We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE WORST HOTEL EVER. DON'T STAY HERE... (F-) RATING.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Norwalk
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE WORST HOTEL EVER. DON'T STAY HERE... (F-) RATING.”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The worst hotel ever. Don't stay here. (F) Rating. Someone try to enter me and my wife's room with another key card without authorization. Lucky i lock my door with the chain lock, so they couldn't get in. Me and my wife were scared for our lives, we could've been robbed or killed. Rape or anything if i didn't lock the door with that chain lock. Me and my wife lefted this hotel right after the incident. The front desk didn't know what to say. This is unacceptable for service. This was my first time staying in this hotel. This was the second room the hotel gave me because the first room was damaged. Latern frame was damaged, paint in the restroom was peeled off, damaged light panels and damaged pull out damaged. The room had a new paint smell that made me and my wife feel sick too. I highly recommend no one stay here. For your family safety, pay a little more extra to have your family safe and a clean room. Across from our first room, a man and women were interacting have sex with the window open... It seems like prositution hooker, the lady was dress up and dancing on him and kissing him... It was just sick. I wouldn't want a family with kids to see that... This was the view across from our first room and later we switch room and the second room some try to enter our room late that night. It was worst experience staying in a hotel room in my life. Motel 6 is better than this place. Loud noise at night, people walking and talking... A drug dealing place and prosituition place. Please don't stay here. Respectfully Customer Steven.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. The rooms are dirty smell of fresh paint. Damaged accessories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guesthousenorwalk, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments and concerns regarding your experience at our hotel. After further investigation, we did find that you were assigned a non renovated room in error and although the staff tried to attend to your needs we did not meet your expectations.

We are continuing to improve upon our product and our service to ensure our guest have a pleasant experience with us and share them with their firends and family.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    46
    104
    57
    26
See reviews for
58
83
17
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel one night late March before continuing on a tour. The room was reasonably big with a neat bathroom. The sheets were clean enough and the bed was also decent, resulting in a good night's sleep. It was ok for one night, but I would consider other options for a longer stay. Not very sure of the location as it is around 20-30 mins ride from LAX, and may not be the best place to stay if you are visiting all the touristic places in LA. Overall good value for the price I paid ($70 per night).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrashantDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guesthousenorwalk, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are constanly trying to improve the hotel and the service and part of the success comes from the experiences of our guest, We appreciate your comments and will share them with our staff. We hope to see you in the future.

At your service.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radicondoli, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Just stayed here with a group. Its a fine budget hotel for large groups but you have to drive everywhere. Nothing is located here except an i5 entrance. Very nice staff. Lots of group tours and international travelers. Its safe, clean however it looks a little scary. It's so cheap that no, they probably can't give out extra towels and soap and give such a low nightly rate. BUDGET HOTEL folks!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guesthousenorwalk, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We are pleased to hear your room you had a fair experience at our hotel and that the staff was accommodating to your needs. We just wanted to point our tha there are many stores shops in the area that are just under a mile from the hotel. We are located in a residential area and just off the 5 fwy for travel convinince.

We want to Thank you again for your review and hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We spent the past weekend here for a business trip. We had 6 rooms total shared with my colleagues. First thing, this is NOT a 3 star establishment.

Lobby was locked WITHOUT any signs when we tried to check in late past 1am.

Front desk will NOT help you with cleanliness, room switching, OR service.

There is a night club/bar on the establishment so there will be LOUD music and inebriated people walking about at night. NOT a family friendly hotel.

Housekeeping is ONLY available during the mornings and calling to the front desk to help past certain hours means them responding with Housekeeping isn't available or is closed try again tomorrow.

Good luck asking for any towels, toiletries, or any type of service needed beyond the mornings. We asked for extra towels night of check in, DENIED; asked for towels the next morning, denied; asked for toiletries the following night, denied in ALL 6 rooms.

We stayed in buildings 2, 4, and 6. Building 4 is supposedly newly remodeled and where I stayed for two nights. The only thing that looked remotely new was the tub but if you check the caulking it doesn’t look new at all.

Drains are SLOW if not backed up and water will run cold after the second person. TVs are small and outdated.

Dressers are NOT clean. You will want to keep your belongings in your luggage off the floors.

Carpet is years old OR hasn’t been cleaned in months. You do not want to take your shoes off at all. Bed spread looks like something from the 80’s and is far from comfortable.

Housekeeping will knock on your door EVERY hour, on the hour from 7am TILL check out. They won't give you extra towels.

Room Tip: Pick a room FAR from the lobby where the Night Club is near or you will have trouble sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guesthousenorwalk, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We want to first thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at our hotel. The hotel has been going through some major renovations to enhance the guest experience.

We have shared your concerns with the staff and we made sure ALL your concerns have been addressed.

The hotel does have a lounge open to the public located at the far corner of the hotel away from the lobby and hotel rooms. We also have banquet hall in which weddings, parties are held, which which is located next to the lobby. Inventory should not be an issue.

Our housekeeping department is available 7 days a week from 8am to 4pm and a houseman available after hours. Inventory such as towels should never be an issue.

We also have a preventive maintenance program which includes routine cleaning of the carpets.

We are sorry that your experience was ot a pleasant one and comments from our guest help us to improve upon our service and product.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.


At your service,


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norwalk hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 2 nights and we were terrified. The first clue should have been the bail bond stores next door. We went for a walk and a City of Norwalk Police car pulled beside us and suggested it was not a great neighbourhood for 2 women to walk alone in! The lobby is new but the rooms are ancient and it appears some of the back buildings are used as dormitories. Please stay away!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Icetara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guesthousenorwalk, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are sorry that you encountered an issue with the area and found the rooms to be poor. The hotel continues to work very hard to ensure the guest experience is a pleasant one.
We also work very close with the local authorities and our inhouse security team to ensure the hotel and surrounding areas are watched. Our rooms have been newly apointed with granite counter tops, crowne and base mouldings and a new color scheme for our walls as displayed on our website. Although we have only completed 80 percent of the hotel, we are constantly improving both the product and service of the hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We found the Guesthouse Hotel online and they had a great price and the pictures looked very pretty. We booked a suite for one week at this location and we were very pleased with our stay. They have two outdoor heated pools that was great as it was never over crowded. The staff was very friendly and offered suggestions for places we can eat at even the nearby movie theatre and park. We were always called by our names which made us feel welcome and safe a home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guesthousenorwalk, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear you had a positive experience at our hotel and we thank you for your wonderful review and hope you visit us again soon!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed here for one night, it was ok, but would not stay more than 1 night. Interior room was clean, saw 1 small dead spider, no big deal. No bedbugs- that's a plus! TV was 'snowy', remote barely worked. Bed was uncomfortable. Very large complex- I believe not all is open to public, only a couple of buildings. Outside needs some TLC- wood rotting away & peeling paint. No microwave or fridge in room. Went for breakfast the next morning- what was out was good, but it wasn't all ready & I had an early appointment. All in all a decent stay- about on par w/ Motel 6. No restaurants within walking distance, but the hotel has one- not sure of hours.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cryoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guesthousenorwalk, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We want to thank you very much for taking the time to reach out to us and share your comments with us. The hotel has gone through a major renovation since your stay with us and all the your concerns have been address. We are working everyday to improve upon our service and product. Your comments along with comments in general help us to better our service and guides our management team to do better and identify the concerns from a customers point of view.

Once again we, appreciate you taking the time to share you comments as it help our staff aware of the good work they continue to do as well as what they need to improve upon.

We hope to see you soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwalk
2.4 mi away
Best Western Norwalk Inn
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk
2.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Artesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Studio Inn And Suites
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Cerritos Hotel at Towne Center
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Downey
Days Inn Downey
#2 of 8 in Downey
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk

Property: GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk
Address: 12500 Firestone Blvd, Norwalk, CA 90650-4329
Location: United States > California > Norwalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Norwalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable L.A. hotel alternative, GuestHouse International Hotel in Norwalk is ideally located near area businesses, the Norwalk Courthouse and a short drive from famed Southern California attractions, including Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm and Universal Studios. Our Norwalk, CA hotel has a central location, making it a convenient place for business travelers, group tours and leisure travelers, boasting 230 rooms across six buildings on eight acres of land, with two swimming pools and a jacuzzi. The lovely landscape adorned with palm trees, flowers and green grass makes you feel right at home. Enjoy our newly renovated IV Lounge offering a great time for those seeking a fun night out. Our sports bar offers a variety of exotic cocktails and mixed drinks that are sure to delight you. Your banquet/meeting needs can be met in one of our six spacious banquet halls including our largest venue able to accommodate up to 500 guests with full catering services. Plan your next vacation, business trip or special event at our charming hotel, here in the historic city of Norwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest House Hotel Norwalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing