We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why all the negative reviews??”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
WorldMark Clear Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We were skeptical on our arrival after reading the negative reviews on this property! But we have learned in the past that worldmark resorts always hold a certain standard. Sure, this place is older and in some peoples mind, in need of upgrades....but it holds quite a bit of old charm and history.

The staff have been nothing but kind and helpful.....its true that the water takes a while to heat up.....but we are thrilled with our stay....we even called to extend our stay an extra 2 days. Our kids loved the heated pool and spent hours there -- even in december!!

Don't be scared.....its a beautiful property, we are glad we didn't listen to the negative reviews!

Room Tip: Grab your groceries before you get here! Not too much around.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SKburdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 94 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed in "B" lower unit. The check-in staff were terrible, didn't offer any information unless you specifically asked. For the week we stayed we had nothing but lukewarm water. Cool showers (maybe in the summer months this would be okay - but not in November). Also our unit did not have a dishwasher so we were washing dishes in lukewarm water also. This is not in the least sanitary!. We also had to run the water approximately 5 minutes just to get lukewarm water in our unit. For a State conserving on water - this was ridiculous.
The view from our unit was very nice. They have a fishing dock on the property which is very nice also.
Had a murphy bed which was fine, but the pillows were terrible!
I wore white socks in the unit and the bottom of my socls were black. So miuch for the cleanliness of our unit.
We also towed a boat from out of State. You need to have your boat inspected before you can launch in the lake. The property is not designed for bringing a boat. We were here in the off season - so parking was not an issue. You need to remove your boat from your vehicle. The areas to turn your vehicle/with boat are very tight. Could be impossible when the resort is full during the summer months. Surrounding area is pretty run down. Lots of old trailers.
Property needs rennovations badly. At least the unit we stayed in does.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This place is wonderful, scenic, quiet, serene and did I mention wonderful! I can't beleive the negative reviews about this place and was concerned, but I must say it is wonderful. As for the white fly hatch, we get those at home too and we just turn off the lights and they go away....common sense will hopefully prevail.

Room Tip: F Building is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tulacooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Just left this resort after just being there for only 2 days. Beware of the lure of being by a lake, you're across the road from it. II and RCI guests are hustled into the backlot buildings (we were in Bldg D, unit 118) near the highway and were told there were no other units available. We were told that they were booked solid and no transfers into other units. We counted a dozen empty units that the first night. Trailer parks abound and there are no amenities in the area.

One bedroom condo's are underneath the 2 BD's, so there's not much light and is cave like, the furnishings cheap hotel type. The small bedroom is in the back and the noise from the highway was terrible, plus there are no curtains on the windows, only cheap blinds. The light from the parking lot is right in your face at night so we had to put a blanket over the window.

The kicker was the infestation of white flies in our unit. We were not told of the problem until we complained about the hundreds of them that invaded our unit. We were told not to open the doors and that they were attracted to light. So you don't open a door? and never turn on lights, which by the way are all low light bulbs.

We complained to WorldMark management and they did nothing but make excuses. I can't say anything good about this resort and I've been in II for 26 years, so I have experience with exchanges.

BEWARE THIS IS NOT A 5 STAR RESORT.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

The positive reveiws that I read before taking my wife to this resort must have been written by people that stayed in second story rooms. Before you go, be aware that one bedroom condo's are all downstairs and if you want a restfull nights sleep, wait until you're home. We heard people all night long walking, talking, and shouting until 3:30am the first night and they were just a bit less noisy the second (and last night) we stayed. We did talk with the front desk about the problem and they were as helpful as a person that can't change the situation can be. We booked a week at the hotel and we came home after the second night.

The area doesn't offer much more. If you're a boater and are staying on the second floor than you will probably really enjoy your stay. Make sure to either pack your food in or go shop at the lakeport Safeway for your food because anything in Nice is very expensive and the food didn't look as fresh.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank arob_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

my wife & i are worldmark resort owners. we first came here 7 years back and have come back every other year or so. its such an unbelievably calm place, right between the hills and the lake. if you get a ground floor room in the main quad area thats the best because the patio door opens to a large lawn with the kids play area, and you can keep an eye on the kids while comfortably in your room.

in terms of activities there's tons of stuff in the summer. there's not a whole lot in the winter other than wine tasting & sight-seeing. wine down in napa was better but the service out here is great. you also have the chance of finding hidden gems like steele wines, a small winery with excellent wine. ceago was ok.

also, the location is more rural than napa, which is just an hour away and as such you'll see lot of trailer homes. it seems to be just economics & we found no evidence of problems like crime etc.

the resort itself is very very comfy, like any other worldmark property we've been to. staff is very helpful, and you'll find coupons to lot of local restaurants etc.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ram_v2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

I recently stayed at Worldmark Clearlake. I stayed in the 2 Bedroom Penthouse which had more luxurious amenities than a regular 2 Bedroom unit, such as two whirlpool tubs. But of course, as in every stay away from home it had its positives and its negatives. First, we'll start with the positives.
The unit was very large. It had a King bed in the master, a Queen Murphy bed in the living room(which is a queen bed that pulls out of the wall), and up the stairs in the unit was a queen bed. Then there was three full bathrooms, which was really nice to have especially when traveling with your family. Another plus was the wonderful views from our unit. From our unit, in front of it, you could see Clearlake. It was only about 500 feet away. Then on the left of it, the pool and jacuzzis. Then on the right and behind the unit, you could see the mountains, which were really pretty especially when you go in the autumn and all the different colors of the leaves on the trees. The scenery is really nice. But, now lets consider some of the gross negatives.
First, our unit was infested by spiders. We must of say at least 20 spiders, and more than half of them were poisinous spiders like a black widow we saw for example. The kids were so scared of the spiders that they kept all the lights on and the T.V. on all night, thinking that this would scare away the spiders. This kept them up all night. Then the windows were dirty from the inside and the outside. All types of bugs, spiders, insects, and cobb webs were stuck in the window. Then, the natural gas grill on our balcony didn't work, so we couldn't cook anything on it. This was a real inconvenience.
So all-in-all, it was just O.K. You would think it would be a little better maintained especially when you pay so much. No matter what, there's no place like home.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank AJK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nice
9.7 mi away
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
#2 of 3 in Upper Lake
262 reviews
14.7 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
4.9 mi away
Tallman Hotel
Tallman Hotel
#1 of 3 in Upper Lake
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
#1 of 1 in Clearlake Oaks
22 reviews
15.2 mi away
Vista del Lago Lakehouse and Cottages
16.3 mi away
Best Western El Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark Clear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Clear Lake

Address: 3927 E Highway 20, Nice, CA 95464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Nice
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: $113 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WorldMark Clear Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your WorldMark Clear Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
WorldMark Clear Lake Nice, CA - Lake County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing