We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very Satisfied & Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Satisfied & Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I unexpectedly had to layover in Novato and was pleased to find a Marriott that was convenient. I was very surprised and satisfied with the facility. It is in a great location, easy to get to, convenient freeway access and best of all, the staff was really fantastic. better than most JW's I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Forth Floor facing East is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    75
    41
    6
    6
See reviews for
36
47
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

First I must commend the welcome at the hotel - Penny (hope I have remembered her name correctly) greeted me, efficient check in and told me to come back for local dining recommendations. dropped bags off in room, and was directed to good dining (Toast - reviewed separately). On return to room noticed that it was noisier than expected (I'd phoned ahead earlier in day to request a quiet room). I looked out of window and saw that I was directly above (rm 428) fans for hotel / pool area. Went back down to desk, was greeted by name by Penny who promptly switched my room to one further along corridor, which was quiet.

This hotel is a Courtyard, reception area has been remodelled in the new style, but I don't think the rooms have, they also have the usual, insubstantial corporate pillows. So room was as expected, but quiet despite of being there over the weekend I had a good nights sleep (jet lag excepted) each night.

I'd use again if in area.

Room Tip: Lower numbered rooms are better (away from freeway). Room 28 on each floor will be above pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, CA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in Feb. It was a typical comfortable Courtyard experience. The lobby was clean and modern. Decent sized room and bathroom. Very comfortable bed. Cheap quality towels though!! We had breakfast included in our room rate, so we ate downstairs in the lobby area. Breakfast was ample and satisfying while not gourmet by any means. There are a few eating choices in the vicinity. We had dinner at a Thai restaurant about a mile or two away, which was highly rated on this site. Overall, we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Although we prefer Residence Inn, this was the only Marriott in the area that was included in a free night promo. We used it simply as a place to rest during our two-week road trip. We remembered why Courtyard is not our favorite, as it's tailored more towards business class. The rooms are small, but Marriott clean and very friendly staff. There is a Marriott-priced restaurant in the lobby, but there is also a grocery store and a few restaurants nearby. The hotel is near the main road, so light sleepers should request a quiet room. Fine for a one-night stay and you can't go wrong with Marriott.

Room Tip: Rooms away from main road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lost175lbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is actually owned and operated by Marriott International (versus an owner licensing the Marriott brand), which means the quality is just as the Marriott family intended.

What's good:
1. Great beds
2. Convenient market and common rooms
3. 24/7 gym
4. Excellent staff
5. Super close to a mall with really great food - try Toast (5-minute walk)

What's not good:
1. Not much to say
2. Not a luxury experience by any stretch of the imagination, but a very comfortable, clean, well-appointed stay. You really can't go wrong with this one.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to avoid noise from cars passing by
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninja1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Utah
Level Contributor
211 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

never understood the differences between marriott and courtyard, but this is a pretty good place for its price. convenient, not too far away. safeway is nearby, even though the choice of restaurants is limited. hot tub and gym work fine. overall good value, but not as good as marriott fisherman wharf in SF.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yyyzzz_utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello and thank you for choosing Marriott for your recent visit in Novato. Marriott operates twenty different brands to meet the needs of the individual traveler. Courtyards are specifically designed for the business traveler and provide convenience and efficiency to our guests during their stay. A Marriott full-service such as the property that you referenced in Fisherman's Warf is also an excellent property. We are pleased that you enjoyed our locations and were satisfied by the value of your stay. Please consider us again in your future travels.
Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel is great, but a VERY ANNOYING thing about it is that if you choose to watch a movie and pay $17 for it, ya can't HEAR IT! The MAXIMUM sound on the television is RIDICULOUSLY LOW! I know people don't stay at hotels to rent movies and/or watch tv, but in the evening, when winding down, it's nice to maybe watch tv or a movie and I can't tell you how frustrating it was to not be able to hear it clearly! It's even worse if there is some noise coming from outside or the room next door! It doesn't seem important until you are trying to watch something. Bring your own entertainment device...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happygma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear about this difficulty with the TV volume. We certainly understand your frustration. Should you ever undergo a similar situation, we welcome you to inform our staff, so that we may rectify the issue. Marriott considers quality service and comfort paramount for our guests during their stay. Should you have any further comments or questions, we request that you contact us directly. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that, ultimately, you were satisfied with our location and the hospitality of our staff. We hope that you consider us again in your future travels.
Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novato
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn
0.8 mi away
Inn Marin
Inn Marin
#3 of 6 in Novato
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
4.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
5.3 mi away
Days Inn Novato/San Francisco
7.9 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma

Property: Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma
Address: 1400 N Hamilton Pkwy, Novato, CA 94949-6278
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway to the Wine Country, Sonoma Raceway, and business communities of Novato and San Rafael, our hotel is designed to serve both leisure and business guests. To remain productive during your stay, take advantage of our innovative lounge, which includes private media booths, community tables, an interactive GoBoard, and 24-hour Starbucks coffee. Our plush mattresses with downy bedding, ergonomic desk chairs, indoor spa, fitness center, and heated pool provide the essential level of comfort and convenience you deserve during your stay. And if that's not enough, you can multiply your options with the convenience of the MarinAirporter and local shopping and dining alternatives within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma Hotel Novato
Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma CA - Marin County
Novato Marriott
Novato Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing