We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for people who want to go to Yosemite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I like this hotel because its old but not too old. Its a lot country and really cozy. I liked that a restaurant was within 200 feet of the place! I liked that the rooms had a table with two chairs so you can eat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reyna24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 961 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

Very dissappointing - Firstly, we were advised that the hotel was 15 minutes from the Southgate of Yosemite. Actually, it is 16 miles - and the speed limit is 35mph. There is no way that this can be done in 15 mins on that road!
Secondly, the duvet had no cover on it - the bed had sheets, but the duvet was bare and stained. Upon asking for covers, we were told that no one had ever asked for one before (really?) and that they were removed for 'environmental reasons' - whatever that means.
Would not reccomend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel is in Oakhurst and is very convenient for the south entrance to Yosemite. Oakhurst also boasts several places to eat, although not necessarily gourmet! The hotel was comfortable with good sized rooms. The service was excellent with very helpful staff on the front desk. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment with limited space to eat with only 5 tables set out in a converted guest bedroom. The food was OK but they did run out of yoghurt on our last day.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one that does not overlook the pool area. A room on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is a nice hotel/motel, with large and comfortable rooms, and convenient for Yosemite National Park. However, it is let down by the staff's lack of attention to detail. It's not that they aren't pleasant, just dysfunctional.
We had booked the hotel through Octopus around four months previously, but when we arrived at around 8pm they had no knowledge of our booking. The problem may, of course, have been with the Shilo or with Octopus. Fortunately, they had some rooms available or we/they would have had a big problem, but the one they allocated to us was hot (80 degrees outside, air con turned off) and it took three hours to cool down. You'd think that they would switch the aircon on for pre-booked guests, and maybe also keep one or two cool for walk-ins.
I gave the desk clerk our booking voucher from Octopus, but the following morning they hadn't bothered to sort out the problem and wanted to charge my credit card, which I managed to dissuade them from doing.
The breakfast seating arrangements were peculiar (table seating area in a diffferent place to the buffet) and the choice poor (not as good as Holiday Inn Express). We claimed the last three slices of bread for toast, and when a chap behind me asked one of the staff to put out more bread he was told that he couldn't do anything without the manager's personal authority.
There are a lot of motels in Oakhurst, and the Shilo needs to up its game to keep up with the pack.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickandpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

the suites are huge! and there wifi access is really good. there breakfast was amazing it included cereal, waffles, pancakes, fruit and juices also coffee. they also have washers and dryers just in case the yosemite national park is not too far away from the hotel. -majid barghi

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Majid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I fully enjoyed the two nights spent at this hotel! The suite rooms are very large and spacious! I couldn't have asked for a better room (except for a newer hotel)! This hotel is also only 14mi from Yosemite! It was very convenient to going to the park.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgiddens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were shocked by the size of the rooms and hadn't expected a kitchenette in our rooms. The hotel was lovely, clean, spacious and peaceful with a small gym and large reception. Great scenery. Breakfast was included and had cereal, waffles, pancakes, fruit and yoghurts. Think they expect you to take your breakfast back to your room and eat as there are only sofa's in reception and no actual tables to eat at.
As we arrived late due to traveling through Yosemite national park we were too late to go to the restaurant next to the car park so we found a Chinese restaurant 5 minutes walk away, China Delight(?), the food was amazing especially after a long drive.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becks18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
0.4 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
9.4 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Address: 40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9666 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range: $88 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites is located in Oakhurst, California only minutes away from the south gate entrance to Yosemite National Park on Highway 41. The Yosemite Southgate Hotel offers some of the most spacious suite type rooms located nearby Yosemite. With interior corridors and an elevator and ample parking for tour buses, The Southgate Hotel offers a perfect place to stay for groups of all sizes and types. Located minutes from Bass Lake, the Yosemite Southgate Hotel is the perfect hotel to stay at when visiting Yosemite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Hotel Oakhurst
Shilo Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing