We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on our way out of Yosemite. The rooms are large and clean and the staff was extremely helpful. The breakfast was above average for this kind of place.
Oakhurst is perhaps not the most exciting city, but if you're comming into Yosemite from the south I can only recommend this place.

Tip: Order through the hotel website as it's cheaper.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dr Dae:

We wanted to thank you for your positive review. We really strive to make Yosemite Southgate Hotel The Place to Stay when visiting Yosemite from the South and your review helps to reaffirm that goal.

We do hope to see you again. If you visit us again please book directly with us at yosemitesouthgate.com to find our lowest rates and best availability.

Regards,

Raj - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
There are newer reviews for Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 941 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently when we went to see Yosemite park. The hotel is in a great location for the park. Rooms are large. Decor is definitely out of date in some areas, but the room was clean and it was the most comfortable bed I have slept in in a hotel lately. Considering other options in the area, this was a good choice.

The con - it seems silly but be sure to take inventory of your towels, cups, etc when you go into the room. Housekeeping forgot to replace our wash cloths and one of the front desk people acted as if we had taken them. To be fair, the situation was resolved rather easily in our favor by other staff members, but it completely offended me. I actually felt like I did in college on spring break ensuring all towels and wash rags were in the room so as not to be charged/accused to taking them. I understand it is impt to monitor those things due to costs, but it is very important to take into account housekeeping can make mistakes before acting as if your guests just tucked away a 50 cent washcloth....

Breakfast was usual continental, the waffles were a nice touch. The people working the breakfast area did very well keeping it stocked as it was busy at times. The rest of the staff members (with the exception of the one mentioned above) were very helpful and extremely friendly.

Overall, I would consider staying again in spite of having to inventory the room linens. It is not a 4 star place, but it does provide a good place to stay in an area that really does not have many choices.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shell_collectr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

So glad we found this hotel after a day at Yosemite Park. Cannot fault this hotel at all - staff so friendly and helpful, very reasonable rates, huge room/suite with fridge and microwave, tea and coffee available in the lobby 24hrs and complimentary breakfast. Nice to have a hot tub and steam room available after a long, tiring day at Yosemite which is only about 14 miles away. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Mark:

Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a review. We are even more appreciative that your review was a Perfect Score! That is awesome. It means alot to our staff because we do work very hard to make Yosemite Southgate Hotel the best place to stay outside Yosemite. We are nearby The Park and we offer some of the most spacious quality accommodations and an awesome staff which strives to show you hospitality.

Thank you so much! Next time you visit definitely book directly with us to save at yosemitesouthgate.com.

Regards,

Debbie & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My friend and I went up to Oakhurst for my birthday and spent 3 wonderful nights over Valentines weekend. The rates were great but the staff was even better. The Cindi's (there is more then one) were just wonderful as was all the staff...And Lucy really shows how she cares about your stay with them. Would recommend this wonderful stopping off place to everyone. Just a short distance to Yosemite, Bass Lake and wonderful small towns dotting the neighborhood. Love you guys!!!! Hope to see you again very soon. xoxo Lisa and Cynthia in San Juan Capistrano.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa21452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Lisa:

I wanted to take the time out to thank you for your very positive review of our hotel, Yosemite Southgate Hotel. We greatly appreciate the time you took to highlight our property and share your thoughts with other potential guests. Since we took ownership and have repositioned the hotel in the last year, we have been trying very hard to highlight our location, quality, and hospitality. We have done a ton of work in the past year and will continue to work hard to make Yosemite Southgate the place to stay when visiting Yosemite from the South.

Next time you visit definitely book directly with us at yosemitesouthgate.com and enter the promo code tripadvisor to save a few pings.

We hope to host you again,

Lucy & Raj - Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just came back from this hotel. On the reception desk, there is a framed document stating this hotel has 4 stars out of 5 from Tripadvisor. Through our stay, we kept wondering - how come?
- We have reserved a room for 5 people, and when we came in at 11 pm we had only 2 queen beds in the room. They were out of extra beds and I had to go down to the lobby to take myself some extra blankets. Then I discovered we have only 4 towels. I was too tired to go down again.
-The ceiling in the room is low. I find this annoying.
-They advertise that they have a heated tub and pool, but turns out it is closed in the winter.
-They advertise that they have free wi-fi in the rooms, but the wi-fi is sooo slow, that you give up using it at all.
-Breakfast was very poor. There was only one type of bread - no bagels, no roles, no choice of bread. The tables were dirty.
This hotel is certainly expensive for what it provides.
It also has a misleading name. It is about 45 minutes drive to the gates of Yosemite.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hidey_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Hidey:

We are very sorry that you had from what it appears a very poor stay at our hotel. We apologize that your stay started off so poorly. We certainly did not address the needs for your fifth person as reserved as well as we could have. And it seems that this displeasure has really impacted the lens by which you saw our hotel and its services. Yosemite is a very remote and large and rugged forestland. We are actually only 14 miles from the Southgate, and one of its closest and best value hotels. The nature of the destination is long and windy mountain roads, so we're truly sorry if the distance seemed long.

We would love the opportunity to host you again and make right for our wrongs. Our swimming pool is actually seasonal and is now open. And we'll be sure to address your concerns and show you why we are ranked so high on TripAdvisor if you were to give us a second chance.

We hope to host you again,

Raj
Ownership

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel was absolutely wonderful. It is close enough to the Southern entrance of Yosemite while still being around businesses and food places. The hotel staff was incredible. All of our needs were met when asked. And the staff was super friendly in all of my interactions with them. My 4-year-old daughter loved being at this hotel and being able to watch T.V., take a bath, walk around, talk to the staff. She loved that there was a steam room even if she didn't go in. The continental breakfast that is included is very nice. There are waffle makers, cereal, oatmeal, muffins, toast, yogurt, and fruit. We never had to eat the same thing twice, even though we did and loved the waffles. The rooms are nice and big. The one thing that made the rooms a little uncomfortable was that the blankets were itchy. We didn't spend all that much time in the rooms though because we were out most of the day and went out to dinner both nights. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all the people I know. Oh, and the best part is that we had a groupon and were treated as hotel guests instead of how some places look down on using coupons. AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7Naomi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Naomi:

Thanks for your gracious and super positive review. Our staff is beaming after reading your review. We really strive to work hard and ensure that ALL of our guests are treated with the utmost hospitality. We are working hard to reclaim our #1 ranking on TripAdvisor so your review is helpful in that cause.

We'd love to host you again. Next time, please do book directly with us at yosemitesouthgate.com and enter the promo code tripadvisor to receive a nice little discount on our already low rates when you book direct.

We hope to see you and your little beautiful daughter again!

Regards,

Raj
Ownership

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were very happy with the excellent service we received. Very clean, very helpful, and excellent staff. I would recommend this hotel highly. The complimentary breakfast had a great choice of fruit, juice, bread and waffles.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiggles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thanks for your awesome PERFECT review! We're just excited. Our staff couldn't be more happy. When we see reviews like yours they really make us giddy because we really pride ourselves on our service and hospitality.

We'd love to see you again. Please book directly at yosemitesouthgate.com to find our lowest rates.

See you soon,

Raj
Ownership

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
0.4 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst
24.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Address: 40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9666 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range: $106 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites is located in Oakhurst, California only minutes away from the south gate entrance to Yosemite National Park on Highway 41. The Yosemite Southgate Hotel offers some of the most spacious suite type rooms located nearby Yosemite. With interior corridors and an elevator and ample parking for tour buses, The Southgate Hotel offers a perfect place to stay for groups of all sizes and types. Located minutes from Bass Lake, the Yosemite Southgate Hotel is the perfect hotel to stay at when visiting Yosemite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Hotel Oakhurst
Shilo Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing