We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special country home w/ mountain views and serious tranquility”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Fork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lyn-Mar Pond Guest Ranch
San Francisco, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Special country home w/ mountain views and serious tranquility”
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Well, Just came back from the Lyn Mar Pond Guest Ranch where I we had a family reunion that involved 10 people and 1 dog. We had a really lovely stay. We ate every meal outside under the trees and hung out under the stars on the porch in the eves. the house is comfortable, lovely, and well decorated. The beds are comfy too. Please note that there is not too much around there. It is a 25 minute drive to bass lake, and a 40 minute ride to the south gate of yosemite, however, is peace and quiet is what you are looking for, this is your place. Great memories to last a lifetime where made and we won't ever forget our stay. Mark is a fantastic host and Snert pretty is a pretty great guy too.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rivergirl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, England
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We found the house to be an absolute gem, everything provided to ensure that our stay was memorable. Set in peaceful surroundings, a perfect quiet haven to rest and relax. Our only disappointment was that we could not stay longer. If you are looking for something completely different we would certainly recommend this unique property.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Along with our kids and dogs, we celebrated our 20th anniversary at Lynmar ranch and it was great. What a great suite and Mark is a really cool guy. Its also, within 5 minutes of the "Center of California". and near some cool towns: Sea Bass and other nice towns with good resturants.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank reanry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Great place to stay. amazing view of the mountain from the backyard. Cozy decorating with antiques.

well equipped kitchen and have a firepit outside for camp fire.

very relaxing. went jogging around the ranch and snert (the ranch dog) kept me company. --smart and fun.

Nice crawfoot bath tub for soaking baby. very family friendly place to stay.

  • Liked — Amazing and relaxing view. Nicely decorated
  • Disliked — Far from Yosemite entrance (30 minutes but seem like forever)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2008

I was a bit nervous about booking at a new place that I was not really familiar with--especially since we were bringing 4 families up with us on our annual Yosemite trip. I was either going to be a hero or a goat. Happily, I was the former. The house was perfect for us and large enough. There were great touches and details. Mark, the owner was a great host who stayed out of the way most of the time, but was available to us just enough to help us with anything. Oakhurst and snow areas were not too far away--about 30-45 minutes by car. Of course, last but not least, there was Snert, the dog who was great for the kids. We definitely plan to make this an annual destination on President's weekend.

  • Liked — price and comfort
  • Disliked — a bit remote but not too bad
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ljlsfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2008

We just returned from spending President's Day weekend at Lyn-mar Pond Guest Ranch. We had a wonderful time!
Each year, we (four families with kids) look forward to a weekend playing in the snow and/or hiking to see the waterfalls of Yosemite. To avoid the long windy drive, we usually stayed in hotels in Oakhurst or Fish camp.
This year, Instead of squeezing into 4 hotel rooms, we (four families with kids) decided to rent a 4 bedroom vacation home. The kids were now teenagers and we wanted them to have a place where they could stay up late & play games (and laugh as loud as they wanted). We also wanted a place where we could cook some meals (and save money from having to eat out all the time.)
We goggled Vacation Rentals near Bass Lake and found Lyn-Mar Pond Guest Ranch. The price was reasonable and far less than what we would have paid for a hotel. The price was $200 a night ($300 for Holidays). The website was impressive and even displayed pictures of each room in the house. We spoke with Mark Williams (owner) on the phone and he was most helpful. He reassured us that there was plenty of room for all 15 of us.
Mark was right! All 15 of us did fit in that house and we didn't even have to use the extra kitchen or sofabed (yes--there really were two kitchens in the house!) While the parents enjoyed the comfy beds, 8 kids (6 of them teenagers) slept in the living room (bring sleeping bags). Mark provided a cot, a large mat that fit 2-3 kids and the large oversize sofa could sleep 2. It's stone flooring in the living room, so it helped that we had packed an inflatable air mattress.
The kitchen was fully stocked with pots, pans, dishes, utensils and coffee maker. You should bring your own saran wrap, ziploc bags, napkins and cooking spices/oils. There were 3 bathrooms--each designed beautifully with thick color-coordinated towels. Lots of extra towels available in the linen closets.
The fours bedrooms were also beautifully designed. Each room had a heater that we could use. Beds were comfortable. Extra blankets also available in the linen closet. Outside, our kids could swing on the tire swing, relax on the swinging bench and walk down a trail to pet the horse. In the evenings, we could watch the sunset. Mark gave us great directions and the road leading to the home is newly paved.
From where we were staying, it's a half hour drive to Oakhurst where there are movie theatres & shops. Our favorite restaurant is El Cid. It' about 40 minutes to get to Fish Camp where there was plenty of snow this year. It was handy to have a washer and dryer so that we could dry all the wet clothes after playing in the snow.
There is satellite TV (2 or 3 of the bedrooms had a TV). We loved the large living room where kids and adults could spread out playing games. The house feels so homey--Mark told us his wife is responsible for the decor of Lyn-Mar. She did a wonderful job and we did a lot of "oohs" and "ahhs" throughout our stay.
Best part of our stay? Snert. The minute you step out of the house, a beautiful black and white dog will appear by your side and walk alongside you wherever you go....He is so calm and probably, the best well behaved dog we have ever seen.
We will definitely be telling our friends about Lyn-Mar Pond Guest Ranch...and we look forward to going back next year.

  • Liked — Spacious living room for multi-family gathering
  • Disliked — Distance from town
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BaabaaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

We were a group of 8 travelling with children on a 3 week break along the West Coast and we were booked in at this ranch for a 3 night stay. What a perfect haven to arrive at after a gruelling long drive from our previous location. The Lyn Mar ranch is set in acres of land, cut off from the main road and is the perfect place to stay if you need peace and quiet and to recharge your energy levels. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful and the children had a great time playing with the family dog Snert. The accomodation itself could not be faulted. There is a grocery store a short ride away and also a supermarket further along for all your amenites for self catering. We could easily have stayed there for a week just relaxing and doing nothing. This ranch is thoroughly recommended!

  • Liked — the space both on the grounds and in the accomodation
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunni_parmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Fork
15.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
15.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
13.8 mi away
Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
15.4 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
249 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyn-Mar Pond Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyn-Mar Pond Guest Ranch

Property: Lyn-Mar Pond Guest Ranch
Address: 60072 Mammoth Rd, North Fork, CA 93643-9435
Location: United States > California > North Fork
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in North Fork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 or 3 bdrm ranch situated on 40 acres on the sierra scenic byway. rooms fulled equipped with kitchens, fireplace in 3 bdrm. Contiential breakfast served. Fishing pond and horseback riding and golf nearby. enjoy the serenity of the sierras 30 min to Yosemite. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing