We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Norwalk
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
893 reviews
497 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but...”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

This is a nice Doubletree which I believe was formerly a Marriott. The rating of 4/5 is for the hotel only. Nice big parking lot, easy check in with friendly staff. Room was nice and spacious as was the bathroom. Comfortable bed and freeway noise was inaudible for the most part. Overall happy with the stay so far. Then we decided to have dinner in the Sonoma Grill. The tables were already set up for breakfast but was quickly reset for dinner. I ordered the mussel and clam appetiser and my husband ordered the seafood linguine which came with mussels, clams and shrimp. Everything tasted good except the mussels or lack thereof. All of the shells when opened revealed no mussels!!! I have been eating mussels for years and this is my first experience of this. We showed the waiter and he said he would get another order of mussels for us but returned telling us they were all the same!!! He offered us a different option but by then we were finished everything else and didn't really want to prolong dinner. We were then very surprised when he brought the bill which charged us the full price for the meal! Since one of the main ingredients was 'missing' we felt this was inappropriate. Just as we were discussing this, the barmaid walked past and asked if dinner had been good. We explained the situation to her and asked if we could speak to the manager. She went off then returned telling us she would discount the food by 20% which she did. Given the situation, had I been the manager, I would have discounted the whole bill by 20% or taken the food charge off completely. We were also a little concerned that we would end up sick but luckily that didn't happen but we were never really given an explanation as to why the shells were all empty. We would have eaten in the restaurant the following night but after this experience decided to go elsewhere. Disappointing.

Room Tip: Hwy noise not a big issue but you may want to ask for a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    191
    105
    44
    26
See reviews for
168
81
30
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed here for a few days and have all positive thing to report. My room was ready when I arrived, and hotel staff was very nice. There is an outback steakhouse within walking distance, and hotel restaurant has a good selection.

Free wi-fi or computers and printer you can use in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e42027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Warm cookies upon arrival. Large rooms with sheet wrapped quilts! Excellent restaurant service. Extremely clean and comfortable with theaters and Outback next door.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puppyraiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I stayed at the Doubletree for two nights on a weekend pleasure trip. I've stayed in other Doubletree properties before that were average at best and was not expecting too much with this one. I was pleasantly surpurised however. The staff were quite courteous, from welcoming me on my arrival late in the evening to greeting me each time I went in and out of the hotel door. The room was larger than average and quite well appointed with flat-screen TV, comfortable beds and nice-sized bathroom. My only complaint was the lack of enough bath towels - there were only two in the room and I could have used another. I did ask the maid for an additional towel, but she apparently did not understand my request and I made do with what I had. Room service was average, but reasonably priced and delivered promptly, even at 11:00 p.m. Locating the hotel from the highway or even from streets within Norwalk is a bit confusing, as the property is back a way from the street and the driveway into the hotel is not well marked. I had to remember to find the large cinema first and then knew the hotel was behind it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing I-5. My room was a bit noisy, especially in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadeltafoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Just stayed on business for three nights. I am diamond HH member. Hotel is very clean with clean rooms. I was upgraded to corner suite. Got a coupon for full breakfast, free cocktail and free appetizer on each day. Rooms have window unit AC but not sure how loud as I didn't use it. Bed was a bit firm but good sheets. Flat screen TV with hi-def. Wifi was strong with great speed.

Everyone I talked to was very helpful and friendly. Location a little tricky to find. Plenty of free parking.

Will definetly stay here again.

Room Tip: Get room on front of building away from highway. Traffic gets noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler_ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county, ca
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Hotel is really nice, great service and the rooms are spacious. I stayed on a weekday for business and had inquired about having a lunch meeting there and the sales and catering staff were exceptional. There was a movie theater walking distance which was pretty nice. I would stay again!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r0bem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
683 reviews
452 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Wow - I got no sleep. It was horrible. This hotel is right on the highway. I told them about this - they didn't seem to care. The hotel is nice and clean and the breakfast was a very good value - about $11 for the buffet which included an omelet bar. This hotel is great - except that you can't sleep. I'd suggest asking for a room not overseeing I-5. I'd have given it a 4 or 5 if I could have at least gotten 4 or 5 hours of sleep instead of 4 or 5 minutes.

Room Tip: Not facing the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelManSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwalk
1.9 mi away
Best Western Norwalk Inn
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Whittier Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sheraton Cerritos Hotel at Towne Center
3.7 mi away
Studio Inn And Suites
7.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk
Address: 13111 Sycamore Dr, Norwalk, CA 90650-8339 (Formerly Bluestone Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Norwalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Norwalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Norwalk. The hotel is within easy reach of Southern California landmarks such as Disneyland (11 miles), Universal Studios (24 miles) and Knotts Berry Farm (7 miles) We are centrally located in between Downtown Los Angeles and Orange County. So if you are going to the soak in the sun in Santa Monica Beach (29 miles) and surf the next day at Huntington Beach (29 miles), our hotel will be the place to be. Wherever you may be flying in, whether it is Los Angeles International Airport (21 miles) or Long Beach Airport (11 miles) or John Wayne Airport (24 miles), the hotel can provide an easy location to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Norwalk
Norwalk Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing