We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful - Close to Yosemite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Queen's Inn by the River
Ranked #6 of 10 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a road trip so we had easy access to Yosemite. We also went to Lake Bass for one day. Upon arrival we found the service to be good, we were in the last room next to the wine bar/terrace. We were impressed at how clean and comfortable the room was although some art work is a bit disconcerting. Water in the room was a nice touch and the deck outside was lovely to relax on and enjoy the nature (as well as the amazing stars at night). The bathroom was large and clean however there was no toilet seat for some reason which personally bothers me especially when adjacent to the sink. Room service was good whilst we were there. The wine bar was quiet most of the time and we went only once for a quick drink. We did go for our free wine tasting at the winery however we were half an hour too late. Breakfast was continental however a motel we had stayed at previously had a better selection. Not great and muffins tasted very shop bought. Bit pricey for what you get, loved the location but not sure I would stay here again given a choice.

Room Tip: We were in Room 8 (I think) right next to the wine bar. Nice room but small bed and wheelchair enabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Georges07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensinn, Owner at Queen's Inn by the River, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

We were quite shocked about the news of the missing toilet seat. The toilet seat is there, it just happens to be a handi-capped accessible room and the toilet seat has no lid. This is a California ADA code. I hope you don't let this deter you from coming back. We would be more than happy to put you in another room and set you up with a complimentary wine tasting in our winery.

Best Regards,
Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 235 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

After having difficulties to find the place we were received by completely uninterested staff. Rooms were not clean, stains on carpet.
Breakfast was hardly there. Again next morning staff didn't give any attention.

Most disappointing hotel in our trip in California/US. Far too expensive for what you get. Pictures on site give no real idea how mediocre this place is.

Room Tip: Don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensinn, Owner at Queen's Inn by the River, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Disappointed,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were feeling neglected upon your arrival. Our staff usually gets very high compliments for their attentiveness. If you read some of the previous reviews you will see that our staff are more than happy to help or offer ANY assistance to our guests upon arrival and throughout their stay. We offer a light continental breakfast as stated on our website. As for our rooms, they are cleaned each and EVERY day with fresh linens, floors vacuumed, rooms dusted, bathrooms cleaned, disinfected with fresh soaps and towels provided. Carpet stains happen on occasion due to coffee or liquid spills. We try to get our cleaning service in as soon as these carpet casualties occur.
Once again, Thank you for your review.
Best Regards,
Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The name of this motel gives a misleading impression of what to expect. It is really a motel - not a fancy inn and the river is really a little stream a few hundred yards down a hill and not visible from the rooms. The rooms are large with limited facilities and the breakfast provided was basic.
We felt that the price was quite high for the standard of the room - but probably compared to other places in the Yosemite area - the size of the room and its facilities were pretty good. It is about a 30 minute drive to the south entrance of Yosemite.
One of the best thing about the Queen's Inn is that it was situated just behind the Sweetwater Restaurant which is a fantastic place - and you can walk to and roll back down the hill very easily afterwards!
The manager of the Queen's Inn (Dave) was very a nice and helpful guy. We grew to like the place but our initial impression was that it wasn't as grand as we were led to believe by the name and the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwenjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and found the place to be a good place to explore the Yosemite Park. The place is a renovated Motel so it still has that motel-style but it is tucked away from the street and has a really nice garden on the back. All rooms have a patio facing the big garden in which a small stream is running and which we found really relaxing.

Rooms and bathrooms are quite big and wheelchair-accessible. The Inn is located a few minutes drive from the village of Oakhurst with restaurants and supermarkets. The entrance to Yosemite is about 40 Minutes drive and Yosemite village about 1.5 hours away.

All in all a good place. Compared to other places in Oakhurst we thought this was one of the best options. Staff was friendly and helpful too. But: The breakfast is a joke. Prepare to buy some outside.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sodasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This very quiet motel in Oakhurst, CA is a low to medium priced gem. For about $130 a night including a large comfortable room, a continental breakfast, wireless internet access, access to their very nice wine bar in late April and about 13 miles from S. Yosemite, it is a huge value! Although I'm pretty sure this is not a regular occurrence, we also had a GREAT Friday night jazz concert on the wine bar terrace. For us, this was a WOW. The only negative - it is off Hwy 41, out of site, and the signage is difficult to spot. Pay attention to the street address instead of looking for a sign.

Room Tip: They are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakeTahoeTomT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night while on business in Oakhurst. Nice spot! Winery on premise makes some great wines! The also have a very interesting beer assortment in the bar. The rooms are awesome and really clean. Great place for a couple and gay friendly

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPMeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our time touring Yosemite was enhanced by evenings and mornings at Queen's Inn. We stayed in Room 5 and enjoyed solitude there for two days. We had pleasant conversation with the desk clerk each morning while enjoying oatmeal, fresh fruits and muffins. The lobby is furnished like a cabin with numerous books about the area and lovely photographs framed with barn wood. The room had a comfortable king-sized bed that would be suitable for a very tall guest. It was spacious, furnished sparingly. The microwave and refrigerator were in a closet by the front door. The closet was large enough to store luggage, thus making it easy to keep the room tidy. The bathroom has a triangular soaking tub with overhead shower head. The grounds behind the inn, accessible from the porch, were beautiful. This is a tranquil and romantic place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 5 is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galoshes2Heels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.7 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
622 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sierra Sky Ranch
Sierra Sky Ranch
#4 of 10 in Oakhurst
267 reviews
8.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Inn by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Inn by the River

Address: 41139 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9403
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range: $74 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Queen's Inn by the River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 13 miles from the Southern entrance to Yosemite National Park and seven miles from Bass Lake; relax at the new Queen's Inn on five landscaped and wooded acres along the river. Each beautifully appointed room has its own deck or patio. Enjoy a light continental breakfast in the morning. Be sure to visit our Wine & Beer Garden with its selection of over seventy-five wines and many imported beers, open Wed-Saturday evenings from 4-10 pm. Guests receive complimentary wine tasting in our onsite boutique winery, Idle Hour Winery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Queen's Inn by the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oakhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing