We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms, nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed for two nights to explore Yosemite, we arrived after a long day of driving and were pleasantly surprised by the spacious comfortable rooms. Everything was lovely and clean and comfortable here. Breakfast was fine, little bit of an odd set up, with some items in the lobby and the rest in an old room, but no complaints, it was a bonus to have a breakfast included! The coffee in the lobby all day was also useful. Yosemite village is a longer drive then we had expected from the hotel, just because of the windy roads with a low speed limit, but a lot of it is spectacular scenery so I thought it was ok,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 952 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

It is a little bit old fashioned, but it didn´t disturb us. The rooms were spacious with a small kitchen table top, separate sink from the bathroom.
Also we had actual keys, instead of keycards. Our airconditioning was really noisy.
Breakfast was in an old hotelroom. It was good, but we missed the cheese and turkey or ham. We liked the free 24hr coffee in the lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dekpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I arrived at this hotel after a terrible experience in Hotel Astoria in San Francisco. We were desperately hoping that this hotel would turn out to be different and had our hopes answered from the first step into the lobby.

The lobby was spacious, clean and comfortable. The night staff, Norma, was extremely helpful in getting us settled in.

The room was Heaven after our nightmare in San Francisco. Large, spacious and very clean. Bathtub, microwave oven, cable tv, and big enough to have a kitchen and living room in the room!! Internet Wi-Fi connection was strong and fast.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic too. Cereal, wafers, muffins, toast, eggs, fruits, juices, coffee, tea all available for your selection. There is even a coin operated laundry room for guest to wash their clothes without leaving the comfort of the Hotel.

There was a fitness room and pool which we didn't get to use as it was too cold outside for swimming and we were too sore from hiking to exercise anymore.

The only downside would be the location. Located just outside the south gate of Yosemite, the 1 hour plus drive into the park on winding roads was fine during the day but a daunting drive back as it gets dark.

Still, the service and facilities make up for any hassles on the drive. Would definitely recommend this hotel for anybody looking for accommodation around Yosemite.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shamus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteSouthgate, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Shamus:

Thank you for your gracious review. We are trying very hard to make Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites the place to stay when visiting Yosemite from Southern California. We are actually one of the closest hotels to Yosemite, only 14 miles away. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay. It means alot to us because it reminds us who we are working so hard for: folks like you who are traveling to see one of our country's crown jewels in Yosemite.

We look forward to hosting you again. Next time you book, book directly on our website at yosemitesouthgate .com for the lowest rates. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future when you visit Yosemite National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our family had a wondeful stay here. Girls enjoyed the pool and spa area, and hubby and I made use of the fitness room - right by the pool area. Wondeful breakfast offering - the best that we had during our 3 week stay in USA. Great breakfast room with toaster/microwave etc. Good size room, very clean and modern. Would thoroughly recommend. Lots of free parking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4tuataras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We checked in after a long day of driving and were greeted by a very friendly front desk clerk. Val was friendly and helpful. We were so glad they had a luggage cart so we didn't have to carry all my bags for 1 night! The room was clean and had everything we needed for a comfortable nights rest. The area has a lot of resteraunts and all the stores you need. Having a nice person at the desk really means a lot when you have been driving all day. Thanks Val! Tomorrow its off to Yosemite!

Room Tip: The suites are spacious with all the amenities you need to be comfortable! Microwave, dual cup coffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patti s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Very nice hotel with particularly helpful and friendly staff. There is free parking, our room was very spacious, the windows could actually be opened to let in fresh un-conditioned air. Bathroom facilities were clean and even a small kitchen included in the room. Everything was as if someone had really thought about what a traveller might need.
Internet and even printing a couple of pages were free, pool towels available at all times, and a great breakfast was included. Cereals (also plain oats which we didn't get anywhere else), eggs, fruit juices, apples, toast, bagels, muffins and measured dough for waffles you could bake when you wanted them, which guaranteed them to be hot and crispy.
We enjoyed our stay very much!

Room Tip: We had a room to the rear on ground floor, where you did hear the A/C when we opened the window. Mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I used this hotel as a base for exploring Yosemite National Park.

Well placed about 15 miles from the park gate and about 75 minutes drive from Yosemite Valley itself.

Decent rooms with microwave, fridge and coffee maker. The washbasin is situated outside the bathroom which might put some people off.

I was disappointed with the options at the complementary breakfast the only time I tried it, but appreciated the availability of coffee all day.

My room was right by the pool and fitness centre which meant some noise during the evening and from the squeaky bed in one of the rooms above. The pool was well appointed and the spa great for relaxing in. It was a pity the sauna and steam rooms were switched off when I fancied using them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StevieB3052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
0.4 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
24.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,051 reviews
9.4 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Address: 40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9666 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range: $105 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites is located in Oakhurst, California only minutes away from the south gate entrance to Yosemite National Park on Highway 41. The Yosemite Southgate Hotel offers some of the most spacious suite type rooms located nearby Yosemite. With interior corridors and an elevator and ample parking for tour buses, The Southgate Hotel offers a perfect place to stay for groups of all sizes and types. Located minutes from Bass Lake, the Yosemite Southgate Hotel is the perfect hotel to stay at when visiting Yosemite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Hotel Oakhurst
Shilo Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing