We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey Roadside Motel”
Review of Inn Marin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn Marin
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Novato
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Inn Marin is definitely a blast from the past -- in a good way! The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is fresh & adequate in a nice setting. The lobby is a homey place to relax by the fire. The rooms are clean and you can't beat the rate!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the highway are very quiet!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownWalloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for Inn Marin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 281 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

Found this hotel while looking for a pet friendly facility and wasn't disappointed. The owners have done a wonderful job restoring the property with green touches/efforts. Room was quite large with comfortable furniture. Realizing that it is a restored motor inn from the 1950's, you understand why the bathrooms are small but again they've done great work with the restoration. There are lawns, chairs, pool (which wasn't heated in Nov), outdoor hot tub, and a multiuser pathway next door to walk the dog on. Note: I think the highway side rooms would be quite noisy and there is a fee for pets.

Room Tip: Avoid the highway side of the hotel
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is not a 4 star hotel - only a 3 - probably. BUT we had a great stay and the hotel met our needs so I'm rating OUR visit at 4. The rooms were clean and the staff was very pleasant. Plus you can't beat the rate (we had a group rate - even a lower rate than the published rate).
The hotel is really a motel - you park your car right outside your door. The property is old, but the owner has done a wonderful job of updating and maintaining the place. The gardens are beautiful. It sits right off the highway - so there is highway noise - all night long - even in the garden rooms (and we could even hear it over our daughter's sound machine). The only protein on the free breakfast buffet was hard boiled eggs. The bathrooms are small with walk-in shower only and no hooks to hang clothes and such, the beds are only double beds (small for those who are use to queen or king size - but rollaway bed are available). No big fluffy down converters either. I would stay there again - probably get a King Room or maybe a suite.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We needed to be in Novato for a family event. So we decided to try Inn Marin. We booked late and ended up having to buy the king jacuzzi suite. It's certainly not what I would call a suite, more like a motel room with a wall between the bed and the couch. The heaters are window units and they are loud. They have the classic "chip of soap" in the bathrooms. The bed was hard as a rock, but it didn't sag. The linens were very basic, and the bedspread, I assume, would be a nightmare if viewed under a black light. We paid $285 for the night with tax for a room that would compete with most highway motels.

The upside is that they are dog friendly, and that is a bonus for us. Breakfast was included, but it was basic toast, coffee, yogurt and cereal. The room was very clean overall. The staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face highway 101. It's right on the freeway.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingTraveler333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Imagine an old road motel that marries a new boutique hotel and you have the vision of Inn Marin. I only wish they'd spent a little more on the bathroom accoutrements -- the mirrors are a bit distorted, the toilet paper holders are cheap and the towel racks do not hold well. It's a bit overpriced but I was there Thanksgiving weekend so perhaps that's why.

The beds and pillows were comfy and there is a wonderful, large pet-friendly, grassy area just outside the door. I imagine it's very Hawaii-like in the warmer season.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kush3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We noticed how close we were to the freeway but many motels have enough sound insulation to block the noise...not this one! We went to bed about 12 o'clock and the freeway was definitely an issue but we put on some sound machines and managed to fall asleep. My wife was up at 3 am when the truck noise started to to get louder. I was up at 5:45. We tried earplugs, headphones...nothing helped. We decided to shower and check out and sleep in the car. We called the front desk...they offered to move us but by then it was too late. Admittedly we should have just moved but it wasn't as bad when we went to bed as it was by 3am. The rooms are actually pretty nice inside, hardwood floors, etc. we were cold because the heater barely worked so we just asked for extra blankets. They were thin but did the trick. Mainly just the freeway noise...unacceptable for a 2 1/2 star hotel.

We booked this through Priceline and accidentally bid $100 for 2 1/2 stars in San Rafael/Mill Valley, not Novato. But this is what we got, way further north than we meant (our fault,) Nevertheless this place is NOT even 2 stars. The freeway noise makes it a cheap 1 star motel (except NOT cheap)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertGM_11, General Manager at Inn Marin, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

I am very sorry you had this experience. The room that you booked through Priceline was a Highway room and is priced at this rate because it is a highway room. Our highway rooms are priced 20-30% lower than our Garden rooms that are away from the highway. It is very unfortunate that price line does not tell you this when you book a room. Just know that Price line sells our rooms for the same rate as we do but they take a 30% commission for booking the room. If you were to book directly on our web site you would have been able to pick a room away from the highway for the same price.
This is very unfortunate and as a hotel operator we dislike working with the third party booking agency’s because they take such a large commission and they do not communicate clearly to their customers what they are selling. When someone books a room through a third party booking agency we do not get any contact information so we are not able to contact the guest to confirm what was booked for them.
My suggestion for you in the future is decide what you are willing to pay for a room then check the third party web sites to see if rooms are available. Then call the property direct and ask them to match the third party web sites rate. The hotel will in most cases match the rate and give you a better room for booking with them directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

After looking at the pictures and reading the anecdotes of country style weddings here, I guess my expectations were set a little too high. The street leading up to the hotel is littered with dilapidated stores and dirty lots. The property itself is fairly well maintained, but the layout gave me the feeling of a cheaper motel. Room was nicely decorated, bed was comfy and shower was clean. Heater had a bit of a smell but I think it just hadn't been used in a while. Overall, if you need an easy place to stay for a couple nights, it's a good choice, but it's more "convenient" than "quaint."

Room Tip: Facing the garden was pretty, but you also have people walking past the room. Try for an end room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateMonster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novato
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Novato Oaks Inn
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma
4.5 mi away
Days Inn Novato/San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
4.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
12.7 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Marin

Address: 250 Entrada Dr, Novato, CA 94949-5574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Price Range: $176 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn Marin 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We care about the comfort of our guests and the environment! Newly designed rooms include state of the art amenities and sustainable materials that make us cutting edge . . . Sustainable bamboo flooring, flat screen TVs in every room, . We have Wifi in our guests rooms of 50+Mbps and 85Mbps wired in all our guest rooms for free. "FREE NO CHARGE" We have also installed Voice over IP allowing us to offer "FREE" phone calls in the continental United States, rainfall showerheads, radios with MP3/I-Pod dock, refrigerators in every room. Garden room - 1200 sq. ft. Garden Patio with beautiful fountain, Inn Marin has 423 Mbps up and down (symmetrical) in its Meeting room and Business Center. Five acre garden setting with large lawn perfect for weddings and company events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Inn Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Marin Hotel Novato
Marin Hotel Novato
Inn Marin Novato, CA - Marin County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing