We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deja Vu nightmare!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn of Novato
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Deja Vu nightmare!”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

OK, I should have looked more closely at the pictures online! If I had known this was the same hotel we stayed at (and hated) 9 years ago, we would never have gone again! But to be fair, they were the Travelodge then!
I have stayed at the Americas Best Value Inns before and they are generally budget hotels along the lines of Motel 6 (clean enough and okay). This place was a nightmare! We had our dog and it was a Saturday night, otherwise we would have moved to another hotel. I kept my shoes on the whole time if that tells you anything. It was supposed to be a nonsmoking room but reeked of cigarettes. It was dark and dingy and the wallpaper was hideous. There wasn't one redeeming quality that I can mention. Scary clientele and scary room. Do not stay here. Pay a little more if you have to.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scatteredlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn of Novato, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for your comments we appreciate your taking the time to give us your review. We use your comments to evaluate our Inn and provide additional needed training for our employees and plan for needed upgrade projects. We apologize for any inconvenience you my have experienced while staying at our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    13
    15
    39
See reviews for
17
23
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed here recently on a little trip to Novato. The king sized bed was the worst bed ever! Got up the next morning with a bad backache! Spent the next 2 days trying to aleviate pain! The place also smelled. The bathroom floor was filthy! Will never stay there again and will tell my friends about it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drsijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn of Novato, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for your comments we appreciate your taking the time to post your review. We have evaluated your comments and we have recently changed some of our beds and we are continuing on a replace schedule for all of our beds. We are constantly providing our housekeeping staff with additional training to ensure that quality standards are met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2011

The employees were kind and helpful. The room was clean, with no problems. It is a basic motel that I have stayed at many times.

Room Tip: Second floor best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dellastreetDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somwhere in the southwest
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

not the best, not the worst, breakfast was minimal, and had to ask to be let into the jacuzzi area, but other than that, salright.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legendaryrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Visited some friends in Novato. Stayed for 4 days. Out most of the time.

Just a sleeping place for us. Breakfast was toast, cereals, juice and coffee. Has limited tables and chairs.

As expected, very basic.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love_ko_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Our nonsmoking room smelled like stale cigarette smoke. The amenities listed were not available and the staff seemed unconcerned and unwilling to try to make it right. We won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsMister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

First impressions make/break places like this one. The girl at the desk glared at me when I walked in, tossed a paper on the desk, & walked away, so I stood there. When she came back, she looked at the paper & said "fill it out". She then proceeded to get on her cell phone & speak in a foreign language while staring my way. She did not say anything about check out, breakfast, nothing! Room was OK for the $$; walls a bit thin; hallways a bit scary. Go down the road 10 miles & stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TIMOTHY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novato
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Novato/San Francisco
3.5 mi away
Inn Marin
Inn Marin
#3 of 6 in Novato
272 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Novato Oaks Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma
9.6 mi away
Best Western Petaluma Inn
7.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn of Novato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn of Novato

Property: Americas Best Value Inn of Novato
Address: 7600 Redwood Blvd, Novato, CA 94945-1409 (Formerly Travelodge Novato)
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn of Novato 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Novato/Marin/Sonoma. Located in beautiful Marin County, California, our hotel is located near Napa Wine Country, Sonoma Wine Country, Muir Woods, Point Reyes, and the Golden Gate Bridge leading to San Francisco. Novato is home to several small biotech firms, such as Buck Institute-Age Research and Bio Marin Pharmaceutical Inc. Savor a delicious meal at one of the various restaurants within a mile of our hotel including Mills Restaurant, El Palmar Restaurant, and Chianti Ristorante.Our Novato hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, an attentive 24-hour front desk staff, and affordable rates. Your comfort and satisfaction is our top priority. Start your day with a free cup of coffee available in our lobby. Our outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi area is the perfect place to relax and soak up some California sunshine after a fun day of sightseeing. We offer a fitness center and guest laundry facility for your added convenience. All of our guest rooms offer free wireless high-speed Internet access, coffeemaker, hairdryer, and cable TV with HBO. Irons, ironing boards, toothbrushes, toothpaste, shaving gel, razors, tea, sewing kits, and shower caps are available upon request. Upgrade your stay by reserving our bridal suite with a fireplace, our suite with an in-room jacuzzi, or our family suite. Dogs are welcome in first floor rooms for a small nightly charge. At Americas Best Value Inn Novato/Marin/Sonoma, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn of Novato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Of Novato Hotel Novato
Travelodge Novato
Travel Lodge Novato
Novato Travel Lodge
Novato Travelodge
Americas Best Value Inn Of Novato CA - Marin County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing