We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a disappointment!!!!”
Review of Rickey's

Rickey's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rickey's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 135 Restaurants in Novato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ignacio Blvd.
Transit: Golden Gate Transit Ignacio Blvd Novato 49, 54, 70, 71, 80
Novato, California, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“what a disappointment!!!!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

this is a "must not visit" restaurant!!!. My wife and I went for dinner this week and I couldnt believe the meal. I ordered the rack of lamb ( $29). What I received was 5 tiny lamb chops each the size of a quarter.....very small portion for $29 ....Their red wine cab. is also a short pour and service was slow. Needless to say that will be my last visit

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    41
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Have eaten at Rickey's several times in the past few months. Food is always good, servers are very friendly and professional. Atmosphere is energetic and happy. Ambiance is charming and inviting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KBcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilbolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A great all-rounder!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We’ve had a couple of very delightful meals here and intend to go again on our next trip to Novato in a few weeks’ time. We visit the bay area from the UK as often as we can and, almost always pop in here for a great dinner. They serve fabulous food, with very good service, it’s comfortable with friendly helpful staff and has a great ambience. Can highly recommend this as a great place to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofisticat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Something for everyone--and well prepared”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Five of us had dinner at Rickey's on a Saturday night, and we all gave it a thumbs-up. Collectively, we had the calamari, chicken skewers, asparagus salad (beautiful presentation, topped with a generous portion of prociutto), salmon bisque, fettuccini, risotto, penne Bolognese, and "Rickey's hamburger." It was great to see a menu that had so much to offer--including very reasonably priced "small portions" for those of us who don't like to leave food on our plates! Service was attentive and friendly, and the jazz combo added a nice, upbeat touch to a pleasant dining experience. Whether or not you're staying at the attached Inn Marin (a great place, by the way), Rickey's is a very good choice in an area with lots of options. And since it's right off Highway 101 (you can see it easily from the highway), it's a nice place to stop before heading into (or through) San Francisco.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kamala4812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Someone else used the term "Modest Gourmet"...I'd agree!!”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had a Groupon that I bought while visiting Marin and had planned to use it on Monday but found out that they were closed on Mondays. Since I didn't want to leave without using it my husband and I snuck out for a date! :) The atmosphere was nice...fireplace, comfortable mission-style chairs at tables or booths. The lighting was fantastic with spotlights on the place-settings (different!!). I ordered off of the "lighter" portion menu (I ALWAYS appreciate a restaurant that offers a smaller portion). I had scallops on polenta with asparagus. Lovely presentation. My husband had a Korean pork chop...also lovely (and delicious)! We both had the refreshing cucumber martini (we thought it was a little light for $10). Really we didn't have a single complaint. Very nice date! (And there was at least one family with children in a booth and they also seemed to be having a very nice time.)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClawMarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rickey's also viewed

Novato, Marin County
Novato, Marin County
 
 
Novato, Marin County
 

Been to Rickey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing