We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were only here one night and there were four of us. We had a room with 2 queen beds and tons of room for air mattresses so nobody had to share a bed!! The suite was really nice. The only negative thing I have to say is that we are very warm people and the air conditioning unit was not very good. The filter was in desperate need of cleaning and the room never got very cool. That would not stop me from staying here again if we are ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ldh90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest:

I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay at The Southgate. I also wanted to apologize for the issues you faced with the air conditioning. We routinely maintain our equipment so this is unusual but we will definitely make another round.

I hope to host you again. Next time, book direct with us at yosemitesouthgate.com and find our lowest rates.

See you again,

Raj
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 961 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

Rooms were a little outdated but very clean and spacious. Typical problems that may happen when running a hotel occurred however, the staff was extremely pleasent and courteous. Would definitely book there again. Only suggestion is that they adopt a environmental policy regarding reusing towels etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lurana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Lurana:

Thanks for you almost perfect review score. Shucks! I wish we had gotten that last little dot and made for a perfect score. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We actually do have a environmental policy regarding towels and there should have been a door hanger sign in your bathroom for the same. Nonetheless, we do like your recommendation to go even more green. We just ordered recycle bins for each room so we can do even more.

Do visit us again or spread the word. Next time, book direct at yosemitesouthgate.com to find our lowest rates.

Regards,

Raj
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The teen kids enjoyed the hot tub before turning in. A quick breakfast, speedy checkout and off to one of the most beautiful placed in the world (Yosemite). Beds were very comfortable and the room amenities were updated and modern. Would be even better if they had a place to eat the breakfast (the area is being refurbed).

Room Tip: Call direct and see if they have what you need or desire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vince66226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our family of four stayed there this past week end, and loved it. The room was clean and cozy, had a microwave and small refrigerator. The staff was helpful, and answered our questions about the area. It is a scenic, easy drive to Yosemite, about 20 minutes to the park entrance, and an hour to Yosemite village itself. Definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindyvose99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Cindy,

We were happy to have you and your family with us while you visited Yosemite National Park.

So nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this wonderful review.

You can book directly on our website at yosemitesouthgate.com and find the lowest rates on the internet. Enter: Promo Code: tripadvisor on Step 2 of the Reservation Tab and save $5 per night.

Regards,
Kristy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I only stayed at YSH&S for one night and, due to the price, I really didn't know what to expect. As it turned out I was more than very pleasantly surprised. The hotel itself is very clean, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and they even provide an excellent buffet breakfast. For the price paid for the King/Mini-Suite I couldn't have asked for anything better. My only regret is that I wish I could have stayed longer. The pool wasn't open yet, due to the season, but that wasn't a problem. I will definitely stay there again when I'm up that way.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Richard,

I was so energized to read your perfect review! We appreciated you taking the time.

We are glad you stayed even if only one night. The pool is now open, so do come and visit us again and stay a bit longer.

You can book directly on our website at yosemitesouthgate.com and find the lowest rates on the internet. Enter: Promo Code: tripadvisor on Step 2 of the Reservation Tab and save $5 per night.

Regards,
Kristy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Glad that I decided to stay here on our recent trip to Yosemite! It was our first stay in MANY years at an "economical" hotel...recently retired, I thought we would give it a try--so glad that I chose Yosemite Southgate! We were able to stay two nights for the price we would have paid for one at our usual hotel chain...the room was clean and roomy...the service was friendly...it shares the parking lot with Denny's, which was also clean and recently renovated and a 20% discount to boot! The wifi worked well-no problems there either! The only questionable would be the water color when filling the tub, not sure if it is due to the room color enhancing it or maybe older plumbing? All in all, a definite recommend--oh, and great location to the south entrance to the park (14 miles) and close proximity to Bass Lake (5 miles)...thank you Yosemite Southgate :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tink707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest:

We want to personally thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and positive review of your stay at Yosemite Southgate Lodge. Such reviews really help our business tremendously.

Do come and visit us again. Next time directly on our website at yosemitesouthgate.com and find the lowest rates on the internet. Enter: Promo Code: tripadvisor on Step 2 of the Reservation Tab and save $5 per night.

Regards,
Kristy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night while driving to Vegas from San Fran.

Bed was comfortable, room is very large and clean and TV is new. The wifi was good until the hotel became full and then it became very slow. Lots of parking available, no issues getting a parking spot. Breakfast is decent for the price and also inclusive.

Ate dinner at the asian restaurant just a short walk away.

Hotel and it's furniture is a bit dated but it's clean and comfortable. Good for a road trip stop off and a few days at Yosemite.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cloudy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest:

I wanted to take a moment to thank you for your time in leaving us a review. We're very thrilled that you felt our hotel is a comfortable place to stay. We work very hard to make sure Yosemite Southgate Hotel is a good value and offers a quality stay to those visiting Yosemite National Park.

Do come and visit us again. Next time directly on our website at yosemitesouthgate.com and find the lowest rates on the internet. Enter: Promo Code: tripadvisor on Step 2 of the Reservation Tab and save $5 per night.

Regards,
Kristy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
0.4 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
9.4 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Address: 40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9666 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range: $88 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites is located in Oakhurst, California only minutes away from the south gate entrance to Yosemite National Park on Highway 41. The Yosemite Southgate Hotel offers some of the most spacious suite type rooms located nearby Yosemite. With interior corridors and an elevator and ample parking for tour buses, The Southgate Hotel offers a perfect place to stay for groups of all sizes and types. Located minutes from Bass Lake, the Yosemite Southgate Hotel is the perfect hotel to stay at when visiting Yosemite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Hotel Oakhurst
Shilo Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing