Caboose
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Caboose
Caboose with Deck View of Deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Entrance to Caboose
Caboose with Deck
View of Deck
Gotta have a Grill!!!
View from Deck
View from Deck
View from Deck at Sunset
View from Deck at Sunset
View from Property
Loading Dock
End of Caboose
Queen Bed and Living Room
Shower and Jacuzzi Tub
Kitchenette
Bathroom Vanity
Loft
Bathroom Door and Living Room
View from Loft
Loft Ladder
Yosemite Valley
Top of Yosemite Falls
Half Dome in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oakhurst, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
jojojen1
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My sister in law and I took our sons to stay at The Little Red Caboose as a surprise and boy did they love it!
We loved the loft and spa tub! All the necessities one could need included.Quiet and safe area. Very clean and elegant caboose! Rusty and his wife are very friendly and helpful.We will be staying here again! Thank You! :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRB3999
Riverside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

That is what our 6 year old daughter exclaimed upon entering the caboose...."AWESOME!!" And it was! Clean, comfortable, with a jacuzzi tub, huge deck and so much quiet. Ten minutes from Bass Lake and Willow Creek and about an hour from Yosemite (due to 30 MPH speed limits for much of the way, not the distance). The caboose is unique, the setting wonderful, but it is Rusty and his family that made our stay so wonderful and so memorable. We will definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Oetinger Family's hospitality
Liked least: That we cannot go every weekend :)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review. We look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewed August 20, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2013
Thank you Michelle, I only wish we had more time to visit with you and your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sjattwood
san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great quirky alternative to a Days Inn”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The caboose was really adorable. We were visiting Yosemite for the first time, and booked our trip too late to be able to stay within the park. Oakhurst is not far from the south entrance to the park, but a bit of a drive to get to the main attractions. Bar that, the caboose was great. It's very quiet and tucked away, idyllic! We bbqed on the deck which was awesome, and we were surprised to find the caboose a little bigger than we thought based on the pictures here. Clean, nice shower, everything worked. Rusty and family were cool, and very helpful experts about yosemite. We loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that it was a caboose
Liked least: no complaints! we think Rusty should put a hot tub on the deck :)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2013
Thanks for the outstandinding review. You are welcome anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melody G
Caseyville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed June 6, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

If you are tired of the same old hotel and "lodge" experience...this is the place for you. We spent 4 nights in the Yosemite area and 2 were at the caboose and the other 2 were at an expensive "lodge" in the area. Although the lodge was closer to the park the caboose was our favorite. The caboose is clean and has everything you could ask for. Plenty of hot water (two teenage daughters) which is more than I can say for the $300 per night lodge. It was the cutest place that I ever stayed. We had wine on the deck in the evening and enjoyed the company of the neighborhood dog, Harlo.
Close enough to everything. I would suggest dinner (burgers, shakes) at the Forks Resort at Bass Lake. Nice scenic drive and GREAT BURGERS and SHAKES. Dine outside with a nice view of the lake.
Rusty was very accommodating and takes a lot of pride in the caboose.
My 16 year old daughter loved the loft for reading her Nook.
You will drive through a residential neighborhood to get to the location but it is private when you get there. GREAT VIEWS!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudyMari
Palm Desert, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovingly Restored and Cared For Little Red Caboose and Great Host make for a perfect getaway!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

The little red caboose has been lovingly and cleverly transformed into a comfortable living suite. The bed is cozy and comfortable, the bathroom is all that one needs. We didn't use it, but we envisioned the fun the loft would be for our nieces and nephews.

We were surprised and delighted at the very well equipped and efficient kitchen and very nice bar-be-que on the lovely deck. We so enjoyed our grilled dinner under the stars.

And if you enjoy meeting people, the Oelinger family is friendly and welcoming and available to help with travel plans. We so enjoyed their hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fabulous deck and bar-be-que.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annhcliff
Sanger, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A TRAINTASTIC TIME!!!!!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

What a great experience! We had a wonderful time. We arrived just before dusk and there were rabbits all over, squirrels running, woodpeckers pecking! We pulled up to the caboose and my son was so excited! He and his friend immediately were running around it, in it, under it. Rusty greeted us and showed us around. He and his wife Cecelia were such a pleasure to meet and made us all feel like we were part of the family. The boys loved swinging on the tire. We were also welcomed by Willow and Austin (their dogs) and Harlo (the neighbors dog) They were absolutely wonderful dogs and very well behaved. They came with us down to the river. It's an amazing area with beautiful outcroppings of rocks. You could walk in the river to about half way then it dropped off. If it were later in the season, we would have taken a dip! You feel very secluded yet you're only 3 miles from town. The bed was comfortable, the deck was fabulous, the shower was refreshing, and the loft was priceless to the boys! We had the best time and will return again as soon as possible! If your destination is Yosemite, it is very close and convenient. And where else can you stay the night in a caboose and see the greatest national park!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing