We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“OUTSTANDING!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have stayed at lots of BnB's. Sierra View is simply one of the best. It's a bit of a drive from Yosemite but definitely worth it. Their house and guests rooms are generous, extremely comfortable, and immaculate. The guest rooms area of the house has its own coffee pot, refrigerator, and outdoor tables. The views are stunning. Lori is one fabulous cook. But, the best part is no one stays a stranger in this house (unless you want to be left alone). We had a birthday celebration that Bruce and Lori helped us secretly organize, and "make your own dinner" night they helped us provision. And to top all that off, Lori planned for us 2 perfect days of hiking and exploring Yosemite. If you're heading to Yosemite - this is definitely your best choice for lodging!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettelevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is the first time that we booked a B&B in the USA, and we truly enjoyed it. Bruce and Lori make you feel welcome at their place. The room we stayed in was large, with a beautiful view on the mountains and Oakhurst. Breakfast was made to order, with fresh omelettes, scones and fruit. However, if you prefer home made jam and cereals that is also possible. We particularly enjoyed sitting on the terrace, while looking at the mountains, sometimes accompanied by Boubou, their very friendly dog. Thanks Bruce and Lori!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KarinNETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Feels just like being home. Great service, great rooms.Wonderful breakfast. Lori has insider tips (talking bout restrooms... ;-)) for almost any spot in California. The location itself is wonderful and has great views.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tyrolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, but the Yosemite Sierra View B&B was amazing and completely exceeded my expectations. The atmosphere was very warm and welcoming, but still spotlessly clean and with maximum privacy.

The drive up the very steep hill is worth it for the amazing view of the valley that you'll have from your room. When we arrived, we were greeted by Bruce and the dog Booboo, who is by far the sweetest and most well-behaved dog I've ever encountered. Our room was huge, with an amazing view and a big patio, where we could eat or just hang around after a long day of hiking. The bed was very comfortable, and the shower was nice and hot.

The amount of privacy was great. The guest rooms had very secure locks on them. Bruce and Lori were always available and easy to find, but never intrusive. Even though there were other people staying at the B&B, we couldn't hear them.

Breakfast was simple but delicious and satisfying. Each day, there was an egg dish, fruit, and toast. As an added bonus, they had REALLY good coffee, and I consider myself a coffee snob. As others have mentioned, there is a chicken coop on the property, and all the eggs for breakfast come from those chickens. There are also a couple of cats that live with the chickens, but as far as I know, only the dog is allowed inside.

Bruce and Lori were very sweet and friendly without ever being creepy. They were more than happy to sit down with us in the morning and help us plan out where we should go hiking, where we should eat, which roads we should take as we were leaving, etc. They really went above and beyond what I've experienced at other hotels.

If you're spending time in the Yosemite area, I can't recommend this place highly enough. It was the perfect place to retreat to after a long day, and I hope I'll have the chance to stay there again someday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nafa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

A beautiful suite very close to Yosemite NP, located in a quiet hideaway with beautiful day and night views of the valley.
The suits are extremely beautiful and spacious. Direct exit to the garden.
Lovely, warm and hospitable hosts.
We had a great breakfast with a young couple from Spain and, what a small world, we had a mutual acquiantance and business interests.
The only regret is that we spent only one night due to our pre planned tight schedule. What a miss!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

A hidden gem has been found. Peaceful and quiet house located on top of the hill with a fantastic view of the Oakhurst and the nature. Bruce and Lori have been wonderful hosts who are very attentive and helpful couple.
There are only 3 types of rooms that can cater to a couple to a family of 4, comfortably. All rooms are on the ground level. No air con, only ceiling fan but who needs it when the weather is cool during the evening and you should be out during the day.
To me, this is like a 5 star hotel even though it is nothing fancy or luxury about it. It is the personal touch and service given by Lori and Bruce that makes our stay more than luxurious. They make you feel at home upon arrival and make sure every guest feel warm and welcome.
This is the kind of place I would like to stay in for vacation where u have your own space from indoor to outdoor. You can sit out in the morning for breakfast and chill out in evening with a glass of wine and enjoy the evening view of the town or the stars after a long day of hiking.

Homemade breakfast is always ready whenever u want it. Dinner can be arranged upon request. Lori will answer or even help you plan your activities at Yosemite. Less than 5 minutes to all shops and restaurants. It is about half an hour drive to the nearest entrance of the park and 1 hr 40 mins to Glacier point. From glacier to the village, it will take another hr or less.
You may not want to stay in other lodges once you have stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michiruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brucechip, Owner at Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Your review tells us that we are doing exactly what we want to do. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and reaffirming that we are achieving our goals to make each guest feel comfortable and have THEIR best experience in our region :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed the night new years eve 2011. I couldn't believe the scenery and our room was so beautiful and confortable. Much better than any hotel or B&B I have visited. Lori was so gracious and kind. I would refer all my friends and family. Thank you Lori for being a great hostess and we will definately be back and hopefully for more than just one night :) God Bless.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
1.7 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
11.0 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
0.8 mi away
Yosemite's A Haven of Rest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast
Address: 39060 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-8754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Yosemite Sierra View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing