We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order the Combo Salad!”
Review of Ho Sum Bistro

Ho Sum Bistro
Ranked #173 of 508 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Order the Combo Salad!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Whenever I am in the area, this is my favorite restaurant from which to call and order take-out. I always order the combo salad... which is an excellent salad. It is a substantial and can easily be shared as a meal (and I recommend ordering it with extra chicken). The Pork Lo Mein is also tasty.

I have also ordered the combo salad on one or two occasions when I agreed to bring a salad to a pot luck.

And as an aside, a meal from Ho Sum is not complete without one of the chocolate covered fortune cookies, so please do not skip dessert!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We are regulars for a reason”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The half and half salad is the only thing we order, it is so delicious! It is very clean here, always busy, servers are super nice, location is great, never have a hard time with parking. Prices are reasonable. Try putting the hot sauce on your salad it is soo bomb!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good, healthy food.”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This is where we eat when we come home, on the ferry, and are really tired. Get a Ho Sum salad. So good and healthy.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick,, convenient, fresh and healthy”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Phone orders are always quick and convenient. The combination salad is amazing and large enought to split between people. The soups are always very tastey as well!

Helpful?
Thank MandyJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Locals Favorite”
Reviewed June 23, 2010

I have been coming here for 15+ years and always have a great experience. The mixed salad is 5 stars.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momaclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ho Sum Bistro also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Been to Ho Sum Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing