We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting”
Review of Riley's Farm

Riley's Farm
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Oak Glen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This working apple orchard is also a living history farm, that includes Colonial Chesterfield, a Civil War program, a packing shed operation, Riley's Log Cabin Farm and Riley's Frontier Events.
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Food was good and not overpriced. It is in a unique setting which makes eating there more of an experience. I would like to get out there again someday

Helpful?
Thank AvrilSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    10
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fun for kids and adults”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Loved walking the trails and picking apples from their orchards. The country store had apple samples to choose from as well as jams, jellies, candies, apple pies and a small restaurant and bakery. They sponser special events throughout the year and have gospel sings and square dances each month, January through November.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jerihansvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast
Level Contributor
204 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 546 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This used to be the place to go for Apples and even raspberries(earlier in the year). But, something happened and it is no longer this quaint personal place and now has become this place that changed everything about it, including everyone dressing up in colonial attire.
Prior to this change, you used to be able to drive up to the barn and they had a small general store, and a bakery, they also had a pen that had small animals in it.
Now, you have to park in a huge parking lot, pay a fee and ride on the back of a trailer that has hay bales on it, This is great if you are a kid, but when I asked if I could drive up to the barn, because my dad is unable to climb on things like that, and were basically told it was that or nothing.
I will never go back there. There are other places that cater to people other than kids, who I will spend my money with.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CentralCoastWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bakersfield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A day of 'let's pretend'”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

3 ladies and 4 pre-adolesent girls with colonial costumes all packed into a van headed off for adventure at Riley's Farm. Arriving just before 11:00 we found our way to an area set aside for archery and hatchet throwing, which the girls were quite good at! Dipping candles was next on the agenda followed by a visit to the apple orchards where we discovered trees heavy with beautiful Golden Delicious, Gala, Gravenstein, Winesap, Pippin and Rome Beauty apples, along with lovely pears. The girls ran from tree to tree, jumping to reach the best & most beautiful apples and then scrambled to pick up what came tumbling down in the grass to put into our box.
We picknicked on a blanket and drank freshly pressed cider.
In the evening we prepared for the Sleepy Hollow dinner show by dressing up ourselves. Shifts, stays, 'ugly puffer', skirt, jacket, and apron were put on along with shoes & stockings and topped by a white cap. The finishing touch was the hooded cape and we were off again.
Our dinner was generous, and well prepared with corn chowder as a starter. The lights dimmed and the play began... Dinner of tri-tip, chicken, corn on the cob, baked potato, biscuit, salad, and dessert - dancing - pumpkin carving - pumpkin seed spitting contest - and a headless horseman too!
All i can say is that memories were made, never to be forgotten.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank teresa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Civil war reenactment left our kids inspired and in awe.”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We took 19 kids ages 9-13 to Riley's Farm for a 4 hour history lesson. Uh, what a "blast", you might be sarcastically thinking and I can see how this type of thing could have gone horribly wrong. But Riley's Farm has it down. Those kids were running through fields and hiding in bushes. The leader was able to include them appropriately and then conclude with a storytelling session that brought tears.
They all were engaged and moved by the innovative handling of this tragic war's history.

Helpful?
2 Thank Snoopydance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riley's Farm also viewed

 

Been to Riley's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing