We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, clean and close to Yosemite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Elkhorn Wisconsin USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Spacious, clean and close to Yosemite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed here one evening before attending a wedding at Tenaya Lodge near Yosemite. The rooms were spacious, quiet, very clean, with a comfortable bed, hanging space, dressers, a TV that worked, a coffemaker and microwave. The bathroom was large and the shower was excellent.
In the morning, breakfast was in the spacious lobby - waffles, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, juice, coffee, tea, and probably toast or bagels, but I didn't have any, so can't say for sure.
We talked with someone who saw the rooms at Tenaya, and these rooms at Shilo Inn were much larger AND included breakfast and Internet, unlike Tenaya.
We did not use the pool or the hot tub, but they looked to be functional.
We were happy with our choice and had a restful night.
If you are planning to go through Yosemite, this would be a good place to stay because it's not that far from the park entrance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Porpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsightDotcom, General Manager at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Porpie,

Thank-you for your wonderful comments about our hotel. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our rooms and amenities. It is always appreciated, to read a positive review, with 5 stars!
We sincerely appreciate your business and hope that you will come stay with us again in the future.

Thank-you
Debbie Mackey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    368
    171
    50
    22
See reviews for
275
352
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

The rooms here were very large. More than a standard hotel room. The rooms were showing their age, but there was evidence of updating as well, so not bad.
There were 2 sinks in the room - 1 standard sink & 1 kitchen-style one. Also a micro. & fridge.

The rooms were clean. I always check for bedbugs -none here.

Noise was a problem. I could hear a lot of noise from the people above us even towards midnight. I could also hear people in the hallways in the morning.

The outdoor pool was nice. There's also a hot tub which was super hot.

Nice breakfast buffet.

Wifi was good.

Reception staff was friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationTraveler111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

They were making improvements to the pool and hot tub while we were there. My hsband and I were on our anniversary trip. Even though the place was older, the rooms were very nice and clean. The breakfast was better than most. It was only thirty minutes or so to Yosemite. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilaruth64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here in late May 2012 for one night while driving to San Francisco. The hotel is about a 30 minute drive from Yosemite national park which was very convenient.

The hotel itself shows it's age and can probably do with a makeover in the next few years. The bathroom was very small and the room was massive, the sink for the bathroom was outside it, in the actual bedroom which is something I have never seen before and isn't the most convenient thing.

The hotel suited us for the one night we stayed there. If you are looking for a lovely place to have dinner, take a 10 minute drive to Bass lake for a beautiful dinner while the sun sets.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phantom_girl00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawatha, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Very nice hotel for the area...very eager to help! Good breakfast. Good base point for Yosemite park. Would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a07668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stay: 1 night
Room: 427 (2 queen beds)

Pro:
- Free Wifi
- Swimming pool but small
- Room was very quiet
- Big and clean room
- Good value for money

Con:
- Breakfast was organized in seperated rooms therefore you had to walk thru a lot of rooms to get all stuff.

...............................................

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuschi_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed here for a night as our base into Yosemite National Park. Our room (a standard room) was huge and was more like a suite than your usual hotel room. There was a kitchenette with a microwave as well. The bathroom was clean and well equipped. Breakfast was simple, and included a waffle maker where you could make your own waffles. Otherwise there was no hot food at breakfast.

You still need your own wheels to get into Yosemite National Park. Parking is free at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CY_JL_traveltheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
9.8 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
3.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
9.4 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Property: Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Address: 40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9666 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites is located in Oakhurst, California only minutes away from the south gate entrance to Yosemite National Park on Highway 41. The Yosemite Southgate Hotel offers some of the most spacious suite type rooms located nearby Yosemite. With interior corridors and an elevator and ample parking for tour buses, The Southgate Hotel offers a perfect place to stay for groups of all sizes and types. Located minutes from Bass Lake, the Yosemite Southgate Hotel is the perfect hotel to stay at when visiting Yosemite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Hotel Oakhurst
Shilo Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing