We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't GOOOO!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Sierra RV Park & Campground
Reviewed June 3, 2011

If you like to sit on your neighbours lap and smell garbadge and have rude staff, this is your place!
Pictures are deciving on the website!! Reality is awfull!!
Don't go!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coralreeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peggycroce, Public Relations Manager at High Sierra RV Park & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2011

We are sorry that the park did not meet up to your standards. We have never had a complaint about garbage smell. Our staff generally receives very good guest service reviews. It would have been more helpful if you had supplied more information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 73 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2010

I really liked this RV Campground. The spaces look a little tight but I was able to back my Travel Trailer with no problems. Each space has cable and a fire pit. The staff was super nice, very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again. We were able to drive to the south entrance of Yosemite (17 miles away) and enjoyed 2-days in the Park.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank etapngav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

This place isn't terrible, but the tent sites leave much to be desired for a typical "tent camping experience."

Upon arrival (after hours - which is laughably after 6pm daily) we had to check the whiteboard at the office to see what tent site we were in. Not knowing where the tent sites were, we drove around the tight spaces of the RV area until we were flagged down by the night attendant and what I would assume to be his girlfriend (she was like his shadow at all times). The attendant led us down to a very small, tight tent area with less than ZERO privacy from your neighbors. There is also ZERO tree cover to provide privacy, and the sun pounds down on your site all day.

You'd better hope you have some cool neighbors. The tent sites are inches away from each other with nothing separating the sites but a painted white line on the ground. Thankfully, our neighbors were great...however this could be potentially nightmarish if a family of 10 with eight screaming kids was next to you. It's the risk you take, I guess.

Tent stakes were impossible to pound in, and we had stainless steel stakes. You have to have the long, heavy-duty "nails" and a hammer to have any hope of securing your tent.

The High Sierra RV Park website claims that it's 17 miles from Yosemite, which may be accurate as the crow flies. However, we humans cannot fly. We have to drive vehicles to and from the park every day. This makes the 44 miles of breakneck, hairpin turns that we must endure each way along the Wawona Road (or a two-hour drive each way through Mariposa and El Portal) take about 1 hour and ten minutes each way. This isn't the RV Park's fault, as it's in the Sierra Nevada...however please don't make the claim that you'll be 17 miles from Yosemite!

Allegedly there was free high-speed internet, but we were unable to find a secure connection from our tent site.

All that said, it was nice to have electricity and drinking water at each tent site. The bathrooms were clean, and the shower house was actually a very pleasant surprise. Great water pressure and plenty of hot water. The mountain views from your tent site are quite nice, and the waterfall noise on the Fresno River was great to fall asleep and wake up to. The RV park is located right in Oakhurst, so you're in a city, not in the woods...which has it's pros and cons. It's nice to drive 2 blocks to get what you need from a gas station, Raley's grocery store, or to grab take-out for dinner. However, you're not camping in a quiet wilderness.

All in all, I'd say you can do better...especially if you can secure a walk-in campsite inside Yosemite. Check out Wawona and Camp 4...and stay at High Sierra as a last resort.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErikAustinWAXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peggycroce, Public Relations Manager at High Sierra RV Park & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2011

We apologize that your recent visit to High Sierra RV Park was less than you expectations. We agree our tents sites are in need of shade trees and do plan to plant before the 2012 season. You would never have to worry about the family of 10 as we do not allow more the 5 guests per site.

On the Map & Directions of our website, it states we are 17 miles from Yosemite's South Entrance Gate, not 17 miles from the valley floor of Yosemite. Yosemite National Park is nearly 1,200 square miles of waterfalls, valleys, meadows, giant sequoias, and much more.

When driving up Highway 41 through Oakhurst to enter through the South Entrance, it is the logical way to go if they want to see the Mariposa Grove, the Wawona area, and Glacier Point on the way to Yosemite valley. Highway 41 becomes the Wawona Road when you enter Yosemite.
For those who want to see the view made famous on countless postcards, the Wawona Road through the South Entrance is the place to enter Yosemite. It is called Tunnel View, 1.6 miles from the valley floor. Motorists emerge from the Wawona Tunnel and see the grand vista of Yosemite Valley, El Capitan, Half Dome, and Bridalveil Fall. Most people simply pull into the huge parking areas, climb out of the car or bus, and start snapping photographs.

Wawona and Camp 4 are wonderful campground within Yosemite National Park. Make your reservation early; nearly every campsite fills on the very first day when the Park Service opens reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Website pictures are very misleading. Very narrow, tight spaces -- the awning was almost over the next space's picnic table. The bathhouse and laundry rooms were NOT convenient -- up the hill in the "long-term, permanent" part of the campground. The site backed up to a sandy bank that was not level and was beginning to give way. There was no shade. The WiFi was "spotty". The park is "OK" if all you plan on doing is sleeping there.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank itchyfeetx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We parked our van on a campsite for one night, $19, next to the river. Bathroom was clean nearby, didn't use the shower as the office was closed and they were locked, required you give a $20 CASH deposit to get a key for the showers. We walked nearby to find someplace to eat, not bad for $19.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We camped at this RV Park and Campground with a 6 person tent. The tent locations are right next to the river which at this time of year was not flowing very much. The ground was extremely hard in places to get the tent pegs in but we came prepared with a large hammer. There are lots of trees so plenty of shade and the campsite was quiet at night. Rest rooms are really close by which was ideal. The showers are a short walk away and can get busy at times - so just aim to be there early and you won't have a problem. There is a really handy fire pit which you can also use to barbecue. Keep an eye open for the friendly wildlife when it gets dark, I had a large deer came and check me out while I was sitting outside the office using the Wi-Fi. Tent camping is not 4 star so don't expect the Ritz. The town of Oakhurst is within walking distance and there are well stocked supermarkets close by. Best of all the entrance to Yosemite Park is roughly a 20 minute drive away.

Our tip for Yosemite is to go to Subway or a deli and buy your food before you go in to the park. Inside the park food is expensive and it can be very busy. We had a fabulous weekend which did not break the bank!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thumperparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank mackilroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakhurst hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
2.1 mi away
Mountain Trail Lodge
Mountain Trail Lodge
#8 of 9 in Oakhurst
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Yosemite Sierra Inn
Yosemite Sierra Inn
#7 of 9 in Oakhurst
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Sierra RV Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Sierra RV Park & Campground

Address: 40389 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9440
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Oakhurst
Price Range: $15 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short drive from spectacular Yosemite National Park, High Sierra RV Park & Campground sits directly on the banks of the seasonal Fresno River in Oakhurst, CA. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
High Sierra Rv Park And Campground
High Sierra Rv Park & Campground Hotel Oakhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing