We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, friendly staff and convenient”
Review of Inn Marin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn Marin
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Novato
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place, friendly staff and convenient”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed two nights for a a wedding, overall experience was pretty good, clean rooms, with all the perks, friendly staff and very handy as you park your car in front of the room for free, I liked that !
The breakfast was OK, nothing spectacular, toast bagels, muffins, coffee juice, frijoles (beans) and waffles.
I would definitely go back if I could ! the town is such a beauty, and the golf even better !!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranGalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    88
    33
    11
    20
See reviews for
71
75
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We wanted to stay outside of San Francisco, but the first few places were solidly booked. We were referred here by one of the hotels. Avery was the front desk receptionist to whom we spoke prior to arriving. She was WONDERFUL! She helped us get the best rate (AAA) and told us about restaurants in the area, wineries in Sonoma/Napa, etc.
The room looks exactly as pictured on their website. We were unaware until our arrival that the hotel had recently renovated and are very eco-friendly. (The bathroom light turned on by itself, etc.) Beds were comfortable, shampoo/soap was great, coffee pot in room and available at lobby (as well as tea and hot chocolate), landscaping was nice, pool looked really nice (didn't have time to swim). The continental breakfast was included and was great--make your own belgian waffles, whole fruits, bread/muffins/bagels, oatmeal, cold cereal, hard-boiled eggs, juice milk, coffee, tea.
For dinner we could have eaten at their restaurant but we wanted to try the Mexican place around the corner (Maya Palenque) that was also suggested to us--it was excellent as well! Cancun Chicken was excellent!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed similar, but we were in the rear building furthest from the highway--not sure i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InternetBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed at the Inn Marin for the first time in early August, 2011 while traveling about in the Bay area looking at colleges. I found the Inn Marin online and based on a lot of positive reviews we stayed there. I want to confirm those great reviews by writing one myself.
The Inn Marin is a true GEM of an OASIS in Novata, CA. It is a charming, relaxing, boutique, Eco/Green Inn that makes you feel right at home. The room was very comfortable, and the bamboo floors made it extra special with a modern touch. We booked a King Suite so our daughter could have her own space. It was perfect and very roomy. The rain shower head was nice, the TV's brand new plasma screens, and all the in-room amenities were enjoyed.
The grounds are lovely and very well maintained. Loads of flowers! Swings from the trees - comfy enough to snuggle in and read a good book. They provide a gas grill which you can borrow and simply wheel to your patio to grill your own dinner. Otherwise, be sure and check out the Inn's restaurant, Rickey's. It was FABULOUS! The bar area is a lot of fun, inside, or pool-side. The Mai Tai was the best I've ever had --- better than any consumed in Hawaii. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the fountains on the properties grounds add a soothing touch. The Jacuzzi and pool were spotlessly clean and ideal temperatures. The website depicts this Inn honestly as far as the rooms are concerned, but the grounds are prettier in person. If you are in the area, the Inn Marin is a great location; far enough out of the big city, but close enough, and only about 30 minutes to nearby Sonoma/Napa wine country. A win-win!
One recommendation; call the Inn personally to make your reservation and ask for a room toward the back of the property. It is close to the freeway, but once on the property, and especially near the garden or the back of the property, you feel as if you are in your own world.
We can't wait to return, and this time for more than one night!

Room Tip: Call the Inn to make a reservation, ask for back or central area on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUVSYVCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My partner has a dog, and even though it is a service animal, we like to be considerate and stay where dogs or pets are welcome. Inn Marin bills itself as that, and insofar as that went, it was satisfactory, almost. We asked for a room with grass right outside, and that is what we got. We were staying for two nights. The first night was fine. I had to go see my daughter, so my partner had dinner with a friend at the on-premises restaurant. It was good, the drinks were good, and the service was ok.

Next day, it all fell apart. The next day was Sunday and just before 8 a.m RIGHT OUTSIDE OUR DOOR we heard loud voices and then the start of construction, breaking up the concrete walkway.

The hotel was not full, and there was no reason to suspect it would be more full the next day (Monday) when they could have done the work, perhaps starting a bit later in the day, without disturbing us.

If that were not enough, they blocked off the concrete path (where there was no construction) which prevented our taking the dog directly to the grass, negating the value of our room.

We did complain to the manager, but basically got lip service, telling us they were sorry and would make sure the workers stopped and removed the tape blocking the path. They did that, but it ruined our ability to have slept in that Sunday morning.

It is incomprehensible WHY any hotel manager with any brains at all would authorize such a loud and disruptive construction project on a Sunday morning before 8 a.m.

We then went to eat their "continental breakfast." I have had, no exaggeration, better breakfasts at Super 8 motels. The juice was tasteless, the fruit bottom of the barrel. You could make your own waffle so long as you didn't mind cold syrup. The coffee was ok.

Story not over. That night all three of us (my partner, our friend, and I) ate in the hotel's restaurant. It was much busier than the previous night and the service was atrocious. At one point, the couple who came in after us and was seated two tables away started to actually stand and wave their hands in order to attract a server. Believe it or not, it didn't happen and they just walked out. No one said anything to them on their way out either.

Our service was not much better. My partner ordered a second cocktail and it never ever arrived. My partner said it was as though they brought in a completely different (and inept) crew compared with the previous night. The service was extraordinarily slow. It was fortunate we were in no hurry, but we would never eat there again, given a choice.

The room was not very clean. There was part of a left over soap bar in the shower soap holder. The shelf above the sink had not been cleaned in quite a while. The bed was just ok. I would not have wanted to spend another night there.

The only thing I can say about the place was that the price was right. We got a good Internet discount by booking directly on their website, and got a weekend rate (about $100 a night plus $25 pet charge). Their posted "discount" rate for the same room DURING THE WEEK was $125 (plus pet charge), So, that was really one of the only two good points about the place.

There are a LOT of nice places to stay in the area. I would advise anyone, even people with pets, to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you want the best room, ask for a corner unit. All one floor, so a corner unit will only have noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddytd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2011

When we arrived at the Inn to celebrate our anniversary, the first thing you notice is,although you are near the highway, there is a feeling that the property is in a small pocket of peace.From the initial friendly greeting of the reception staff to the beautifully designed rooms, everything was absolutely wonderful!They had left champagne in the room to further our celebration, and the dinner was amazing, all the way through the dessert, which was their delicious lava cake with "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate around the edge of the plate..The beautiful grounds and pool invite you to pause to relax and sit awhile.There are even hammock chairs to sit in and quietly enjoy a book or bird watching.The natural approach they take extends not only to the decor, but to the lovely soaps and bathing products they choose.They have absolutely exceeded our expectations, and we are looking forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: The garden rooms face a beautiful quite area !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna_messic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

I loved spending Memorial Day weekend at the Inn Marin! This was our first vacation being able to take our Boston Terrier along, and they were totally dog friendly!! The property is very laid back with a beautiful garden, huge Magnolia tree with Sky Chairs dangling from it...I wanted to just sit there all day. The rooms are nice and updated with bamboo flooring and furnishings, with front and rear door access, able to park right behind the room! Bathroom is small with shower only, but wasn't a problem. Flat TV has a million cable channels. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cntrystar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

If this hotel/motel were not in the middle of Highway 101 or they had replaced the old windows with double pane windows, I would rank them higher. While we had what was considered a "garden room" (room 127), it certainly was not quiet, as some have indicated with their garden rooms.
The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The beds were moderately comfortable- but not of a "comfort" quality. Down comforters would have been nice, the beds having just a blanket and heavy bedspread and no extra blankets around. The heater (yes, heater in June in California) was in the room and noisy. The bathroom was very small.
We had a discount rate of $131, but it wasn't worth that.
Dinner in Rickey's was just OK, and very over priced, and additionally had a very loud singer, so that no conversation could occur.
Continental breakfast was usual- waffles, hard boiled eggs and cereal. Bananas, apples and oranges.
The poor new employee at the desk was left alone after just 2 weeks and couldn't verify that we were billed correctly - 2 rooms reserved with 2 different payors.
Since we could have gone home overnight between the races at Infineon, which is nearby, but wanted a nice weekend away, spending $295 for a fair room for 2 nights definitely not worth it.

Room Tip: Friends had 163 and they didn't hear noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novato
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Novato Oaks Inn
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma
4.5 mi away
Days Inn Novato/San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
9.6 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
577 reviews
4.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Marin

Property: Inn Marin
Address: 250 Entrada Dr, Novato, CA 94949-5574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn Marin 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We care about the comfort of our guests and the environment! Newly designed rooms include state of the art amenities and sustainable materials that make us cutting edge . . . Sustainable bamboo flooring, flat screen TVs in every room, . We have Wifi in our guests rooms of 50+Mbps and 85Mbps wired in all our guest rooms for free. "FREE NO CHARGE" We have also installed Voice over IP allowing us to offer "FREE" phone calls in the continental United States, rainfall showerheads, radios with MP3/I-Pod dock, refrigerators in every room. Garden room - 1200 sq. ft. Garden Patio with beautiful fountain, Inn Marin has 423 Mbps up and down (symmetrical) in its Meeting room and Business Center. Five acre garden setting with large lawn perfect for weddings and company events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Inn Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Marin Hotel Novato
Marin Hotel Novato
Inn Marin Novato, CA - Marin County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing