We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,239)
Filter reviews
1,239 results
Traveler rating
412
515
219
62
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
412
515
219
62
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room yogurt continental breakfast south gate hard boiled eggs bathroom sink front desk staff room was large small town would definitely stay here again park entrance clean hotel laundry room bass lake coffee maker fridge and microwave glacier point
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 1,239 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

I had high hopes for this hotel. It looks great inside and out. The problem was the actual room we stayed in.
The shower had very little water pressure. The refrigerator had a broken seal. The safe wouldn't work. The tv would only let you watch one channel.The bathroom door squeaked. The faucet handle came off 3 times. The beds were very uncomfortable, my son slept on the floor with pillows and he said that was more comfortable than the bed. And lastly the breakfast was so basic. No microwave in the breakfast area but one in each room? The pool was not heated and the sauna was cold.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsight_HG, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2019

Mark:

Hey, we are incredibly sorry that you had such a poor stay at our newly remodeled hotel. We try very hard to make sure our guests have a 5 star stay as exemplified by the many other guest reviews. This is a shock to us--we would have made things right had you just talked to our front desk. We did have some growing pains with some of the remodeling but have since smoothed out the rough edges. Our pool and spa are seasonal. In any case, we are sorry that you didn't have an acceptable stay.

As a token, we would like to make things right. Do book direct with us at YosemiteSouthgate.com and put a special request in the booking referring us to this review and we will be happy to provide a discount on a future stay.

Thank You,

Raj
Owner
Yosemite Southgate Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

We found the hotel comfortable and the price reasonable. We would stay there again.

We liked:
-manageable driving distance from San Diego enabling a quick drive to Yosemite the following morning
-Spacious room with fridge
-Swimming pool for the kids (bit too cold for the adults!)
-Decaf coffee available in the evening (no decaf tea though)
-Decent breakfast included - toast, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, coffee, juice, apples, pears
-International clientele! We heard at least five different languages at morning breakfast!
-Nearby Italian restaurant had good food and good prices, easy to get to from hotel

We did not like:
-Finding someone else's old food in our in-room fridge when we went to use it
-A not-too-clean shower - leftover hairs from previous guests - always a bit ICK!
-Uncomfortable pillows in our opinion -- too big!
-No waffles at breakfast (many others mentioned in reviews here, so we expected that there would be waffles)
-No cold water available at breakfast - only juices
-Breakfast set-up is a bit of a disaster - hard to get to things if it's crowded as people tend to cluster at the toasters waiting for toast making for a traffic-jam that blocks everything else.
-Air conditioning in unit functioned well but made quite a racket turning on and off. We solved the problem by having it run the fan all the time so it was more of a constant (quite loud!) hum through the night and not as jarring when turning on and off.

Room tip: We had a corner room in the back on upper floor. Very quiet and spacious.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MollyMcLolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsight_HG, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Molly:

I wanted to take the time to reply to your review and truly apologize for the negative experiences you had during your stay at The Southgate. We take cleanliness very seriously and find it unacceptable that food was mistakenly left in the fridge and you found a dirty shower. We have addressed this gap with the housekeeper who serviced your room--this is usually not the case as our staff is really on top of cleanliness which you can see from all of our other reviews. In any case, I am glad you brought it up so we can improve. We have also notified our maintenance to check out the AC unit. I like the idea of having ice cold water at breakfast, which I think the juice dispenser does serve. Will look into that.

I do hope the positives outweighed the negs, and you are willing to give us a second chance. Do book at YosemiteSouthgate.com and we will do our best to give you our VIP treatment.

Thank You,

Raj
Owner
Yosemite Southgate Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

Good hotel if you're looking for somewhere to stay to visit Yosemite Park but can't or don't want to stay within the park itself. Rooms were a good size and nicely decorated. Breakfast was a bit lacking and quite crowded as it looks like some coach tours use this hotel, but thankfully there's other options nearby.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gibo303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsight_HG, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Dear Guest:

I wanted to thank you for staying with us at The Southgate and apologize for the crowds in the morning while continental breakfast is served. We did have a bus tour in house and generally with the bus tour schedules, the lobby can get crowded on occasion so I must apologize. I hope the rest of your stay was as good as it appears so.

Do come visit us again. Next time book at YosemiteSouthgate.com where you will find our lowest rates online.

We hope to host you again,

Raj
Owner
Yosemite Southgate Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Perfect, super nice and was as close to the park as you could get! I would definitely stay here again. When I come back I will stay and hopefully for more nights than just the one that we were there! Stay here

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank pj23robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsight_HG, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Dear Guest:

Thanks for much for the PERFECT SCORE review! High Five AND a Fist Bump, too! We love such glowing reviews because it gives recognition to our staff who work so hard to make sure our guests have a wonderful #YosemiteExperience! We'd love to host you again!

Next time you are visiting Yosemite, book your stay at YosemiteSouthgate.com for our lowest rates online.

Thank You and Come Again,

Raj
Owner
Yosemite Southgate Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

The hotel is located at the entrance to Yosemite Park. The rooms are modern and nice. In the immediate area there are many great restaurants. We found only one negative point, the internet connection is very slow.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsight_HG, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Charly:

Thanks for staying with us at The Southgate and for taking the time to leave us an honest review. I am glad you liked our accommodations. I did want to apologize for the issues you had with our broadband. We have received similar complaints and are working with our ISP to improve the connectivity.

I am confident our WiFi will be more robust by the next time you come and visit. We'd love to host you again so you can see for yourself. Do book your stay with us directly at YosemiteSouthgate.com where you will find our lowest rates online.

See you soon,

Raj
Owner
Yosemite Southgate Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews