We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,239)
Filter reviews
1,239 results
Traveler rating
412
515
219
62
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
412
515
219
62
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room yogurt continental breakfast south gate hard boiled eggs bathroom sink front desk staff room was large small town would definitely stay here again park entrance clean hotel laundry room bass lake coffee maker fridge and microwave glacier point
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 1,239 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2019

This is one of the best-run hotels in hospitality industry, where you are saving $20 - $50 per night on not paying a part of their franchise fee...of which they have none. A beautiful, solid, highly-professional operation!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelShainsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsight_HG, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2019

Michael:

High five!! Wow, thank you for your PERFECT SCORE REVIEW!! Our staff is honored to receive such an awesome review. Our all-suites independent boutique hotel has been newly renovated, and from your review, it looks like we did it right. We'd love to host you again if you come back to Yosemite. Remember to book your stay at YosemiteSouthgate.com where you will always find the lowest rates anywhere online, and use the promo code: tripadvisor to save even more!

Thanks for Staying at The Southgate,

Raj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2019 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay!!
Friendly staff!! Someone is on duty 24 hours, super spacious and clean rooms!!! The rooms are also decorated nicely, Ee had a king size bed plus a couch in our room!!!Beautiful surroundings close to Coarsegold, the casino , and Yosemite!!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsight_HG, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2019

Nancy:

Thank you for the PERFECT SCORE REVIEW! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We worked really hard to make it more beautiful and comfortable for our guests. When you come back to Yosemite, We'd love to host you again. Remember to book your stay at YosemiteSouthgate.com where you will always find the lowest rates anywhere online, and use the promo code: tripadvisor to save even more!

Thanks for Staying at The Southgate,

Raj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2018

The room is five star: it has everything you want in a trip: spacious space, beautiful and comfortable design, nice facilities and furniture (two wash sink outside of bathroom made it easy for two persons function), and super clean.
The staff are friendly and helpful too.

I gave it overall 4 star instead 5 is because its too-simple breakfast: no hot water or other warm beverage except coffee; no plain/old-fashioned oats or cereals, only sugar-saturated instant ones. In one sentence: either icy or high-sugar stuff, not the healthy breakfast I like

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ruchen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsight_HG, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2019

Ruchen:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for choosing The Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites. We’re glad that you loved our newly renovated guest rooms and the staff as well. We recognize our breakfast is cold as it is intended to be simple fare-- a continental breakfast to get up and go to The Park. There is an on-site restaurant for hot meals.

We'd love to host you again if you come to Yosemite and be your home away from home. Do book your stay direct at YosemiteSouthgate.com where you will find our lowest rates. Plus use the promo code: tripadvisor to save even more.

Thanks for Staying at The Southgate,
Raj
Owner
Yosemite Southgate Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2018

We were traveling with two teenagers and we truly appreciated a slightly bigger 2Queen bedroom. There was a coffee table for two with two chairs. If you are just sleeping over since you are supposed to be exploring Yosemite, this works great. Bathroom was also good. I think they renovated the place and it certainly has the modern look. Nice!

It is close to so many dining places, you certainly have lots of choices. This is my main consideration when we were looking for a place to stay, availability of restaurants. They served continental breakfast cereal, muffins, bread, hardboiled eggs, yogurt, apples and your usual coffee, tea and juices.
If this is not enough for you, Denny's is right beside the motel.

Parking was sufficient, I will recommend this place to people going to Yosemite, though it will take you an hour and a half i think to get to the Yosemite village.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank kate2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsight_HG, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2019

Kate:

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our completely renovated all suites hotel. Our location, in the heart of Oakhurst, is just 30 minutes from the Southgate entrance to our crown jewel, Yosemite National Park. The winding road from the park entrance to the valley floor offers stunning views all along the way with several spots to take amazing vacation pictures. We'd love to host you again if you come back to Yosemite. Remember to book your stay at YosemiteSouthgate.com where you will always find the lowest rates anywhere online, and use the promo code: tripadvisor to save even more!

Thanks for Staying at The Southgate,

Raj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2018 via mobile

Big rooms, looks recently updated, clean and comfortable beds. This hotel has easy access to restaurants and supermarket, about an hour and a half away from Yosemite visitor center.
Would have given it 5 star but for the breakfast. Very basic, need to give a bit of hot food to make this place an awesome stay!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank goitalyjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews