We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You bet we'll be back!”
Review of Oakridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oakridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak View
Reviewed March 9, 2011

The Inn was perfectly centered for our trip with the Island Packers to the Channel Islands and the concert at the Santa Barbara Bowl, plus some wonderful hikes in the Ojai Valley. Not to mention a great day trip to a few wineries. We loved the Spool...what a great way to end the perfect day. You're not gambling if you're staying here...it's a sure thing! The awesome oatmeal cookies definitely made up for the the green bananas. Thanks Sottt!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deadcrow68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 75 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2011

We rented 9 rooms on President Day weekend and we all had great stay. First, we were going to camp out but due to the rain we decided to stay in motel nearby. We checked out some motel rates in Ojai area and found Oakridge Inn to be the closest and most reasonable (Lake casitas staff also recommended this motel). Front desk clerk was very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxdustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

Super clean and organized. Greatest maid service. Good rates. continental breakfast with adequate selection--just enough. Close to Ojai and Ventura. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camelotian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Conveniently located just next to Ojai and off the main road. Person at the reception nice.
Spacious room, relatively clean. 2 double beds, a microwave, a fridge, a bath tub and a TV with 100 channels.
Calm during the night but noise starts at 7:00am (thin ceiling and walls).
Perfect for a one-night stay.
Our room was equipped for the elderly (handrails) which is the first time we saw this.
There is only a small breakfast but there was a coffee maker in the room.
There are 2 nearby supermarkets but there is mainly a large choice of beer so if you need to buy something specific, buy it before.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

If you must stay near Ojai and don't want to spend the $$$$$ on a boutique place, this is about it. There prices are lower than many of the local places. This is an older motel and it shows it's age. The rooms were ok. The showers are only about five feet high, so unless you are shorter than this you have to contort to get your head wet.
The one person staff seemed too busy to take care of the place and the customers. He was on a 15 min break when we arrived and we waited a half hour before deciding to try later. We asked if the hot tub was on and the manager told us he'd turn it on. We came back 2-3 hours later and he forgot.
I recommend staying in Ventura, you'll get a better value at a lower price. Well worth the extra 15 minute drive to avoid the overpriced 'Ojai valley' experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlinus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

I made my reservation over a month before my arrival on phone with owner, Scott. He had told me that he would have to charge my card ASAP to get the special rate he was offering. He gave me a confirmation # & told me that I would be unable to cancel the reservation.
I was fine with all this...until...
I show up about 8:30pm to find out that he has given my room away to someone else EVEN THOUGH I HAD A CONFIRMATION #! So, it is a Friday night...and I have no room. When inquiring why he cancelled my room...he told me that my credit card was declined.
He said that he had called, but that the call didn't leave him an option to leave a message...I do have voicemail. I always check my messages. So he just didn't leave a message or even try to call back. This is bad business. PLUS, HE DIDN'T CHARGE MY CARD WHEN HE SAID WOULD, BUT WAITED ABOUT 3 WEEKS TO DO SO.
The whole time he wouldn't look me in the eye like he had made up this story.
*Later, I checked with my credit card company about the possible decline & they said an attempt to run the card had occurred...but it was not necessarily declined...so who knows ?

So, I settle on another room...the refrigerator & coffeemaker were in the bathroom...GROSS! Who wants to store their food in the bathroom?
I get everything into the new room...and go to put my food in the BATHROOM REFRIGERATOR...and I move an electrical in doing so...and a ROACH runs out.

When I mention that I saw a roach, he mutters something to himself ... like he knew that there had been a problem with them? He wasn't surprised that there were roaches.

He did give me a refund easily. Though, I find the whole situation inexcusable & just plain bad business.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorelei44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sincereman, Manager at Oakridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2010

As stated by this guest I had no problem refunding her Credit card for this misunderstanding. Being that the Guest was questioning my sincerity from the get go about the Credit card being declined, I felt it was just best not to debate or argue with her further.
My guess is this person made up the story about the one Roach in the room because she was already upset about the Credit card and only wanted a full refund, which I glady obliged and gave her, as stated.
I do my best to accommodate and make my guest happy, if for any reason they are not, I will gladly refund them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

It's so much cheaper to stay in Oak View rather than Ojai, and considering Ojai is maybe 10 min. away at the most, it's not a big deal. Arriving there and getting the key was super easy, the room was small, but to be expected. It smelled and looked clean, and the microwave and fridge were a great convenience. The bathroom was huge for some reason (one queen bed room). It's within walking distance to restaurants (like just a few steps), one of them a great pizza place. The pool is weird ... it's like a giant hot tub. But the staff guy (manager?) turned it on for us when he happened to pass by as we were going out to the spa. He said to wait half an hour and it'd be hot. So we did and it was still not really warm, but fun nonetheless. The only complaint I have is that people had a discussion outside our room at like 8 Saturday morning. You know how hotel walls/doors are. And then that same person, our next door neighbor, got home at like 3 that night and seemed to have lost her dog. Quite loud about it, but that's not the motel's fault.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak View
5.3 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
509 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Oaks at Ojai
The Oaks at Ojai
#3 of 5 in Ojai
187 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
10.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
4.4 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakridge Inn

Address: 780 Ventura Ave, Hwy 33, Oak View, CA 93022-9657
Location: United States > California > Oak View
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak View
Price Range: $80 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Oakridge Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oakridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakridge Hotel Oak View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing