We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I won't be staying there again.”
Review of Inn Marin & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn Marin & Suites
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Novato
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Our room had laminate wood floors with no carpeting so it was very cold and the room hadn't been heated prior to our arrival so it was generally quite cold. On our arrival there was also a dirty washcloth in the bathroom. The bathroom windows had such a strong draft that taking a hot morning shower only meant getting out to a cold room. I even tried blocking the draft but to no avail because the inside shutters could not be opened to gain access to the window. The toilet paper holder looked like it was originally mounted vertically but now had 2 dowels stuck in each of the 2 ends and was pointed upward at a 45 degree angle with a roll of paper on each that kept falling off because the end pieces were loose from the wall.

After our stay, my daughter spoke to the General Manager who was very defensive and basically said that's the way it is.

This hotel is not the hotel it was in the past!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigcharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 291 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was there for a wedding on New Year's Eve. The hotel was amazing, the staff couldn't of been friendly and the wedding was just amazing. It was an evening wedding with a tent and wow it was so romantic and beautiful. The grounds, fountains and lights only added to the atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Our room faced the garden which was so nice since we faced the tent where the reception was held. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JECD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

An older motel-style property that has been tastefully, if not extravagantly updated. Rates are very good for the region, and service is very good. Convenient location for Sonoma Raceway and wine country.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hongisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Our family (two adults, two kids) was in Sonoma for the weekend to participate in a racing event at Infineon. This is obviously an older property that has a lot of original character, but has been updated recently by professional interior designers, and the Inn was absolutely charming, the room very well designed. There were many designer touches like the design and decor of the guest rooms, and the toiletries in the bathroom which were spa-like. there is a lovely sitting area in the lobby, with fireplace, and a good coffee machine, as well as books to be exchanged, and well concealed modern amenities such as vending machines and laundry. We had a Garden Room and so were not close to the freeway, which passes right by the front of the hotel. We heard no freeway sounds. Inn Marin has lots of outdoor lawn space for kids (and our dog) to run around and some swing/chair/hammocky things in their garden that our children enjoyed. This is a pet friendly hotel so we brought our dog along, and they even thoughtfully have dog waste bags and receptacles posted discreetly around the property, which was nicely landscaped and immaculately maintained. Since it was December we didn't even get into the pool, but it looked very welcoming and we thought twice about braving the weather and doing so. Two double beds in the room - the industry standard for a "double" - were a bit small for our family, but that's the breaks - each adult bunked with a kid and all was well. There is also a king bed room, perhaps next time we would take two rooms because the rates are very reasonable (we had a special race rate.) Having a (good!) restaurant on site was a real convenience. I would recommend this for families, couples, really anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happytravelingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My brother and I recently stayed at the Inn Marin in Novato for a week in November. Rooms were fully updated, massive flat screen tv, fast internet and super clean. The hotel staff and the team running Rickys were top notch. Enjoyed our stay and found the hotel to be pretty handy for the day trips we did into San Francisco via the Larkspur ferry, and up to wine country in Napa.

Thanks for making our stay - relaxing!

Room Tip: Rooms along the back of the property are best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The room we booked was very clean and comfortable and at a very good price. The Staff was very friendly & helpful. The continental breakfast was better than we expected. The grounds are extremely attractive. From the outside, the Inn of Marin doesn't look like much, but appearances can fool you because indoors, it is very attractive, clean, and comfortable. Our only criticism was that the bathroom in our room was quite small and only had a shower. We would return to Inn of Marin.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 37oldglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at the Inn Marin with our 4 children and our dog. The service and attention to detail of the front office was outstanding. The rooms were comfortable and the best part is our dog could stay with us for a very minimal fee.

We meet other family members for dinner at the Inn Marin Resturant and all 13 people had a very enjoyable dinner.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the back, the front rooms are very close to the freeway and I would think freeway noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dlcosgorve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novato
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Novato Oaks Inn
4.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
4.5 mi away
Days Inn Novato/San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Marin & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Marin & Suites

Address: 250 Entrada Dr, Novato, CA 94949-5574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Price Range: $96 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn Marin & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We care about the comfort of our guests and the environment! Newly designed rooms include state of the art amenities and sustainable materials that make us cutting edge . . . Sustainable bamboo flooring, flat screen TVs in every room, . We have Wifi in our guests rooms of 50+Mbps and 85Mbps wired in all our guest rooms for free. "FREE NO CHARGE" We have also installed Voice over IP allowing us to offer "FREE" phone calls in the continental United States, rainfall showerheads, radios with MP3/I-Pod dock, refrigerators in every room. Garden room - 1200 sq. ft. Garden Patio with beautiful fountain, Inn Marin has 423 Mbps up and down (symmetrical) in its Meeting room and Business Center. Five acre garden setting with large lawn perfect for weddings and company events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn Marin & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Marin Hotel Novato
Marin Hotel Novato
Inn Marin & Suites Novato, CA - Marin County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing