We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best steak sandwich ever”

Jocko's Steak House
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Nipomo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Nipomo, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“best steak sandwich ever”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Incredible steaks and HUGE portions - salsa you can eat with a spoon (no crackers needed) - and on the lunch menu 'til 4PM, the most delicious steak sandwich EVER, anywhere!!!!!!!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    152
    46
    21
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Back to Simpler Times”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Old school Santa Maria style steak house. Still in the 70's but I came here for the meal not the decor. NY steak (20oz) meal was enough for the two of us. Salad w/blue cheese was average. Garlic/parmesan toast was excellent. They were out of spumoni but the vanilla with chocolate sauce was just the right finish. Desert is part of the meal. Like the idea of being able to order just the sides when the steak was split. Serve regional glasses of wine-ask not on menu. Wine served to the rim in thick glasses. It is old Italian style. Do make reservations. We arrived 20 minutes early and told it would be 30-45 minutes from our reservation time. We were seated 8 minutes early.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank formerhusker71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Several of my friends have recommended Jocko's over the years and I was finally able to stop their with my wife. Simply One of the best Rib eye Steaks ever. My wife had the Filet Mignon which was huge and so tender, the sides were fantastic.You can't go wrong stopping here for one the of best BBQ steak House's in California.If you go Friday thru Sunday expect a wait otherwise go any other day of the week.Some say the ambiance is poor but you are here for the best steak around. Staff were friendly, Small town , small place but worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Decent food, disgusting ambience”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have heard of Jocko's several times over the years and finally went. While the food is good, particularly the steak, the fries were rather soggy, and the restaurant itself looks shabby and gross. Everything is sticky with a sheen of old grease on it. Definitely take the food to go!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fitf00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quite simply the best”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

1 of my first reviews however, I have traveled coast to coast in search of good food and quite simply put jocko's is at the top....

Helpful?
Thank Bradley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jocko's Steak House also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Nipomo, San Luis Obispo County
 
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Jocko's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing