We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at 9 hotels on a family road trip, and this one ranked at the top. The price was great when you consider the very clean and modern room, the well-appointed lobby (free coffee and a little library), good breakfast, and a hot tub. We drove into Novato and had the BEST DINNER EVER at Grazie's. By far the best kids menu we have ever seen (what? a side of fruit with your organic home-made chicken finger? yes please! What? steak and fries for kids? Yes please!). Anyways, back to the hotel - you can't go wrong. And within 10 minutes you're in the rolling hills on your way to the coast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidR594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager049, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We so appreciate your great comments that you shared. We are so proud to be the best out of 9 hotels traveled! Thank you for the glowing review. ( Grazie is one of my favorites too!)
Sincerely, The Staff and Managers of the Novato Oaks Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    192
    31
    11
    5
See reviews for
236
228
47
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chino
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have stayed at this Best Western several times and have never been disappointed. The rooms are absolutely SPOTLESS, well appointed, and very comfortable. A nice size flat screen tv with free HBO and many other channels will hit the spot if you're big on tv. The wifi is super easy to connect to (no password required) and was clipping along quite nicely. The beds were very comfortable, with four pillows and a bed roll per bed. The refrigerator was discreetly hidden in a cabinet, and "Seattle's Best" was provided with the coffee machine. In this age of endless electronics being dragged everywhere we go (Ipads, laptops, Ipods, cell phones) it was gratifying to have access to multiple outlets in positions of convenience. Bathroom is large and shower was great! Those are just a few of the touches that make this hotel so special. Pride of ownership is evident and keeps us coming back when we're in the Pacific Northwest.

Oops...forgot the complimentary breakfast. Pretty standard, consisting of a waffle maker, various cereals, apples, pears, and bananas, boiled eggs, and some average donuts/pastries and bagels. Not bad, but nothing out of the ordinary. Look elsewhere if you're counting carbs!

P.S. Management, if you're reading...Thank you for stocking sugarless syrup for my diabetic father.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luminaire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager049, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for the fabulous review. You are welcome for the sugarless syrup!
Sincerely, Novato Oaks Inn staff and managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I chose this hotel for our family San Francisco trip. It was a good choice. We were able to drive into Golden Gate park quickly (less than 30 minutes) from this location and park at the ferry terminals without any problems. The hotel is nestled against a hillside with easy freeway access.
The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. The rooms were clean and updated. It didn't feel like a hotel room. We had an upper floor room on the hillside which had a nice view and was very quiet. The rooms facing the freeway have patios. The beds were comfortable.
They offer all the needed amenities such as: Dryer, iron and board, refrigerator, coffee and tea 24 hrs a day, free daily paper, and they have a microwave in the breakfast area. We even used the business center for internet use and to print out maps. All free.
The pool area offers a fire pit and ping pong.
Breakfast was perfect to get us going and out the door. They offer cereals, oatmeal, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches, waffle maker, pastries, donuts, fruit, juices, coffee, and tea.
We would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Request a hillside, top floor room for a quiet stay. Rooms with a patio face the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here the week before Christmas and had a lovely stay: the lobby was beautifully decorated for Christmas and was clean and cozy with a small library near the back. Our room overlooked an open field and was very quiet. The beds were incredibly comfortable and we slept like logs. What a little gem...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mysharonna08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The overall impression of the hotel is that it had an air of elegance without paying a 4 star price, at least when we traveled. The bed was very comfortable. The room came with a nice balcony. The staff was friendly. The shower pressure was good. There were lots of TV stations to choose from. The room was very clean and the decorations were nice. The only down side is that it is close to a highway so there is some road noise if your room is on that side of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MovingChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager049, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
You had me at "Elegant!" Thank you for the great review.
Sincerely, the Staff of Novato Oaks Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I were attending a function in San Rafael and found this hotel to be well situated for our needs. We requested an early check in because were flying into SFO from Charlotte, NC and wanted an opportunity to freshen up before going to San Rafael. The hotel was very accommodating and had a room ready for us when we arrived around noon. The hotel is located just off the highway in the rolling hills of Novato. It is a little tricky finding the right exit for the frontage road so good directions or GPS is a good idea. The hotel offers a breakfast be we were meeting friends and didn't try have their breakfast. The room was nice and clean. We would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMLL
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The room was very clean and the service was great. It is important to note that I did not take advantage of the pool, exercise room or the morning breakfast.

The room was well appointed and very comfortable for the exception of the temperature in the room. I set the thermostat at 72oF. It would only start when the room reached 68oF and would only stop once the room reached 73oF. It made for a lot of hot and cold temperature when sleeping. Enough to disturb my sleep as I woke up freezing or in a sweat a few times.

The hotel is well maintained.

Room Tip: Room 5204 overlooks the mountain side as oppose to the highway and parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager049, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
I am so sorry that the settings of the thermostat were not comfortable for you. Once a desired temperature has been entered, the thermostats are indeed designed to float 4 degrees from the set point . I apologies that it kept you up.
Sincerely,
The Novato Oaks Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novato
1.4 mi away
Inn Marin
Inn Marin
#3 of 6 in Novato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
8.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
2.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn
Address: 215 Alameda Del Prado, Novato, CA 94949-6657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the scenic hills of Northern Marin County, the Novato Oaks Inn is a green certified 100% non-smoking hotel. Situated halfway between the business communities of Novato and San Rafael, the Inn is ideally suited for both the leisure and corporate traveler. Our 107 spacious guest rooms and suites are the largest in Marin County and have been designed to bring you the ultimate in comfort and convenience. The award winning staff greets you in the warm and comfortable lobby with a cozy private library. Each morning you'll enjoy a free deluxe continental breakfast buffet served on the mezzanine level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Novato Oaks Hotel Novato
Best Western Novato
Novato Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn CA - Marin County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing