We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the drive”

Rancho Nicasio Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Nicasio
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Averill Park, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not worth the drive”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

If you're looking for a dive bar that serves average bar-quality food and features below-average live music, this is the place for you. But if you're looking for a good steak and something else palatable, don't go out of your way to drive here. Our group wasn't billing to pay the cover charge (a good thing, as the female vocalist was terrible and the band mediocre at best), so ended up with an eight-top in the crowded, boisterous bar area. Our waitress couldn't answer simply questions (is the grilled artichoke a whole or a half?) and my buddy reported that his steak was the worst he's ever had. At least the salmon was edible, and the ravioli looked good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Floydslips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting place to eat”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hard to find but we'll worth the stop. Quality ingredients and quick service made this a great place to grab a bite to eat. Very family friendly I wish I had time to spend a Friday night here and check out the great bar and music event.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I had been here before for lunch and everything was very good, so remembering that Friday was Prime Rib Special Night we headed up for an early dinner. We arrived around 5:30 and the place was quiet with only a couple guests at the bar, so we had a couple a cocktails and we're planning on sitting down for dinner in the dining room. The bar is decorated in Old West motif with several trophy stuffed game heads and a fun Western vibe. The bartender was very nice and told us we were welcome to have dinner at the bar, so we ended up having a great meal with a nice bottle of wine right there. We started with a split iceberg wedge salad with creamy blue cheese dressing, bacon and tomatoes then both ordered the generous portion size of Prime Rib with all the trimmings. Yorkshire Pudding, baked potato with sour cream and fresh green beans and horseradish cream on the side. Everything was delicious and cooked perfectly. We really enjoyed our selection of Orin Swift's "The Prisoner" wine and price was reasonable. The band started later in the evening and really got the crowd hopping with some great music. Looking forward to getting back to Rancho Nicasio for another great meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarinCountyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great afternoon music and barbecue on the lawn; weekly throughout the summer”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Wonderful barbecue in a relaxed setting, listening to Zydeco music outside with a nice summer breeze. We had the tri-tip, pulled-pork, and salmon, all excellent and barbecued outside while you watch. Extensive menu offerings, full bar. The roadhouse restaurant was built in the 19-40's and is in a tiny little town; just like the original West. Great people watching, especially if you spy some of the original West Marin hippies, like we did; an older couple with matching long grey hair flowing wild and free.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maureeninmarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotati
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Drove by many times but its off the beaten track and unless you have spoken to someone you are tempted to keep driving, We stopped by finally to check it out and it was not a disappointment, This place has allot going on Music,great menu, concert hall, outdoor barbaque events but most of all a real down to earth friendly country athmosphere, I'll be back!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gweedore55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho Nicasio Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Point Reyes Station, Marin County
Inverness, Marin County
 
Olema, Marin County
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
 
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
Olema, Marin County
 

Been to Rancho Nicasio Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing