We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Norwalk
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for the Money”
Reviewed April 28, 2005

A word of advice - book this hotel in the Downey/Commerce/Norwalk section of Hotwire for $60 - THEN, it's a fantastic deal. I've stayed here twice and it's been recently updated - marble bathroom (though they didn't touch the tubs and added massaging heads only) and good beds highlight the rooms, which are actually a bit "loud" as far as the chain's interior design goes. The location isn't great - it's pretty much no man's land - right in between Anaheim and L.A. but very convenient being right off of the 5South. There's a movie theatre and a few quickie-type restaurants right in the parking lot. The pool borders the freeway and requires a walk up and down stairs and is really nothing special, though they add nice flowers to keep it up to par. This is not a GREAT hotel but nowhere in the world will you find nicer place for this price - book it if you know you can live with it's downsides. It's a good place to stay, not a vacation destination.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Runner0382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    191
    107
    46
    27
See reviews for
171
81
31
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 8, 2004

Stayed one night Aug. 2, 2004. Bid on hotwire for $49, about $60 with tax and fees. Listed on Hotwire as a 3 1/2 star hotel, in Needham area of LA.

Location was conveniently off of Hwy 5, one minute from the exit. Hwy noise, inevitable.

The clerks were slow at checking us in, a good 15-20 minutes, with no other visitors waiting.

We requested a room change when we walked in and saw that the room(516) was not as clean as we would expect(red nail polish spills on window sill, white debris on carpet, short hairs near tub and bed linens) and was facing the hwy contrary to our request.

Key was ushered up and we changed rooms to a different wing(505), but this room had a 'pressure differential problem.' Window AC vent was even noisier than the hwy noise, even when the fan was off, and stopped only when we opened the hallway entrance door that equalized the pressure.

We requested another room change, but was denied and was told the hotel was sold out. We were suspicious of the 'no rooms' claim, as we hardly saw anyone about the hotel lobby, restaurant, nor the parking lot during our stay. We settled for the first room which was less noisy but dirtier, relieved to have only booked for one night.

The furnishings were up to date, the bathroom vanity was gorgeously done in marble, and other hotel amenities were that of a true 3 or 3 1/2 star hotel.

However, this hotel needs a shake-up of its cleaning crew and its maintenance standards (I don't want to have call for service to change burnt out light bulbs as soon as I walk in the room, nor pick up little body hairs stuck to linens when I pull up the sheets.) And call an insect/flea exterminator! We were irked to have paid to sleep the night here, only to wake up itchy with small bug bites during the night.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 4, 2004

I stayed at the Norwalk Marriott for 2 nights (May 14-15, 2004) under the "OTP" promotion code, which was the "Stay For Breakfast"/Visa Bonus Bucks summer promotion. The deal was simple: reserve and pay with any Visa card and book a weekend stay (Friday or Saturday night required) under promotional code OTP, and receive free hot breakfast buffets for each morning of your stay (up to 2 adults and 2 children 12 or younger), a $100 "Bonus Bucks" coupon valid towards a future minimum 2-night stay at any full-service Marriott (i.e., not at Courtyard, Residence, Fairfield, SpringHill or TownePlace) or Renaissance hotel at any publicly available rate (including advertised promotional rates/packages). Oh.... the rate? All this for just $74 a night!

The hotel is an AAA-rated 3 diamond hotel. There is ample free parking onsite, a gift shop, various conference halls, a lounge and a casual full-service restaurant called Cabrios (currently posting a Grade A sanitation scorecard by Los Angeles County Environmental Health Services).

The room decor is extremely nice: spacious, luxiouriously appointed, corian-countertops in the bathroom wtih premium soap/shampoo, coffeemaker, TV, internet access and very comfortable bedding.

The breakfast buffet was very good, with a selection of fresh fruits, cereals, pastries, and hot food such as bacon, sausages, potatoes, and a custom cook-to-order omelet station.

I'd have given them 5/5, but they lost marks on service:

(A) Room maintenance came TWICE within a 30 minute period (the same fellow, too) to repair a broken knob on the TV cabinet, despite me telling him not to disturb me (I was in the shower the first time and dressing the second) and to come back the next day.

(B) On the second day, the service was extremely slow in the restaurant (unattentive table service due to being short-staffed). Also, only 2 omelets can be cooked at any given time and there are no other choices of eggs... so you can imagine what happens when 10 people are in the buffet line!

The minor inconveniences aside, I'd most definitely return to this hotel.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 18, 2004

We stayed here for a visit to Biola University and loved it so much we came back again several months later when in the LA area - the second time we came they had nice strawberries in our room and a welcome letter waiting for us. The only problem we had was I left our expensive camera in the room, and called the hotel the day after we left - never heard back from them - so I can only assume they have dishonest employees (it was a very nice expensive camera) - therefore, we will never stay there again - too bad, because they were great other than that - even gave us two free breakfasts when we were dissatisfied with something (TV problems).

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 4, 2003

no refrigerators,bugs in room, staff was very friendly but they need work on the amenities of the room because the furniture looked like the living room of my grandma's living room all they needed was some plastic.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 19, 2003

Located just about halfway between downtown LA and Disneyland, the Norwalk Marriott is a well-located spot for visitors who want to explore lots of Southern California attractions. The hotel is relatively small (170 rooms) but has lots of amenities, inc. pool and restaurant. The rooms are big, with large bathrooms and typical Marriott decor (bland, but upscale taupe overload.) My only gripe was that the bath products did not include lotion, unlike most Marriotts. Norwalk Marriott is located in the Norwalk Civic Ctr, across from a multiplex movie theater. Norwalk itself is a pretty bland burb, with Targets, fast food places, Home Depots and so on all around. But the hotel is right off the Santa Ana Freeway, meaning Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Universal Studios, Santa Monica, Disneyland and Knotts Berry Farm are not far away. (But LA's notorious traffic, even on weekends, makes all trips WAY longer than they need to be. I drove up to Sunset Blvd - about 14 miles - on a Saturday and it took almost an hour in the stop and go traffic) The hotel is also not far from Los Angeles Int'l Airport, on 105, but again, that trip was greatly lengthened by Hell-LA's traffic.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwalk
1.9 mi away
Best Western Norwalk Inn
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
3.1 mi away
Sheraton Cerritos Hotel at Towne Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Whittier Los Angeles
7.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce
0.6 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk
Address: 13111 Sycamore Dr, Norwalk, CA 90650-8339 (Formerly Bluestone Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Norwalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Norwalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Norwalk. The hotel is within easy reach of Southern California landmarks such as Disneyland (11 miles), Universal Studios (24 miles) and Knotts Berry Farm (7 miles) We are centrally located in between Downtown Los Angeles and Orange County. So if you are going to the soak in the sun in Santa Monica Beach (29 miles) and surf the next day at Huntington Beach (29 miles), our hotel will be the place to be. Wherever you may be flying in, whether it is Los Angeles International Airport (21 miles) or Long Beach Airport (11 miles) or John Wayne Airport (24 miles), the hotel can provide an easy location to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Norwalk
Norwalk Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing