We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“pretty good for the price, except for some noise from the highway and airport transporter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Certificate of Excellence
Murray, Utah
Level Contributor
221 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“pretty good for the price, except for some noise from the highway and airport transporter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

never understood the differences between marriott and courtyard, but this is a pretty good place for its price. convenient, not too far away. safeway is nearby, even though the choice of restaurants is limited. hot tub and gym work fine. overall good value, but not as good as marriott fisherman wharf in SF.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yyyzzz_utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello and thank you for choosing Marriott for your recent visit in Novato. Marriott operates twenty different brands to meet the needs of the individual traveler. Courtyards are specifically designed for the business traveler and provide convenience and efficiency to our guests during their stay. A Marriott full-service such as the property that you referenced in Fisherman's Warf is also an excellent property. We are pleased that you enjoyed our locations and were satisfied by the value of your stay. Please consider us again in your future travels.
Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    77
    42
    7
    6
See reviews for
37
48
11
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel is great, but a VERY ANNOYING thing about it is that if you choose to watch a movie and pay $17 for it, ya can't HEAR IT! The MAXIMUM sound on the television is RIDICULOUSLY LOW! I know people don't stay at hotels to rent movies and/or watch tv, but in the evening, when winding down, it's nice to maybe watch tv or a movie and I can't tell you how frustrating it was to not be able to hear it clearly! It's even worse if there is some noise coming from outside or the room next door! It doesn't seem important until you are trying to watch something. Bring your own entertainment device...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happygma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear about this difficulty with the TV volume. We certainly understand your frustration. Should you ever undergo a similar situation, we welcome you to inform our staff, so that we may rectify the issue. Marriott considers quality service and comfort paramount for our guests during their stay. Should you have any further comments or questions, we request that you contact us directly. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that, ultimately, you were satisfied with our location and the hospitality of our staff. We hope that you consider us again in your future travels.
Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Marriott Courtyards remodeled their properties over the past few years. They now have a clean, minimalist decor and all look very similar. This particular property was a 10 in cleanliness and front desk check-in. I now prefer the King extended room over the regular-size rooms. It does make a difference. We have stayed at the Best Western Plus in Novato (loud freeway noise and dark halkways) and Embassy Suites in San Rafael (rooms worn and outdated). We like this hotel best for the area.

Negatives: I agree with another reviewer that the Jacuzzi is oddly situated in a small room, with a full wall of windows looking into the workout room. Makes a person feel a bit self-conscious. Also, the towels are thin and rough. PLEASE get better towels Courtyard Marriott!! The restaurant is very limited. I recommend 'Toast' for breakfast or lunch, one exit North on 101.


Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MistyFog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our newly remodeled lobby and Bistro. We are sorry, however, that you were not wholly satisfied with our towels and the location of our spa. We are in the process of phasing out our old towels and replacing them with our new towels, which are both soft and durable. Thank you for your suggestion concerning our Extended King guest rooms. The spacious design and additional amenities of these rooms certainly provides an extra level of comfort to one’s stay. Please come stay with us again soon.
Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Staff was helpfull to guiding us places. The lobby was very nice. In this area all the prices are high. Good location to San Fransico and the vineyards. A good "chain" place to stay. There is not alot of things within walking distance, although there is a McDonalds. We were with friends so we could sit and visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that your stay with us was satisfactory; our location is certainly a major asset to our hotel. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for four days during our trip to SFO. We wanted someplace nicer near the city without city prices. The front desk staff upon arrival were completely useless. We arrived early and had to wait a half hour to check in since housekeeping won't update the room list until 12:30. We asked about transportation into the city and both of the desk clerks had no idea of any options and referred us to the computers in the lobby to seek it out ourselves. Our room was near the back so we never went through the lobby again. We left in the morning for sightseeing and came home in the evening to relax. The pool area at this propery is really great. There is a lovely firepit with chairs around it for relaxing in the evening. The hot tub is inside and surrounded by windows. It was a weird feeling to get in and have everyone in the workout room watching you as well as the hotel lobby. We didn't go back. The rooms are spacious and adequate. The beds and linens were wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. The room rate was pricey but it is Napa so I figured it would be high. Not as expensive as staying in the city, so that was a plus. We loved the breakfast place located right behind the hotel in the Safeway shopping center, "toast". It is a perfect breakfast spot. If traveling through the area, we would probably stay again.

Room Tip: A room in the back that overlooks the pool is a nice choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauLeePop3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about your initial interaction, but are pleased that you found your room comfortable and the adjacent shopping center convenient and enjoyable. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you consider us again in your future travels.

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was travelling on business for an event at the Sonoma Raceway and stayed here due to the proximity. The room rate was quite high for a Courtyard Marriott but I believe it was due to the race. The front desk staff were very helpful and hospitable. Thank you to the General Manager who allowed my boxes of supplies to occupy his office before my arrival! The room was comfortable and clean, I was well rested in the morning. It was nice to be able to enjoy a Starbucks latte before my event each morning...great plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcCorporateEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased that you found your room comfortable and our staff accommodating and hospitable. Lastly, I was very happy to accommodate your supply boxes and please come stay with us again soon!

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

A typically fine chain biz hotel along the lines of a Hilton Garden Inn. Nice lobby. Some parts of the room a bit tired, but certainly acceptable. This hotel is located close enough to the Napa wine valley and close enough to San Francisco to make both a destination, by car. I suppose that is what you're paying for as it was a good $60 or so more than what I'd usually expect to be charged for such a night's stay. Stay off the freeway side for best quiet. The convenient part about this hotel is that it's right in the middle of a shopping area. McDonald's next door. Safeway grocery store. Gas station. And several non-chain, strip-mall restaurants that are pretty good. Nice staff. Everything I want and expect in a chain biz hotel. Just make sure the room rate is OK for you. If there were a similar competitor just up the road, and cheaper, I'd go the extra distance.

Room Tip: Stay off the freeway side for best quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TVH350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were not wholly satisfied with your stay. We are pleased, however, that you found the nearby Hamilton Marketplace and the close vicinity of San Francisco and the Wine Country to be so convenient.

Tim H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novato
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn
0.8 mi away
Inn Marin
Inn Marin
#3 of 6 in Novato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
4.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
7.9 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
5.3 mi away
Days Inn Novato/San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma

Property: Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma
Address: 1400 N Hamilton Pkwy, Novato, CA 94949-6278
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway to the Wine Country, Sonoma Raceway, and business communities of Novato and San Rafael, our hotel is designed to serve both leisure and business guests. To remain productive during your stay, take advantage of our innovative lounge, which includes private media booths, community tables, an interactive GoBoard, and 24-hour Starbucks coffee. Our plush mattresses with downy bedding, ergonomic desk chairs, indoor spa, fitness center, and heated pool provide the essential level of comfort and convenience you deserve during your stay. And if that's not enough, you can multiply your options with the convenience of the MarinAirporter and local shopping and dining alternatives within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma Hotel Novato
Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma CA - Marin County
Novato Marriott
Novato Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing