We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's 2013, wouldn't you like to be part of it?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Rickey's

Rickey's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rickey's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 135 Restaurants in Novato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ignacio Blvd.
Transit: Golden Gate Transit Ignacio Blvd Novato 49, 54, 70, 71, 80
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's 2013, wouldn't you like to be part of it?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The menu and decor was screaming 1980. It's time to move on. The menu was from the '80's. The food was boring. The prime rib was slathered in a thick gelatinous mess (throw the cornstarch away). The entertainment was good, but not the food. The drinks were less than average. Come on, the 21st gastronomical century is great...give it a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    40
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A special birthday dinner for two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We loved it there for a special birthday meal, fantastic chef, great service. Friday night they had live music. Very relaxing and special!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delicious food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had a party of eight (8) and everyone loved their dinner.
Delicious dinner at a great price includes a nice glass of wine!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrankyW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Ambience, Erratic Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This restaurant has a lovely, clubby feel and good service but my experience with the food was erratic. I enjoyed a beautiful salmon bisque, delicately flavored, creamy, buttery texture but was very disappointed in the bacon wrapped scallops with polenta. The bacon was of mediocre quality and freshness, the scallops were small and overdone, the sauce was bland as was the polenta. The two members of the party that ordered salmon had perfectly cooked salmon and their sides were tasty. The red meat members of the party had mixed experience, one was quite satisfied while the other was mildly disappointed and my taste of that dish indicated the meat was tender but had a bland flavor.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WHAT AN EXCELLENT PARTY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I recently planned a party for my husbands birthday.Rickey's Restaurant in Novato ,CA,which has always been a favorite of ours, but until I planned this party, I had no idea how great they are!
They helped me every step of the way with the planning of this event for sixteen people, and the nite of the party,even though there was a very large event occurring in the larger Garden Room, we were treated like we were the only diners there! The new chef and his kitchen prepared the most wonderful meals! I had the smoked prime rib and never have I had such a fine meal! Everyone at the table was so pleased with everything: the meal , the service and the atmosphere(we sat in front of the huge fireplace!)the music(they had the most wonderful trio!), that we have decided to throw this party every year!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donna_messic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rickey's also viewed

Novato, Marin County
Novato, Marin County
 
 
Novato, Marin County
 

Been to Rickey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing