We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty B&B, only a couple things to note”
Review of Kaleidoscope Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaleidoscope Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Nipomo B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We do understand a few of the reviews here on Trip Advisor, but truly, B&B's are all very unique and we have been to many in our travels. We try to be very honest about them all.
If you are very concerned about not having an in-room bathroom, a TV in your room, and an immediate very pretty city locale than you may not like this Inn.
The neighborhood was a bit unattractive, but the Inn is like an Oasis in the middle of this town.
We thought the room was very clean, the bed comfortable, our private bathroom for the Enchanted Rose was HUGE (albeit down the hall) with tons of counter space. Linens were all very nice quality.
This Inn is run in an informal 'we are family' style, so you can put things in the fridge, and make yourself at home in the living room watching TV or playing board games, whatever.
The breakfast was very tasty, and we had dinner at a highly recommended (and totally wild) delicious steak place called Jocko's down the street. Highly recommended to order up there, then leave and eat at the Inn.
Good value for a one night stay, great Pismo beach/San Luis Obispo nearby, pretty gardens.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rider911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 46 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

Our first stay at a B&B and what a disappointment. The sweet old home has so much potential and character but is lacking love and attention one expects with this type of establishment. Our room was fine although having to walk up 2 sets of very steep stairs to use the bathroom was a bit much. The house carries a strong musky odor in all the rooms that gets a bit over powering as time goes on. The evening refreshments lacked any appeal, stale fudge and a jar of oreos...the breakfast incluced an egg mixture with cheese on top, a waffle that was under cooked and fresh fruit; nothing special. Although the cook was friendly and helpful; having her stand at the table and talk during our entire meal was a bit much.
All in all; we would never recommend this B&B to any of our friends. Too bad; it has so much potential and the owners don't even realize what they are missing out on by not providing better service. There are certain expectations that come with staying at a B&B; unfortunately this failed to meet any.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and stay at a hotel on the beach. You'll have fresh air, hot coffee and enjoy you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Arrived in the dark to find a note on the door saying telephone this number and I will come and let you in.............! Fortunately I had a phone with me, otherwise we would have been in trouble.

Eventually someone turned up with the key and we were let in to this huge house where we encountered a decidedly musty smell. I had booked the "cottage" room, but had no idea that the bathroom was actually in the main house and we would have had to get up in the night and trek down the path in the dark if we wanted to use the loo! Altogether far too difficult - especially when you don't have any nightclothes with you! Fortunately we were able to take a room in the main house, which had its own bathroom. This was available because there was absolutely no one else staying there and we had the whole of this spooky house to ourselves.

Marianne appeared in the morning to make breakfast.

We were able to use the computer and to make ourselves drinks if we wanted them. However, having been told we could watch the tv in our room, we then found out it only did dvds. There were some to choose from, but we watched the tv in the lounge instead. Very strange sitting in this deserted house all on our own!

Pretty gardens surrounding the house and we saw humming birds, which were beautiful!

This place is kind of in the middle of nowhere and in a not very attractive area. Ok for a roof over your head, but nothing to write home about and like all the b & bs we stayed at - expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Make sure you check that your room has its own private bathroom before you book. Some of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Didabrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Overall, it was just okay. First impression was that it was a tired looking old home. Built in the late 1800's it should be tired. Greeted by a musty odor upon entering the house initall (but our guest room was fresh smelling) The tour of the property was nice, but was horrified by the musty moldy smell of the "cottage room" which had not bathroom either - guest must walk to the main building and enter a back door. It was cute, but with my mold alergies I immediately felt the reaction in my throat and sinuses. We stayed in the "Lover's Nest" a comfortable room, with a PRIVATE bath that was just fro our room, but located at the end of the hallway. The bed was comfortable, but I felt the room could have used a more thorough cleaning and updating. The included breakfast was good, but the down side is that guests cannot communicate (nor were we asked) if we had food alergies or would prefer a breakfast option. Cheeries were available for the youngsters.

My biggest complaint was with the owner. I felt he was a cold fish. Nice on the phone, but other than greeting us to take the credit card and swipe them, then give us the tour. He was never present and is not living on the premesises. this is not the standard expectation when one stays at a bed and breakfast. A host occupied B&B typically will be available for questions, or has some interaction with his guests. The hired help (breakfast cook) was nice but felt sorry for her due to the lack of communication betweeen guests and staff. When some opted to pass on breakfast one day, it was met with a less than congenial reaction. But then, if they don't ask you if you are staying...what can they expect. I found the breakfast was adequate, but could have been improved.
The neighborhood is an older area of town and not too pretty. No real curb apeal at all. I do think it was overpriced too, because when you choose a B&B you are making that choice over a standard hotel assuming that you will recieve atmosphere, charm, and a charming host to interact with. On that note I say, they failed. Could have been much better.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank readytogogram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We really enjoyed the Kaleidoscope Inn & Gardens bed and breakfast! It is a cute and well-kept old Victorian home in the quaint town of Nipomo. This B&B was exactly what we were looking for; a romantic, well-priced, cute place to stay that offered certain amenities. We enjoyed the home-made breakfasts each morning and the entire house (in-and-out) was superbly decorated. We talked with one of the owners and he was easy and fun to talk with. We have nothing bad to say about our stay at the Kaleidoscope B&B and highly recommend it to anyone. I can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

I do not understand the degree to which other guests complained regarding location. You do approach the Inn on a street that is not overly refined, but once inside the whole experiance was just marvalous.
The Inn is surrounded 360 by gardens. The people we encountered walking to the local steakhouse waved and were pleasant. One gent even insisted we pet his happy Bichon Frise.
It rained cats and dogs but that only added to the comfort level as we love to be cozy in a room while it's nasty outdoors.The grounds are just remarkably beautiful, well maintained and quiet. Our room was neat and clean. We needed some supplies for our day trip and 3 minutes away was a modern area with a Vons, Subway, banks, multiple fast food joints, and locally owned restrauntes. There is a Sushi place next to the Taco Bell that was over the top. Had the sushi platter. Excellent.
3 minutes walk from the Inn gate was the famous Jockos. I had the Chicken and Ravioli, my wife had the spencer. Cooked over red oak with beans and an outstanding salsa. To much to finish. Beware! I met people from all over the state while waiting 2 1/2 hrs to get in. Recommend reservations.
Carolayne was a delight and I did not meet the person others have spoken of. Maybe some of the urban travelers are more fearful and picky. Will be back here next possible chance.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lopear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Kaleidoscope Inn rocks! This is a nice, clean B&B which has been very nicely restored by the owners. They have several different types of rooms to choose from, including some detatched units, like a standalone stone-built cottage. The grounds are nicely maintained and manicured; they have a gazebo in back and a nice patio area to relax. I think they even host weddings on the property. They're just down the road from so many great things to do, like wine tasting in Edna Valley, Oceano Dunes, Pismo Beach, and more. They put on a great breakfast in the morning. It's not a fancy, elegant place - which is a good thing in my book. They're a little more casual and laid back, in a good way. The owners seem very nice and went out of their way to ensure we had a good stay. I highly recommend Kaleidoscope in next time you're passing thru the Central Coast!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaz611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kaleidoscope Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaleidoscope Inn

Address: 130 E Dana St, Nipomo, CA 93444-5103
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Nipomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nipomo
Price Range: $86 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaleidoscope Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic, ocean-close, 1887 Victorian B&B boasts an acre of lush gardens, fabulous full breakfasts, large rooms, private baths, Egyptian cotton sheets and towels, down comforters, colorful quilts, fluffy robes and stained glass windows. Enjoy golf, wineries, spas, Hearst Castle, beaches, horseback riding, kayaking, whale-bird-butterfly watching, biking, hiking, and great restaurants. Near Solvang, Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo, Morro Bay, Cambria and dozens of wineries, plus just 2 blocks from Jocko’s Steak House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Kaleidoscope Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing