We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so charming in a little farming town”
Review of Kaleidoscope Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaleidoscope Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Nipomo B&B and Inns
California City, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“so charming in a little farming town”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A smaller version of Madonna inn. Rooms have character, are clean and reasonable .My family was very comfortable here and we will definitely be coming back when we are traveling again. I love the town and it was so nice to find a place nearby to rest after having a great steak and a glass of wine. I will recommended to all my friends!

Room Tip: Ask about bed comfort .especially if you prefer a mattress softness or firmness
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
11
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were driving from Orange County to Sacramento and wanted an overnight stop to break-up the long drive. Having spent much time in Santa Barbara, Solvang, and San Luis Obispo over the years, we decided to find a hotel in Nipomo as something new and because we wanted to try Jocko's Steakhouse (great!). As far as we could tell, the Kaleidoscope Inn was the only game in town, and It was two block's from Jocko's so we gave it a try.

Nipomo is not a destination in itself. The inland (Kaleidoscope) side of the freeway looks like a little farm town that has grown without the benefit of zoning. The other side of the freeway is suburbia with most of the town's population and newer development. The neighborhood surrounding the hotel is a mish-mash. However, the hotel itself is an attractive building (although a bit worn and in need of paint) and the one-acre lot it sits on is beautifully landscaped. We were there by ourselves (no on-site host or other guests, and frankly it felt a little weird. Also no TV.

If you have a reason to be in Nipomo overnight (friends, family, or business in town), would recommend the Kaleidoscope Inn -- but Nipomo is not a tourist destination. There are more interesting and attractive towns to use as a base to explore California's central coast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrrlDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Lake
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

On the night before my arrival, proprietor Kevin stated that if we would get to Nipomo before 7:00 pm on the following day, there would be no problem getting me settled in before he left for the evening. On the following day, about 15 minutes away from Nipomo at 5:10 or so we gave him a courtesy call to indicate that we would be in town shortly. Kevin then indicated that due to staffing issues, (he did not indicate that it was any sort of medical emergency) he had made alternative lodging arrangements for us to stay in a hotel. Thus I would rate this establishment as one of those "maybe they'll accomodate as promised and then again maybe not".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inventorjsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nipomo hotels

Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We do understand a few of the reviews here on Trip Advisor, but truly, B&B's are all very unique and we have been to many in our travels. We try to be very honest about them all.
If you are very concerned about not having an in-room bathroom, a TV in your room, and an immediate very pretty city locale than you may not like this Inn.
The neighborhood was a bit unattractive, but the Inn is like an Oasis in the middle of this town.
We thought the room was very clean, the bed comfortable, our private bathroom for the Enchanted Rose was HUGE (albeit down the hall) with tons of counter space. Linens were all very nice quality.
This Inn is run in an informal 'we are family' style, so you can put things in the fridge, and make yourself at home in the living room watching TV or playing board games, whatever.
The breakfast was very tasty, and we had dinner at a highly recommended (and totally wild) delicious steak place called Jocko's down the street. Highly recommended to order up there, then leave and eat at the Inn.
Good value for a one night stay, great Pismo beach/San Luis Obispo nearby, pretty gardens.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rider911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Our first stay at a B&B and what a disappointment. The sweet old home has so much potential and character but is lacking love and attention one expects with this type of establishment. Our room was fine although having to walk up 2 sets of very steep stairs to use the bathroom was a bit much. The house carries a strong musky odor in all the rooms that gets a bit over powering as time goes on. The evening refreshments lacked any appeal, stale fudge and a jar of oreos...the breakfast incluced an egg mixture with cheese on top, a waffle that was under cooked and fresh fruit; nothing special. Although the cook was friendly and helpful; having her stand at the table and talk during our entire meal was a bit much.
All in all; we would never recommend this B&B to any of our friends. Too bad; it has so much potential and the owners don't even realize what they are missing out on by not providing better service. There are certain expectations that come with staying at a B&B; unfortunately this failed to meet any.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and stay at a hotel on the beach. You'll have fresh air, hot coffee and enjoy you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington, Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Arrived in the dark to find a note on the door saying telephone this number and I will come and let you in.............! Fortunately I had a phone with me, otherwise we would have been in trouble.

Eventually someone turned up with the key and we were let in to this huge house where we encountered a decidedly musty smell. I had booked the "cottage" room, but had no idea that the bathroom was actually in the main house and we would have had to get up in the night and trek down the path in the dark if we wanted to use the loo! Altogether far too difficult - especially when you don't have any nightclothes with you! Fortunately we were able to take a room in the main house, which had its own bathroom. This was available because there was absolutely no one else staying there and we had the whole of this spooky house to ourselves.

Marianne appeared in the morning to make breakfast.

We were able to use the computer and to make ourselves drinks if we wanted them. However, having been told we could watch the tv in our room, we then found out it only did dvds. There were some to choose from, but we watched the tv in the lounge instead. Very strange sitting in this deserted house all on our own!

Pretty gardens surrounding the house and we saw humming birds, which were beautiful!

This place is kind of in the middle of nowhere and in a not very attractive area. Ok for a roof over your head, but nothing to write home about and like all the b & bs we stayed at - expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Make sure you check that your room has its own private bathroom before you book. Some of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Didabrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Overall, it was just okay. First impression was that it was a tired looking old home. Built in the late 1800's it should be tired. Greeted by a musty odor upon entering the house initall (but our guest room was fresh smelling) The tour of the property was nice, but was horrified by the musty moldy smell of the "cottage room" which had not bathroom either - guest must walk to the main building and enter a back door. It was cute, but with my mold alergies I immediately felt the reaction in my throat and sinuses. We stayed in the "Lover's Nest" a comfortable room, with a PRIVATE bath that was just fro our room, but located at the end of the hallway. The bed was comfortable, but I felt the room could have used a more thorough cleaning and updating. The included breakfast was good, but the down side is that guests cannot communicate (nor were we asked) if we had food alergies or would prefer a breakfast option. Cheeries were available for the youngsters.

My biggest complaint was with the owner. I felt he was a cold fish. Nice on the phone, but other than greeting us to take the credit card and swipe them, then give us the tour. He was never present and is not living on the premesises. this is not the standard expectation when one stays at a bed and breakfast. A host occupied B&B typically will be available for questions, or has some interaction with his guests. The hired help (breakfast cook) was nice but felt sorry for her due to the lack of communication betweeen guests and staff. When some opted to pass on breakfast one day, it was met with a less than congenial reaction. But then, if they don't ask you if you are staying...what can they expect. I found the breakfast was adequate, but could have been improved.
The neighborhood is an older area of town and not too pretty. No real curb apeal at all. I do think it was overpriced too, because when you choose a B&B you are making that choice over a standard hotel assuming that you will recieve atmosphere, charm, and a charming host to interact with. On that note I say, they failed. Could have been much better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank readytogogram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nipomo
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Big America
Best Western Plus Big America
#2 of 21 in Santa Maria
688 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area
7.1 mi away
The Historic Santa Maria Inn
The Historic Santa Maria Inn
#3 of 21 in Santa Maria
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
#7 of 21 in Santa Maria
342 reviews
10.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
#1 of 21 in Santa Maria
808 reviews
7.9 mi away
Travelodge Santa Maria
Travelodge Santa Maria
#4 of 21 in Santa Maria
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaleidoscope Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaleidoscope Inn

Property: Kaleidoscope Inn
Address: 130 E Dana St, Nipomo, CA 93444-5103
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Nipomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nipomo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaleidoscope Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic, ocean-close, 1887 Victorian B&B boasts an acre of lush gardens, fabulous full breakfasts, large rooms, private baths, Egyptian cotton sheets and towels, down comforters, colorful quilts, fluffy robes and stained glass windows. Enjoy golf, wineries, spas, Hearst Castle, beaches, horseback riding, kayaking, whale-bird-butterfly watching, biking, hiking, and great restaurants. Near Solvang, Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo, Morro Bay, Cambria and dozens of wineries, plus just 2 blocks from Jocko’s Steak House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Kaleidoscope Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing