We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, location! Open the doors and you're on the lift.”
Review of Inn at Sugar Bowl

Inn at Sugar Bowl
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Sugar Bowl
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Norden
Reviewed March 9, 2010

I can't believe what a value this place was. We stayed in the deluxe suite room 300 this weekend for $199 a night. I would have never thought I would say thats a deal, but the hotel is on the mountain. I know there are several resorts with accommodations at the base of the lifts like Heavenly, Northstar, Kirkwood, etc; but this place is on the middle of the mountain. Get up, have breakfast walk 50 feet and get on the lift! I was on the lift at opening this morning after a night of fresh snow. Since everyone else has to take another gondola or lift to get to where we stayed I had two runs before I encountered other tracks or people.

Our room was one of the newer remodeled units and was the size of two average size hotel rooms. As of this writing, a regular hotel style room cost $99 mid week, and non holidays. This is one of the oldest resorts in Tahoe; I think our side of the hotel was constructed in the 30's. As such it has squeeky floors, and marginal sound proofing. But, you are on the mountain! The third floor has high ceilings, great views, decent furnishings and a cozy interior, not sure what else you need.

Our check in was awesome. Drove my car up to the indoor parking, the parking attendant initiated the check in progress. We were ushered from our car to the gondola, to check in, to our room by three or four different people seamlessly, and always addressed by name. Nice touch.

The gondola runs 24 hours a day, so you are free to come and go, but with our 9 month old daughter along for the ride we spent our entire time on the mountain. The restaurant had great food and staff. You can check the menu on their website.

The lift tickets can be purchased in the hotel. Since we had our daughter and no babysitter we purchased a family pass, not advertised, but my wife and I could switch it back and forth throughout the day.

I loved this place! For my new family is was a great solution to dealing with a baby.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DoctorFishFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2008

The Inn at SugarBowl is right there on the mountain. You park you car in the covered garage and take a gondola to the lodge. The Lodge is only a few steps away from the gondola, which makes it very convenient. I got a room with a private bath, lift tickets and breakfast as the package. The restaurant in the lodge served a very nice buffet breakfast - eggs, bacon, bagels, yogurt, fruit, cereal, etc. Then, you walk right out and you're right there on the lifts for Nob Hill or Disney Express. We stayed over New Years and the Lodge has a very nice celebration. Fireworks go off at midnight and residents and hotel guest ski down with flares from the top of Mt. Disney at 11pm.

The staff was very plentiful and you can always find someone. Everyone was very friendly, but so misinformed about everything. I asked when do the lift open and the front desk said 9am when it really opened at 8:30. I asked what time ski school starts and they say 8:30 but it actually 10am on the Village side. I asked if I could get a refund on the lift tickets since the ski school provides lift tickets. They said no, I had to purchase the bed and breakfast package which includes the breakfast and lift tickets. Then, I asked someone else and they said they would credit me. Apart from no one not knowing anything, it was a great place to ski.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OandO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2007

A friend and I spent one night at the Inn at Sugar late in the ski season and got a great deal that included two lift tickets and breakfast.

While the conditions were mediocre at best due to the warm weather and lack of fresh snow, the accommodations far exceeded our expectations. The porter, the hotel manager, and front desk staff all greeted us warmly. If you arrive before your room is ready they will put your bags in storage and give you access to the lodge's private locker room to change into your ski gear.

The Inn itself is small consisting of only about 20 rooms. We stayed in room 300, top floor on the corner. All rooms face towards the ski resort, have a patio and an amazing view. The rooms were very clean, spacious and well appointed. It had a classic, European flair to it, and is the perfect compliment to a long weekend on the slopes. There is a great little bar downstairs, a high-end restaurant and a cozy common lodge room for guests with free Wi-Fi.

Parking is included with your stay, but you have to take the gondola from about a mile away, but it drops you right in the hotel, so from your car to the room, you don't have to step outside.

The biggest bonus of them all is that you get to step out of the front doors of the Inn and walk about 20 yards to two different ski lifts! A huge plus.

In closing:

Upsides - Impeccable service, clean and comfortable, convenient to ski lifts, great classic ski atmosphere, and free parking.

Downsides - Noise from the snowcats grooming at night. The rooms look out onto the lodge's deck which during peak times could get noisy during the evening.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BrandonScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Agustín L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norden
9.5 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
2,009 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.2 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
6.5 mi away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#11 of 13 in Truckee
83 reviews
2.7 mi away
Donner Lake Village
Donner Lake Village
#8 of 13 in Truckee
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Sugar Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Sugar Bowl

Address: 629 Sugar Bowl Rd, Norden, CA 95724
Location: United States > California > Norden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Norden
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Sugar Bowl 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Inn at Sugar Bowl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Sugar Bowl Hotel Norden
Hotel At Sugar Bowl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing