We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST Mexican Breakfast in Newport!”
Review of Great MEX

Great MEX
Ranked #37 of 503 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“BEST Mexican Breakfast in Newport!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great Mex never disappoints! It is so much fun to walk to Balboa Island and take the ferry over to this little gem of a restaurant! The food is amazing! My husband and I always share the machaca as it is HUGE! The flour tortillas are small and fresh. The machaca, refried beans, and rice taste heavenly in a fresh flour tortilla! I would venture to say that this is the best Mexican breakfast I have ever had. The staff is incredibly friendly. Our Sunday mornings would not be complete without Great Mex!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    29
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
159 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“We ate here 3 times in 3 days!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Order anything with shrimp! Shrimp and veggie bowl, shrimp taco, shrimp burrito! All fabulous! It is always crowded and hard to get a table, so we always took our food to go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best Mexican I have had in a long time”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had take out and I had the best tacos I have tasted in a long time. There were 8 of us and everybody was very happy with their meals. Definitely lived up to the reviews!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margaret68sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This place should be on DDD”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This little hole in the wall gem deserves a visit from Guy Fiere...We got the recommendation on multiple visits to Newport Beach from multiple sources. It's a local secret. Five of us dined on real home cooked Quesadilla's, Nachos, Crisp Beef and chicken tacos - not Ortega or El Paso - the real deal...shrimp burritos, and a fresh salsa bar! They also serve american and mexican beers. Loved it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2trvl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place is small, which is the only negative part about it. The service is fast, the chimi's are great (my favorite), the nacho fries are also great and I have never seen those anywhere else. My wife thinks this is the best mexican food she has ever eaten (Lolitas in San Diego may be better) and any time we are near this place, we are gonna stop in. If you are a tourist, or anyone, you can't find a better place in Newport for authentic west coast mexican food. And its great to have a salsa bar with a nice selection to choose from. I hate to do a review of this place because its already too crowded!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christopherdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great MEX also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Great MEX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing