We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value and quiet” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen's Inn by the River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Queen's Inn by the River
Ranked #5 of 10 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value and quiet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to Yosemite. It is about an hour away from the entrance to the park. There is a winery next door to the hotel with free tastings for guests. The hotel serves a minimal continental breakfast in the morning. It also has a wine bar. The rooms are nothing special. Ours had no cups, and there are no coffee makers. Breakfast doesn't start until 7:30 and we are early risers, so coffee in the room would have been nice. The location is pretty and very quiet. There was WiFi available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    70
    20
    13
    4
See reviews for
29
139
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel. For the price, location, and quality, it can't be beat. Rooms are fresh, comfortable and very clean. Recently renovated, it has a more modern feel than most of the rest of town. We had the Petite Syrah room; it wasn't the largest room, but still had plenty of space for us to spread out and comfortably fit our 13-month-old's portable crib. The back deck was fantastic for watching sun sets and listening to the live music on the wine bar's patio. Awesome atmosphere and peaceful setting. Easy drive to the south gate of Yosemite and plenty of local options for food, gas, etc after spending the day in the park. The owners are personable as well. Very friendly at check-in, at breakfast, and more than accommodating to our requests. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here after spending the day in Yosemite. It's about 45 mins from the south gate, and, whilst a little difficult to spot initially, just what we needed. The room was huge and comfortable, with a good shower. The room was clean and every room has a terrace with a table and chairs to enjoy the location. Free WiFi and a simple breakfast n the garden topped things off. Not the lap of luxury, but clean, comfortable, quirky and good value.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here two nights and really enjoyed it. Good rooms and good bathrooms. Breakfast is minimal and I cannot really make a fair comment on customer services because I did not call upon staff at any point. Wifi is non existence but who cares when you are at Yosemite. I would stay again and recommend this place. It's about 30 minutes from Yosemite park entrance.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Centre p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in the petite syrah room during a recent trip to Yosemite. The hotel is clean, and modern though with a rustic feel with fireplaces, and patios that open up to the creek behind the motel. The front desk staff was really helpful, and when my husband and I bought a bottle of wine though realized we didn't have an opener, they opened up the winery for us (even though it was closed), to open the bottle for us, and provided us with nice wine glasses and a wine stopper to use while we were there.

The beer garden is beautiful, though closed on the days we were there (Mon-Weds). Staying in Oakhurst was ideal as it had gas stations, restaurants, grocery stores etc to make our trip comfortable. We were between staying here and Tenaya Lodge, though the price difference was substantial and I liked the location of being in Oakhurst. Great hotel and we'll definitely recommend to friends and family visiting Yosemite.

Make sure you use GPS because it can be a bit hard to find.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank lam389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at Queens Inn as part of our yosemite trip. While it was a bit difficult to find, we found it to be a peaceful, restful inn. The grounds has well tended flower beds, which make the place feel homey and each of the 8 rooms had it's own deck or patio. We could sit on the deck in the am and look at the river while having coffee. The room size was adequate and the bathroom was a nice size, well maybe a bit more counter space would have been nice. Very clean though and the bed was comfortable.
We did have a glass of wine at the wine garden, but once served, the girl tending bar sort of ignored us. The guy in the lobby in the am was nice though.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, United States
Level Contributor
212 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed hear for three nights and had a good time . the small motel is owner run and they try pretty hard . Its an out of the way place and it has a nice creek behind it . We found it to be clean and everything worked after a bit of help . This place has its own beer and wine garden as well as live music on the weekend. To be fair its a little expensive and expect to drive anyplace you might want to go . It is hard to find without gps as its not on the highway but it is close to Yosemite and the tour buses will pick you up there. We probably would stay here again if places downtown oakhurst were full

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.7 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
24.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
23.2 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
24.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Inn by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Inn by the River

Property: Queen's Inn by the River
Address: 41139 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9403
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Queen's Inn by the River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 13 miles from the Southern entrance to Yosemite National Park and seven miles from Bass Lake; relax at the new Queen's Inn on five landscaped and wooded acres along the river. Each beautifully appointed room has its own deck or patio. Enjoy a light continental breakfast in the morning. Be sure to visit our Wine & Beer Garden with its selection of over seventy-five wines and many imported beers, open Wed-Saturday evenings from 4-10 pm. Guests receive complimentary wine tasting in our onsite boutique winery, Idle Hour Winery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Queen's Inn by the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oakhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing