We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Courtyard Stay - reasonable distance to Napa/Sonoma”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Typical Courtyard Stay - reasonable distance to Napa/Sonoma”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

I stayed at this Courtyard for one night in September 2008 with a friend. This was our launching point for a day trip to Napa/Sonoma. Everything about the stay reflected what I've come to expect from a Courtyard -- easy check in, clean and comfortable room, nothing especially fancy. A reasonable distance to Napa/Sonoma - although if I were staying multiple nights I might consider paying a little more to stay closer to the wineries.

Hotel is very close to a grocery store and other shopping mall, and the highway. Not exactly a scenic location but very practical.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cweis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    80
    45
    7
    6
See reviews for
39
50
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

My husband and I stayed here on Halloween night and the following night for a getaway to wine country and the coast. Our stay was good, not great, like in past Courtyard stays. On Halloween night at 1am, in the rain, the hotel fire alarm went off and we dressed and walked down three flights of stairs to join the other guests under the front awning. We watched four fire vehicles arrive, who never found a fire. Thirty minutes later, we were allowed back to our rooms. Nothing was ever said to us. The bed was almost too firm, and one needed to pile the five little pillows in a way so that you have enough support. I got a kink in my neck the first night. The housekeeper discovered our slow shower drain after the first night, so we didn't have standing water the second day. Maybe we just had bad luck.

  • Liked — Proximity to wine country, the coast, and SF
  • Disliked — Fire alarm at 1am, too-firm bed, small pillows
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TEW49ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

Annoyances:

I requested a fridge and it did not work. They desk said to wait until tomorrow. ( I checked in on Sunday). I am traveling with a toddler it is helpful to have juice for a baby.


I am a Silver Elite with Marriott, they would not give us another room or swap the fridge.

  • Liked — Decent location
  • Disliked — No fridge
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lbhtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

We tried to find a Hotel in the area for an Infineon event that was in May. Unfortunately something else must have been in the area because everything was booked! Even though at the first call they were booked the receptionist took my number and called me to book the room I needed. They are always more than accommodating when we stay there. Their staff is always lovely. If you are planning on going to the North Bay area or wine country, you should consider them!

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cjeantrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2008

This was a fairly typical Courtyard--clean, relatively quiet, decent breakfast buffet.

Pro's: The location for exploring the Sonoma Coast (Point Reyes, Tomales Bay, Bodega Bay) and Sonoma wine country was perfect, with a much lower price than options located in Wine Country ($169 incl. breakfast.) Driving time to Napa and Sonoma Valleys was quite reasonable, even on the weekend.

The front desk folks were extremely helpful (concierge-level) in providing restaurant menus, maps to various wineries, driving directions, and intinerary suggestions.

Con's: our sheets weren't changed every day, which I have come to expect at this mid-level range. There was no sign in the room notifying guests of the practice, and no "if you want sheets changed leave this note on your bed" option. Sort of unusual.

The thermostat didn't allow a temp lower than 69 degrees, which felt to warm to us. Windows did open, but only a few inches.

  • Liked — location, front desk team
  • Disliked — couldn't get the room cool enough, no warning that linens weren't changed each day
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton Ca
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2008

I travel for a major Media Co. I am on the road all year with the exception of two weeks vacation.I have stayed in several hotels that were below average, average, & above average.
The Courtyard in Novato Ca is exceptional. The staff here, is so accomodating. There was not one request denied. Generally, you will find a few on staff that goe above and beyond. Not this hotel. the whole staff from housekeeping to General Manager and all depts. in between. They even tailored the market on site to please me. Talk about feeling like home and yet staying professional all the way.

I would like everyone to know what a wonderful experience I have had here. 4 months, two weeks.

My choice will be Courtyard in Novato every January when I return. Thank You

  • Liked — The Bed. Very Comfy
  • Disliked — the frig is quite small in the hotel room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank realtor4ever2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2007

We stayed here one night before ending our week-long motorcycle excursion. This hotel was very clean, quiet, comfortable, and a nice transition back to reality. The front desk staff was professional, friendly and helpful. The rooms were nicely furnished and decorated. The beds were wonderful, The pool and grounds were beautiful. Convenient location off the interstate. Not a complaint!
The McDonalds next door was also a welcome sight and right next door! It too was very clean and pleasant.

  • Liked — Clean, warm, comfortable, location
  • Disliked — A little expensive.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novato
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn
0.8 mi away
Inn Marin
Inn Marin
#3 of 6 in Novato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
12.5 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
7.9 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma

Property: Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma
Address: 1400 N Hamilton Pkwy, Novato, CA 94949-6278
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway to the Wine Country, Sonoma Raceway, and business communities of Novato and San Rafael, our hotel is designed to serve both leisure and business guests. To remain productive during your stay, take advantage of our innovative lounge, which includes private media booths, community tables, an interactive GoBoard, and 24-hour Starbucks coffee. Our plush mattresses with downy bedding, ergonomic desk chairs, indoor spa, fitness center, and heated pool provide the essential level of comfort and convenience you deserve during your stay. And if that's not enough, you can multiply your options with the convenience of the MarinAirporter and local shopping and dining alternatives within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma Hotel Novato
Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma CA - Marin County
Novato Marriott
Novato Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing