We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bakersfield, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Close to beach!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Across street and half a block away to beach. Hotel staff was great and friendly. Katie and Kristin are a huge asset to Best Western. Hotel is clean and a five minute drive to Huntington Beach, Balboa and Fashion Island. Good restaurants in area. Was the perfect place for my daughter and I to stay for a quick stay while we went to a concert in Irvine.

Room Tip: We got a partial ocean view and it was perfect and had a fridge in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    145
    86
    39
    32
See reviews for
183
119
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cartersville
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Booked on line. I was hopeful, but this was much better than my ideas. Beach was across the street, chairs and towels available. Simple breakfast was fine, although the breakfast room was small. Good restaurants in area, (next door to Great Italian place "Spaghetti Bender".

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Audley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear LVantol,

Great beach, huh? Rated one of the best in the nation, its hard to imagine until you get here.

We are happy you took advantage of our beach amenities and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you!

We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Angélica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens England
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed over the Memorial weekend 2014. Hotel is just a little walk from Newport Beach,across the PCH though, and about 4 miles from the pier. Hotel room was very nice, clean and quite roomy, mine faced the car park and really hardly heard a thing in the 4 nights that I stayed there. Housekeeping kept the room very tidy whilst I was there. Carpets outside are a bit frayed and could do with an upgrade. $7 daily car park fee is slightly more expensive than other hotels but you do save money on your hotel room and is very convenient for getting out and about. Receptionist was very helpful and she was one on the nicest people that I met on my recent travels to America especially when I needed to print off some documents. Next door is a really nice Italian restaurant, Spaghetti bender that for such a small place did really excellent food. As mentioned, the breakfast is just a few items in a small room, items like cereals, fruit, waffles, muffins, etc, nothing special but good enough for someone that wanted a quick bite before venturing outside. The hotel isn't as convenient as one's that are closer to the Pier or Balboa but for the money I thought it was well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MightyredEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear MightyredEngland,

Thank you so much for choosing our Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn and for complementing our Guest Services Team!

We are glad you got to experience the first “unofficial” weekend of the summer in our Newport Beach and hope you will stay in touch; we will be renovating all of our Public Areas to include a redesign of our lobby and breakfast room, hotel entrance, parking lot, hallways and pool. Renovations will take place by 4th quarter.

Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in town.

Regards,
Angélica R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed for 3 wonderful evenings. The location was the greatest, we were able to tour Newport Beach and Balboa Island beautiful places, even took in a "Art Walk" in Balboa! Very helpful staff recommended great restaurants, every get there you must dine at the Cannery Village, Mozzo Italian Restaurant and Casey's Café. Swimming pool was clean and very comfortable for reading and taking a dip. This hotel helped make our stay in Newport Beach most pleasant. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Donna L,

We are delighted you had such a great visit and that you even got to experience Balboa Island's Art Walk. They have been hosting it for 20 years and only once a year.

Excellent restaurant recommendations, thank you!

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with other guests. We'll be excited to welcome you again. You will love the renovation plans we have for our pool!

Thank you for staying at our Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn. We hope to see you again real soon!

Regards,
Angélica R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drogheda
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I was very dissapointed over all with this hotel . room was small , bed was fine , but it just didnt do it for me . theirs nothing to do within walking disance , except to walk the beach .Charge to park in tiny car park , noise outside our room at nite , & the breakfast room is a joke !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank briankdrogheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahRem, Manager at Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Hi Brian,

Thank you for your review. I wanted to personally apologize to you that our hotel did not exceed your expectation. If our standard rooms felt too small for you, know that we do have upgraded partial ocean view rooms that are more spacious and include a balcony.

I'm sorry we didn't have the opportunity to tell you about our location and activities that are within walking distance to the hotel. Newport's beautiful beach is directly across the street from our hotel and we offer complimentary chairs, toys, beach towels and umbrellas for our guests to use. There are some fantastic restaurants, sandwich shops, bars and cafes within walking distance. A surf shop around the corner rents out surf & boogie boards to use in the ocean as well. There is also park for children just a few blocks away. The Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn offers beach cruisers for rent. You can do this hourly, 1/2 day or full day and each comes with a bike lock. Our guests enjoy renting bikes and riding along the bike path down to Newport Pier which is less than 2 miles or to Huntington Beach which is just under 4 miles.

We hope you will consider staying with us again. Our hotel will be undergoing some beautiful renovations this year! Our front desk staff is extremely helpful and we encourage you to ask about the area next time, they can give you a full review of current events and attractions in the area.

Thank you again for the review and have a wonderful day!!

Savannah Remington
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

For a modestly-priced motel near the beach, this place is ok but not stellar. The staff is truly excellent, and do their very best to make your stay nice, but the motel itself looks a bit run-down. The concierge said that renovations are planned, so here's hoping there are some upgrades soon! Location is terrific.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahRem, Manager at Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Hi Ingrid,

It was so lovely to meet you during your stay and I wanted to personally thank you for your review! We truly appreciate your honesty and are thrilled to hear that our customer service was outstanding for you. The hotel will be undergoing some amazing renovations this year and we hope that you will come back to see them!! Our location is fantastic and our rates are great for the Newport Beach area. We hope to continue to WOW you with our customer care and satisfaction. Let us know if we can be of assistance in planning your next trip to Newport Beach! Thanks and have a wonderful day!

Savannah Remington
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June Lake, CA, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I work for Best Western and I have expectations when I stay at a Plus. I knew I was on PCH, as I own the noise from the highway. Great Beds. Kids loved the pool. two blocks from the ocean. I expected microwave in the room and there wasn't one and no attempt to bring one whether. We were told we could use the one on the first floor breakfast area, we were on 4th floor. No offer to change rooms. My cc was run before I arrived versus at arrival. Each location may have different process for reservation. Be sure you know each hotels process. I paid cash at checkin and left the card on file for incidentals. Not centrally located, to Newport Beach proper. Great Italian restaurant next door.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahRem, Manager at Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Hi Vicki,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel! It is always nice to hear from another Best Western employee. We appreciate the feedback and apologize for the inconvenience of only having a microwave available in our breakfast room. Every hotel is individually owned and managed, as a Best Western Plus it is not a standard that we offer microwaves, although I'm sure it is a wonderful amenity. We do not advertise microwaves at our hotel but we do offer small refrigerators in each room! We hope that you were able to utilize our fantastic location of being directly across the street from the beach! Please come back and see us again!

Savannah Remington
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
329 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,357 reviews
4.1 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn
Address: 6208 West Pacific Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing