We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs doing up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Quite run down, the blanket on the bed was falling apart. The bed was lumpy and not very comfortable. The breakfast was a polystyrene affair and not very well presented, food spread across two locations and everyone stuck in a hot room.
The staff were friendly, all things you needed were there like fridge, hairdryer, coffee machine, breakfast, parking, pool (although small) but the hotel needs doing up. Definitely not the same standard as the Shilo Inn we stayed in Palm Springs.

Location is near the South Entrance to Yosemite, so still quite a long drive to Yosemite Valley.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 959 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

As the hotels in Yosemite N.P. were fully booked or too expensive we looked for an alternative and found Shilo Inn (for a short time with the add on Yosemite Southgate Entrance). And it was a good choice. The room: large and well-appointed. The breakfast was one of the better continental breakfasts we had during our vacation. Oakhurst itself is not very big, but with a good choice of restaurants for dinner.
It took about 15-20 minutes to the South Entrance with Mariposa Grove, 1 hour to the Yosemite Valley.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsightDotcom, General Manager at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to post your review about the Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will be back to stay with us on a future occasion.

Thank-you again!

Debbie Mackey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed here one evening before attending a wedding at Tenaya Lodge near Yosemite. The rooms were spacious, quiet, very clean, with a comfortable bed, hanging space, dressers, a TV that worked, a coffemaker and microwave. The bathroom was large and the shower was excellent.
In the morning, breakfast was in the spacious lobby - waffles, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, juice, coffee, tea, and probably toast or bagels, but I didn't have any, so can't say for sure.
We talked with someone who saw the rooms at Tenaya, and these rooms at Shilo Inn were much larger AND included breakfast and Internet, unlike Tenaya.
We did not use the pool or the hot tub, but they looked to be functional.
We were happy with our choice and had a restful night.
If you are planning to go through Yosemite, this would be a good place to stay because it's not that far from the park entrance.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsightDotcom, General Manager at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Porpie,

Thank-you for your wonderful comments about our hotel. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our rooms and amenities. It is always appreciated, to read a positive review, with 5 stars!
We sincerely appreciate your business and hope that you will come stay with us again in the future.

Thank-you
Debbie Mackey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

The rooms here were very large. More than a standard hotel room. The rooms were showing their age, but there was evidence of updating as well, so not bad.
There were 2 sinks in the room - 1 standard sink & 1 kitchen-style one. Also a micro. & fridge.

The rooms were clean. I always check for bedbugs -none here.

Noise was a problem. I could hear a lot of noise from the people above us even towards midnight. I could also hear people in the hallways in the morning.

The outdoor pool was nice. There's also a hot tub which was super hot.

Nice breakfast buffet.

Wifi was good.

Reception staff was friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VacationTraveler111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

They were making improvements to the pool and hot tub while we were there. My hsband and I were on our anniversary trip. Even though the place was older, the rooms were very nice and clean. The breakfast was better than most. It was only thirty minutes or so to Yosemite. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilaruth64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here in late May 2012 for one night while driving to San Francisco. The hotel is about a 30 minute drive from Yosemite national park which was very convenient.

The hotel itself shows it's age and can probably do with a makeover in the next few years. The bathroom was very small and the room was massive, the sink for the bathroom was outside it, in the actual bedroom which is something I have never seen before and isn't the most convenient thing.

The hotel suited us for the one night we stayed there. If you are looking for a lovely place to have dinner, take a 10 minute drive to Bass lake for a beautiful dinner while the sun sets.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phantom_girl00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Very nice hotel for the area...very eager to help! Good breakfast. Good base point for Yosemite park. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a07668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
0.4 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
9.4 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Sierra Inn
Yosemite Sierra Inn
#6 of 9 in Oakhurst
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Address: 40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9666 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range: $91 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites is located in Oakhurst, California only minutes away from the south gate entrance to Yosemite National Park on Highway 41. The Yosemite Southgate Hotel offers some of the most spacious suite type rooms located nearby Yosemite. With interior corridors and an elevator and ample parking for tour buses, The Southgate Hotel offers a perfect place to stay for groups of all sizes and types. Located minutes from Bass Lake, the Yosemite Southgate Hotel is the perfect hotel to stay at when visiting Yosemite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Hotel Oakhurst
Shilo Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing