We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great, homey place to take a vacation!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
“Great, homey place to take a vacation!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel was absolutely wonderful. It is close enough to the Southern entrance of Yosemite while still being around businesses and food places. The hotel staff was incredible. All of our needs were met when asked. And the staff was super friendly in all of my interactions with them. My 4-year-old daughter loved being at this hotel and being able to watch T.V., take a bath, walk around, talk to the staff. She loved that there was a steam room even if she didn't go in. The continental breakfast that is included is very nice. There are waffle makers, cereal, oatmeal, muffins, toast, yogurt, and fruit. We never had to eat the same thing twice, even though we did and loved the waffles. The rooms are nice and big. The one thing that made the rooms a little uncomfortable was that the blankets were itchy. We didn't spend all that much time in the rooms though because we were out most of the day and went out to dinner both nights. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all the people I know. Oh, and the best part is that we had a groupon and were treated as hotel guests instead of how some places look down on using coupons. AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Naomi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Naomi:

Thanks for your gracious and super positive review. Our staff is beaming after reading your review. We really strive to work hard and ensure that ALL of our guests are treated with the utmost hospitality. We are working hard to reclaim our #1 ranking on TripAdvisor so your review is helpful in that cause.

We'd love to host you again. Next time, please do book directly with us at yosemitesouthgate.com and enter the promo code tripadvisor to receive a nice little discount on our already low rates when you book direct.

We hope to see you and your little beautiful daughter again!

Regards,

Raj
Ownership
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    384
    178
    51
    24
See reviews for
285
374
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were very happy with the excellent service we received. Very clean, very helpful, and excellent staff. I would recommend this hotel highly. The complimentary breakfast had a great choice of fruit, juice, bread and waffles.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiggles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for your awesome PERFECT review! We're just excited. Our staff couldn't be more happy. When we see reviews like yours they really make us giddy because we really pride ourselves on our service and hospitality.

We'd love to see you again. Please book directly at yosemitesouthgate.com to find our lowest rates.

See you soon,

Raj
Ownership
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
156 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The one-night business visit started off a bit comically as in the first two rooms I was sent to, the bed wasn't made. Literally - the mattresses were off the bed and the frame was disassembled! The third time was the charm - and Shayla (sp?) at the front desk couldn't possibly have been sweeter (or more apologetic) about it. The hotel comped my room by 40%, even though I insisted that the 8 minutes of inconvenience didn't justify it.

The room I ended up in was large, clean and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable, and the towels thick. The view of the mountains was breathtaking from the fourth floor. Took me a second look to get the in-room HVAC set right, but it was relatively quiet.

All the staff I encountered were friendly and helpful, and seemed genuinely dedicated to making sure my stay was pleasant. The restaurant was closed due to the season, but got a great recommendation on a local restaurant. Didn't partake of breakfast, but it looked to be pretty standard breads, cereal, juice and waffle-makers. Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Fourth floor east-facing rooms have great mountain views, though exposed to some road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEM196204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your gracious review and the time you took out to write such kind words, especially considering the snafu we made in providing you a key to a down room. We truly apologize for that! We are just glad that evidently we recovered. Shaila does say hello and while blushing in embarrassment is really pleased and happy with your review.

We do hope you come back to visit us again. Please do book directly with us at yosemitesouthgate.com to save. Enter in the promo code tripadvisor and you'll also get a little discount!

Thank You!

Raj & Shaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean, large rooms with fridge & microwave & sink area, shower fit large and tall me. Small pool and large spa both outdoors and closed in March, but looked nice. Small but adequate exercise room. Overall, a nice find.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Queenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and we found all of the reviews where accurate in that the staff is friendly, rooms are clean, breakfast is adequate, and on the plus side we had an LCD.

Pros:
Great Staff
Crib provided at no cost
Cleanliness
24 HR Coffee Bar

Cons:
Location, not so great. It's more like 23 miles from the south park entrance which is about 35 minutes.
VERRY far from Yosemite village.
"The Juice is not Loose"! (lol, there was a sign, probably will have been taken down by the time anyone reads this, but means that the juice bar closes after breakfast even though it's right next to the coffee)
Waffle timer is wrong, they're done at 1.5 minutes unless you like crunchtacular waffles.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through their website in advance and got a great deal. The hotel is clean and cozy. The rooms are large with a wet bar, couch, king bed, 2 comfy chairs and a small table. The decor is photos of Yosemite. The heater/air conditioner worked well, but we really only needed a little heat. The bed was comfortable and provided an excellent nights sleep. The walls and windows are thin and you can hear some road noise and guests, but we fell asleep easily. When other hotel guests use water it was loud in our room. The continental breakfast was sufficient with a waffle station, yogurt, cereal, toast and fruit. They provide coffee (decaf too) and tea 24 hours. The coffee is good, buttery smell, very smooth taste and piping hot. The coffee machine says Nescafé, but it tastes like Douwe Egbert coffee. The tv in the room is surprisingly large, but they don't have hd service and the picture quality is bad. The staff is very pleasant. Would recommend to friends and will definetly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KonaGirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have stayed here before and I noticed that now things are being updated in many ways. I just love the new "door keys" which is now an electronic card that you just touch to unlock the door. What an improvement over the old heavy keys. Its also much nicer than the hotels that you have to fumble to find the little slot. This one you just touch to the lock mechanism and the door is unlocked. Perfect! I also enjoyed the new pictures on the wall. Very nice.

The staff is very friendly and anxious to make you happy. I know the breakfast is good because I have eaten here before and I see they still have the waffle makers. That will make my day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
1.1 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Property: Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Address: 40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9666 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites is located in Oakhurst, California only minutes away from the south gate entrance to Yosemite National Park on Highway 41. The Yosemite Southgate Hotel offers some of the most spacious suite type rooms located nearby Yosemite. With interior corridors and an elevator and ample parking for tour buses, The Southgate Hotel offers a perfect place to stay for groups of all sizes and types. Located minutes from Bass Lake, the Yosemite Southgate Hotel is the perfect hotel to stay at when visiting Yosemite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Hotel Oakhurst
Shilo Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing