We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Nice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Nice is a beautiful drive a few hours north of San Francisco. It is a wonderful little retreat tucked into a small, quiet community. Owners are very helpful and friendly. The room was fun and comfortable. Breakfast was great!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SES11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 125 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

We were drawn to this lovely, unusual place based on the photos and we booked it for my boyfriend's birthday last fall, staying in the Celebration Caboose. Upon booking, I immediately received a call from the owners, just thanking us for booking and asking me if we had any special requests and what occasion we were celebrating. I advised them of my boyfriend's birthday and they took notes. Upon our arrival, we found that the grounds were lush, well-kept, and tranquil. It truly had a resort feeling: tucked away and peaceful with a gorgeous view of the lake and an adult-sized swing that must be experienced! The owners, Tony and Peggy, were both present upon our check-in and they encouraged us to explore the station house and the grounds. Our room was decorated for my boyfriend's birthday with banners and small decorations. The bed was amazingly soft and comfortable. The hot tub was excellent. Staying a caboose that was separated from other rooms offered a quiet sense of privacy which was very relaxing and unique. Breakfast was lovely (a German farmer's breakfast to celebrate the Oktoberfest which was happening in town that day). We had a truly lovely getaway weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeeAndBear8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying here for two nights as a surprise trip for the fella's birthday. We stayed in the Casablanca Caboose, and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The owners definitely put time and attention into the details.

The resort itself is very unique and relaxing. The dining room/lounge area was cozy and decorated for the holidays. There were a wide selection of teas, fresh coffee, and some snacks available throughout the day. Puzzles, books, magazines, games and movies are available to borrow during your stay. Don't miss breakfast from 9-10am each day! Tony prepared us delicious food to start each day. One morning we enjoyed ham & spinach crepes with a delicious tomato basil sauce, and a hazelnut chocolate crepe for dessert. The following morning was fresh fruit, a cornbread crusted quiche, and jam filled aebleskiver for dessert.

The cabooses are located just across the street from the lake, providing a lovely view in the morning and evening. Be sure to take a ride on the tree swing, it's the tallest one I've ever seen! There is a private dock to access the lake. Within walking distance is a dive bar/BBQ joint, and also a grocery store with a surprisingly extensive liquor selection!

We loved the Casablanca Caboose. It was even better than the photos, and larger inside than I'd expected it to be. There is a piano (with "As Time Goes By" sheet music!), a bar with mini fridge, a copy of the script, and some lovely movie artwork adorning the walls. The bed was very comfy, with a recessed ceiling fan above. The hot tub was spacious and it was amazing to soak in the hot water while watching Casablanca.

We are looking forward to coming back and enjoying another caboose!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andilulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stumbled across this B&B on a bicycle trip, and had a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My lovely bride wanted to do something different, and this place fit the bill perfectly.

Advance reservations were a snap, and were handled the old-fashioned way: with a live, person-to-person telephone call. Nice touch.

After a scenic 2+ hour drive, we felt as though we'd stumbled across a hidden sanctuary, our own rustic escape. There were no Wal-Mart's, McDonald's, or neon signs of any kind. Instead, we found a charming collection of quaint railroad cabooses, each lovingly converted into themed rooms.

Featherbed Railroad is 'Glamping': glamorous camping. Our caboose featured a relaxing Jacuzzi, a large bed, and just enough appointments to be comfortable. Our front door opened onto a park-like lawn area, surrounded by beautiful trees framing a fantastic lake view. The Ritz it was not - and that's the point! We found a place to escape. Here, we were able to completely relax and shed the burdens of our daily grind.

Our hosts were thoughtful, considerate, friendly, helpful, and rather interesting. The breakfasts reflect their individual style, and their concern for guest enjoyment. And suggestions for local businesses, meals, nature walks, scenic drives, and more were all spot-on.

We enjoyed exploring the area - bird watching, local wineries, and a couple of local restaurants. And we appreciated at least as much the opportunity to simply unplug and lounge poolside, followed by a stroll by the lake.

Thank you for an enjoyable trip!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skougard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed here over Labor Day and loved every minute of it. Our main goal was to go wine tasting in Lake County and this is the perfect location to easily get to all of the wineries. We were also able to bring our dog b/c the Wine Country caboose is pet friendly. That was a real bonus for me and she loved the grounds. We could also eat the delicious breakfast at an outdoor table, so she was able to enjoy the full experience.

What a cool place!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caa219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Full disclosure: I'm a train fan so that may have colored my review a bit. But only a bit.

This is a cute "concept hotel"; each "room" is a real caboose. We stayed in "Celebrations" which has a jacuzzi. The room was great. The staff was great. The view & ambience was great (check out the swing in the common yard area) and they have their own dock for fishing and sunset worshipping. The grounds are kept in great shape and the cabooses have all the usual amenities except for Internet access. For that you have to go to the main building or nearby to get a signal strong enough to use. Given that cabooses are made of metal there's zero chance of getting a signal inside, even when your caboose is the closest to the main building (as ours was).

If you're the typical carnivore male half of a couple and it's your mate that's the big B&B fan then you'll be a little disappointed with the breakfast. On our last day it was quiche and chicken sausage. Only American coffee is served - no espresso/capuccino/hot chocolate. And neither morning's breakfast included any kind of bread or pastry ala European style breakfast. On the other hand there are a couple of good breakfast places down the road and a spectacular Thai restaurant (try the Spicy Lamb special if it's available - it's awesome).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACnotliW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBRR, Owner at Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

Greetings from the Featherbed Railroad. We're always so happy to hear that people loved this little oasis on the lake and we're equally happy to continually improve the experience people have here. One point of interest I wanted to highlight, we have six varieties of hot chocolate available to our guests on the counter with the coffee. There are also lots of teas for those who love tea as well. Thank you for your review and for being our guest - we sure appreciated your being here and glad you had a great time! Great pictures, too!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nice
15.5 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
8.7 mi away
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
#2 of 3 in Upper Lake
269 reviews
1.1 mi away
WorldMark Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Robinson Rancheria Resort & Casino
0.2 mi away
Aurora RV Park
Aurora RV Park
#1 of 1 in Nice
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort

Address: 2870 Lakeshore Blvd, Nice, CA 95485-8726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Nice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range: $140 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Featherbed Railroad is a unique bed and breakfast resort on Clear Lake where visitors experience nine vintage railroad cabooses, each decorated with an individual theme. Most of the cabooses feature in-room Jacuzzi tubs and all have an incredible view of Clear Lake. With a huge variety of nearby recreation including almost 30 wineries, this unique and romantic getaway is the perfect place to celebrate being in love or just enjoying the tranquility of the peaceful surroundings. Enjoy the private dock, sit on the porch of the 100-year-old Main Station or languish in the pool. Full breakfast daily crafted from locally-sourced and home-made ingredients. Open year 'round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Featherbed Railroad Bed And Breakfast Resort
Featherbed Railroad Hotel Nice
Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort Nice, CA - Lake County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing