We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first stop out of SFO”
Review of Inn Marin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn Marin
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Novato
GreenLeadersSilver level
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great first stop out of SFO”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We had not planned to stay here but after being stuck in the mother of all traffic jams coming out of San Francisco we gave up on getting to Lake Tahoe & turned in at the first hotel we saw.
We were very lucky they had a couple of spare rooms thanks to some cancelations. The rooms are large & comfortable with everything you needed. They were motel style with a front & rear door (you park around the back in your designated space right up to the rear door). Although busy the rooms were quiet.
The bar was nice with an excellent bar tender (who's name I forget). She was very friendly & helpful. The restaurant was much nicer than I expected with a good range of choices at reasonable prices. We all enjoyed what we had. If I'm ever heading north after landing at SFO again I will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmatthewsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    86
    33
    11
    19
See reviews for
70
73
28
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We needed an affordable place to stay on our way north after a late-night landing at SFO. We booked through Priceline and got this hotel for about $123. It filled the bill for a quick stay, and the room was clean (other than one random hair on the shower wall) and comfortable. Only thing to complain about - and this has more to do with booking through Priceline - was that we were assigned a room with two double beds, so my husband and I had to sleep in separate beds. We were too tired to go back to the front desk and request a different room when we checked in, but both beds were comfortable. We had the included continental breakfast the next morning, which included fruit, yogurt, bagels, assorted cereals, and a belgian waffle station with pre-made batter. We were on the road the next morning after a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandini0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertGM_11, General Manager at Inn Marin, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing Inn Marin. We appreciate your nice words. I am sorry to hear that you did not get the room type you were looking for. Unfortunately third party web sites are not able to give you a specific room type. In the future if you book on our web site or directly with our front desk we can make sure you get the room type you are looking for.

Thank you for staying at INN MARIN,

Robert :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for two nights while attending a friend's wedding in Sonoma. The hotel is quite well-kept, has free wifi and continental breakfast, and allows dogs to stay for a small fee ($10 per pet per night). The grounds are very lovely (we did not take advantage of the pool), with a fountain and a large grassy area where we could walk our dogs. Not necessarily the most economic hotel, but when you factor in the money we saved in not having to board our dogs at a kennel, we think we did quite well in the exchange. We will come again the next time we need to overnight in the area.

Room Tip: We were in the back - maybe 100 feet from the lawn area, but far from the street and highway.
See more room tips
Green Features: Separated garbage, promoted reuse of linens, energy-saving lights in the bathroom. Plants looked somewhat water-efficient.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregVB_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding. The grounds are beautiful and have a countryside feel, although it is next to the freeway. We booked a room using Travelocity and somehow were upgraded to a room that included a living room with a sofabed and extra TV, which we did not use but were very nice. Breakfast is included and is simple but good. We did not use the pool/hot tub but other guests who did really enjoyed them. Would definitely recommend as an outdoor wedding venue.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blimp L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stay here a couple times a month on business and I'm always well taken care of. The grounds are amazing (lots of grass and shade) and the food (Rickey's) is very good too. There's lots to do in the area if you're into outdoorsy things (hiking, biking and walking) and it's centrally located between DT Novato and San Rafael. I highly recommend the Inn.

Room Tip: The Garden Rooms are the prettiest but keep in mind it's close to the freeway so if that noise b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trainermanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend wine tasting at Napa Valley.The hotel is about 20 miles from the wine tasting region but is a lot more economical than the Napa hotels. My heart sank when I saw how near the highway we were but the accommodation we were in was at the back and very quiet. the rooms are very nice, clean and air conditioned. The food was lovely and there was live music (jazz)on the terrace by the pool. The welcome was friendly though the foyer could do with a little updating(a small flaw). I would certainly recommend it for couples and families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mogey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shady Cove, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at Inn Marin because other places were booked, and What A Find!! From the large Courtyard, "Green" Rooms, Friendly and Helpful Staff, easy to Find Charming Oasis! Every Attention to Detail in the rooms was Appreciated! Will stay there again when occasion arises!

Room Tip: On Summer weekends the Restaurant has live Music into the night, so if you are not wanting to listen...
See more room tips
Green Features: I especially appreciated the Bamboo Flooring instead of carpet! They are Green Leaders Silver Level and it shows.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertGM_11, General Manager at Inn Marin, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing Inn Marin. We appreciate your kind words and are glad you had the opportunity to check us out. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novato
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Novato Oaks Inn
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma
4.5 mi away
Days Inn Novato/San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
9.6 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
575 reviews
12.7 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Marin

Property: Inn Marin
Address: 250 Entrada Dr, Novato, CA 94949-5574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn Marin 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We care about the comfort of our guests and the environment! Newly designed rooms include state of the art amenities and sustainable materials that make us cutting edge . . . Sustainable bamboo flooring, flat screen TVs in every room, . We have Wifi in our guests rooms of 50+Mbps and 85Mbps wired in all our guest rooms for free. "FREE NO CHARGE" We have also installed Voice over IP allowing us to offer "FREE" phone calls in the continental United States, rainfall showerheads, radios with MP3/I-Pod dock, refrigerators in every room. Garden room - 1200 sq. ft. Garden Patio with beautiful fountain, Inn Marin has 423 Mbps up and down (symmetrical) in its Meeting room and Business Center. Five acre garden setting with large lawn perfect for weddings and company events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Inn Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Marin Hotel Novato
Marin Hotel Novato
Inn Marin Novato, CA - Marin County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing