We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff, useful place to stay outside the park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on honeymoon in June 2013. We were given a large room which was good and it had a fridge, although it did smell of smoke. The room was reasonable for the price.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was free parking and wifi. We were impressed with the free breakfast and drinks in the mornings- cereal, yogurts and fruit.

It takes 1 hour 27 minutes to drive to yosemite valley from the hotel- this is what our satnav said and it took us this long every day driving at a normal speed

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
There are newer reviews for Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 944 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights while visiting Yosemite. The rooms were comfortable in size, the beds were comfortable, linens and towels were clean. The carpet appeared clean with no debris; however, they needed a deep cleaning as our infant grandson's feet and hands became dark from crawling on the carpets. The older grandchildren enjoyed the pool which was very clean. Our daughter's room air was not functioning well but to our surprise it was promptly replaced while we were away for the day. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would return and recommend staying there to others.

Room Tip: No restaurant in hotel, but plenty close by.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Cathy:

Thank you so much for your gracious review. I personally wanted to say that our staff appreciates your kind words and recommendation. We strive very hard at Yosemite Southgate to be the place to stay in Oakhurst. From our facilities, cleanliness, and charming staff, we want to make sure that those visiting Yosemite have a great experience.

We hope you come and visit us again. Next time, book direct at yosemitesouthgate.com and find our LOWEST RATES.

Thank You,

Raj - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights to explore Yosemite and Bass Lake. You couldn't ask for a better location to the Park, (aside from staying IN the park.) The room was plain, but enormous, with a separate wet bar area with fridge, which was really convenient. Our room had a large balcony overlooking the parking area and mountains. We were concerned about noise, but the room was totally quiet. The only suggestion I would make is to add an umbrella to the 5-piece seating area on the balcony, because it gets HOT out there!
The staff was super friendly and knowledgable about the area. Be sure to ask for restaurant recommendations! They have coupons and discounts for the local restaurants, (Crab Cakes was our fave.) We'll definitely stay here again when we return to Yosemite.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alipaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Alipaps:

Thanks for your near Perfect Score! We really appreciate it when folks like you take the time to give us an honest appraisal and when such a review highlights our awesome staff. We really take pride in our hotel and making sure folks have a great place to stay when visiting one of the most beautiful places on earth, Yosemite. I like your suggestion about the umbrellas under the patio table--nice one.

We'd love it if you could recommend folks to stay with us. BOOK DIRECT at yosemitesouthgate.com and SAVE!

Regards,

Raj - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We couldn't find anything in Yosemite so stayed here. The rooms were outdated but clean and we weren't hanging out at the hotel. Staff was great, excellent dinner suggestions and continental breakfast was very good. We would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Front desk staff is wonderful, super friendly and helpful. Room was large but could use some updating. Overall room was clean, a little bit of mildew in the bathroom and the carpet was a bit worn but not dirty. Beds are comfortable. Vanity/sink area is spacious and outside of the shower/toilet area (very convienient) and there is a separate sink in the kitchen area. Our room was on the first floor adjacent to the pool area. Oakhurst is a great town, lots of restaurants and shopping. It is about a 75-minute drive to Yosemite Valley from this hotel, but unless you stay inside the park you're not going to get much closer than that. Breakfast is basic but free, waffles are good!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn7411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in the July 4th long weekend. The hotel staffs were very friendly. Location is great and there are many dining choices nearby. Filled up the gas every morning before going to Yosemite. The drive from this hotel to Yosemite Valley, Glacier Point or Mariposa Grove takes 1 to 1.5 hours. The two lanes road is very windy but some scenery are breathtaking. Be warned. The drive takes some time and requires your concentration.
The hotel room is clean and nice. Don't expect to 5 star hotel decoration. Flat screen satellite TV. It also has a small fridge, microwave. A/C and a small countertop. I heard that some hotels/lodges inside the valley do not have A/C. In a hot summer day, A/C is a must. The hotel also has a swimming pool.
For the complimentary breakfast, it is just okay. Waffles, toasts, muffins, juice, milk, cereal, fruits. It is good if you just need a quick bite and go.
I guess most hotel guests are from out of town and feel pretty safe during our stay. Afterall, you are staying in the middle of nowhere. :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riceboy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our visit to Yosemite for the 4th of July weekend. The hotel was neat and fairly pleasant to stay at. The hotel staff was friendly when I checked in. The room we stayed in had all the proper appointments with some perks like WiFi and premium movie channels on TV. If we visit Yosemite again, though no fault of the hotel, I'd advice staying closer to the valley than Oakhurst. That ,50 mile drive can be a bear if you have to do it more than once.

Overall, the hotel was good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
0.4 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst
24.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Address: 40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9666 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range: $107 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites is located in Oakhurst, California only minutes away from the south gate entrance to Yosemite National Park on Highway 41. The Yosemite Southgate Hotel offers some of the most spacious suite type rooms located nearby Yosemite. With interior corridors and an elevator and ample parking for tour buses, The Southgate Hotel offers a perfect place to stay for groups of all sizes and types. Located minutes from Bass Lake, the Yosemite Southgate Hotel is the perfect hotel to stay at when visiting Yosemite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Hotel Oakhurst
Shilo Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing